5 Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
So delicious. Using sweetened coconut is key in this recipe as it adds just enough sweetness when combined with the fruit to offset the sour cream. The longer this sits, the better it gets.......if you can let it sit long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is a wonderful salad. I grew up with this salad on holidays. Mom called it her 24 hr. salad. The only thing she did different is add a can of fruit cocktail to the mix. I did not like sour cream, I never knew it was in there til I was older, lol. Also, there was never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
My mom has made this same recipe for years and it is a family favorite! Very easy to make and since it must be made ahead, it is great to take places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I read the one negative review and knew immediately a few finer points were needed when putting this recipe together. First, if you do not have 24 hours to let your salad sit over night in the refrigerator than don't make the salad. Be sure to drain your canned fruit well. I also use much less sour cream than is called for, in fact, I use just enough sour cream to coat all the ingredients, cover, then chil overnight! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've used this recipe for years, passed to me from my mother. I add nuts to mine. The key to this recipe, though, is letting it sit overnight in the fridge. The flavors blend together, and the marshmallow softens...yummy! This will be on my Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I can't believe this is reviewed as 5 stars! This is my first review and it is because I want to save people from wasting their time with this terrible recipe. My mother tried to make this and our family decided that she must have read the recipe wrong--much to our disappointment, we realized it was really that bad! Don't waste your time...find a new fruit salad recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. My mom has made this for years, however, our 5 cup salad actually has six cups...the five listed above in addition to 1 CUP OF CHOPPED PECANS. H-E-A-V-E-N-L-Y. It's the only thing that could improve the above recipe. BE SURE YOUR FRUIT IS DRAINED REALLY WELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
always on our holiday table- nice,light and pretty- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I had made this for years when my children were young. Years later, I made it again! Nostalgic and yummy! I used a larger can of crushed pineapple drained and added an additional cup of mini marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin Groeber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
First had this in 1982 when visiting Okla. It's been a favourite ever since. There's never any left when we 'dish it up'. We have to put a bit to one side so that we don't miss out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States