5 Minute Candy Bar Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving using 1 layer of vanilla pudding mixed with chopped Reese's Miniatures and 1 layer of plain chocolate pudding. It was so quick and easy, and it turned out pretty rich but very delicious. It was one of the first pies to be finished, people were passing up the traditional pumpkin and apple pies for this one. I will definitely make this again, and will have fun experimenting with different pudding flavors and candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
the notation "mixture will be thick" is a comical understatement. there is no whisk in the world that will blend that much pudding with so little milk. i added an extra cup of milk and still found it to be verrrry thick. if i ever made this again i would probably add even another cup. the best part of this pie was the reese's pieces i added, and they weren't even called for in the recipe! *****UPDATE***** I figured it out! i used sugarfree/fatfree pudding, which is sold in a the same size package but contains a smaller amount of pudding. to equal what the recipe called for i used extra packages of pudding, when i should in reality have only used 2, even though the weight of the packages was less. ahhhh, it all makes sense now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I got a little too creative with this pie. I used skim milk instead of whipped topping and it was evident in the taste. Also, please note that M&M candies tend to bleed their color when they get wet so they aren't the best choice of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Excellent, and definitely a kid-pleaser (although I think I ate more of it than the kids did). I used a chocolate cookies crust and vanilla flavor pudding. And for the candy pieces, I simply threw a few Butterfinger candy bars in the blender for a few seconds. I got some nice chunky pieces, and powdery Butterfinger flakes that really helped to carry the flavor throughout the pie. It looked nice sprinkled on top of the pie, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I used chocolate pudding then added peanut butter and chocolate chips into the mix instead of candy bar pieces. I topped it with chopped reeses peanut butter cups. My husband has never raved about something so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Perfect for a quick dessert! The only bad thing was that it was too thick the kids didnt even finish. I think if i added more milk it would have been much better but......Thanks i will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Awesome pie! Quick and easy! I have used the miniture hershey's kisses, the reese's bits and the kit kat bits and they have all worked out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
I used chocolate pudding and peanut butter twix. It was a little too rich. I think an Oreo pie crust with vanilla pudding might be better, with regular hershey bar or oreo cookies. It was very fast and easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Was just OKAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meliha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Easy and good, but really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Confetti Fudge Bites

See how to make fun, festive confetti bites!

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States