5 Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
My mom has made this same recipe for years and it is a family favorite! Very easy to make and since it must be made ahead, it is great to take places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is a wonderful salad. I grew up with this salad on holidays. Mom called it her 24 hr. salad. The only thing she did different is add a can of fruit cocktail to the mix. I did not like sour cream, I never knew it was in there til I was older, lol. Also, there was never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
So delicious. Using sweetened coconut is key in this recipe as it adds just enough sweetness when combined with the fruit to offset the sour cream. The longer this sits, the better it gets.......if you can let it sit long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I clean a pomegranate as they're in season this time of year & add some seeds mixed into the salad, it gives it an extra bit of color when i sprinkle more seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
What a blast from the past! I love ambrosia and decided to make this for dessert using reduced fat sour cream and fruit packed in their own juices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. My mom has made this for years, however, our 5 cup salad actually has six cups...the five listed above in addition to 1 CUP OF CHOPPED PECANS. H-E-A-V-E-N-L-Y. It's the only thing that could improve the above recipe. BE SURE YOUR FRUIT IS DRAINED REALLY WELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I've made this for years, my mother-in-law's exact recipe, handed down, and we continue to make it for all occasions. I added pecans and it is even better. (My mother always decorated hers with cherries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My mom always made this to take to pot lucks and picnics - fabulous blast from the past! I used crushed pinapple (only because that is what I had on hand) and it still turned out awesome. I added some chopped walnuts for a little nutty crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Stevens Clark
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I can't believe this is reviewed as 5 stars! This is my first review and it is because I want to save people from wasting their time with this terrible recipe. My mother tried to make this and our family decided that she must have read the recipe wrong--much to our disappointment, we realized it was really that bad! Don't waste your time...find a new fruit salad recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
We just love this. Easy to make and when the meal is over the bowl has been scraped clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States