5 Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
A universal favourite from the '50's. Varients have come out, replacing the sour cream with yoghurt, the oranges with maraschino's, addition of nuts, etc, but bare bones, as submitted is certainly a five star for us old guys, that remember our youth so clearly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is the most simple thing you can make. its delicious! simply mixing together 5 cups of prepackaged stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Love this recipe. Just like my mom used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
always on our holiday table- nice,light and pretty- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This is a favorite of our family's, a loved recipe from my grandmother who introduced it to the family. It is so easy to make, just dump everything together (making sure you drain the fruit). I like to add color to it now and then and add maraschino cherries to it but rinse them off first so the color doesn't bleed and turn everything pink. Still it is just my additional ingredient, not necessary. The secret is to let it set at least overnight to let the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Symes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I had made this for years when my children were young. Years later, I made it again! Nostalgic and yummy! I used a larger can of crushed pineapple drained and added an additional cup of mini marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin Groeber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I love this recipe. I absolutely agree that you have to have at least 4 hours to let the ingredients come together. The only thing I do differently is I add some maraschino cherries to give it some added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
First had this in 1982 when visiting Okla. It's been a favourite ever since. There's never any left when we 'dish it up'. We have to put a bit to one side so that we don't miss out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I love this recipe, took it to a potluck and it was completely gone. The only change I made was to add some crasens I had left over from Christmas baking. Beautiful and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I read the one negative review and knew immediately a few finer points were needed when putting this recipe together. First, if you do not have 24 hours to let your salad sit over night in the refrigerator than don't make the salad. Be sure to drain your canned fruit well. I also use much less sour cream than is called for, in fact, I use just enough sour cream to coat all the ingredients, cover, then chil overnight! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States