25-Minute Tunisian Vegetable Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Tons of veggies. NOT enough spice. Double everything, add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I am rating this recipe graciously because to make it to my liking would be easy. However, this took me TWO HOURS to make, start to finish. All the veggie prep work was very time consuming. I didn't like the tomatoes, so I'll leave em out next time, and I'll have to agree with a previous reviewer and say that the spices should be doubled. This is a bit on the bland side (to me anyway).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I thought this was excellent. Lots of veggies. Loved the spices. I didn't top it with the almonds or orange zest because I didn't have them. I added an extra can of beans. If you use large veggies you won't have much if any liquid, but that's how I like it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I didn't have the cardamom but I substituted cinnamon and it turned out really great. Made a ton for just me though. Guess I'll be eating it all week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We loved it! Since the man in my house can't eat a meal without meat, we did start the pot with 1lb of chicken tenderloins in some broth and white wine. It turned out great. Beautiful, healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Start with a big soup pot (I started with a large frying pan, but it was soon overwhelmed). Added 2-3 cloves garlic to the onion stage, couple stalks of chopped celery along with the carrot, added Garam Marsala instead of Cardamom & tripled all of the spices, used diced canned tomatoes & tri-colored couscous, stirred in 1 cup raisins (chopped dates would also be good) at the end. Would have taken 25 minutes if I did not have to chop anything; probably closer to 2 hours with the chopping. Makes a lot, so it was perfect for the neighborhood party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I loved all the vegetables in this dish. My biggest complaints are that there is a lot of chopping and I halved this recipe and it still made WAY too much food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I wish I'd listened to the review that said to double the spices. I was disappointed in this dish, it's wonderfully healthy and easy, even with all the chopping, but it has very little flavor. It makes a LOT so I have some leftovers to tinker with; I'd like to make this work because it's so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I agree with the other reviews that this needs a bit more spice, but overall a very yummy recepie and easy to make. You can add what ever veggies you have on hand, but I followed the recepie pretty closely. Would make again and made A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was very good. I left the chickpeas and carrots out due to personal preference. Fast and healthy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States