2-Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deon
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this recipe with a few changes, and this one is a winner! I did not use any meat making this a great choice for those who choose to go meatless. I used tomato sauce instead of the tomato juice which made for a richer, thicker soup. Our family simply cannot get enough of this, and it tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
As the only vegetarian in the house, I usually try and make 2 versions of a dish; one vegetarian and one for the carnivores. The carnivores went back for seconds (which is a rare occasion in my house!) and the vegetarian version (substituting quorn crumbles for the ground beef) was excellent! Super easy and quick and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I was looking for a flavourful, basic, no frills chili. I made this chili following the recipe exactly as stated. It was so BLAND. No flavour at all. I had to make some changes.... I sautéed in a 1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic in with the meat. I then increased the black pepper to 1/2 teaspoon, and added 2 tablespoons of hot sauce, 3/4 teaspoon of ground cumin, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, and 1/4 teaspoon of oregano. DELICIOUS. I guess the reason for all those garnishes was to provide the chili with taste. With my changes no need for the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this using V8. Didn't have chili powder so I threw in a pkg of chili mix & some garlic. Put in my new electric pressure cooker for 10 minutes. When it was done I added 1can bush's chili beans & 1 can northern beans & a little worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Quick, easy and so delicious that I almost felt a little guilty eating it with the toppings. Substituted ground turkey, black beans for the northern and tomato sauce and canned tomatos for the juice since that was on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My picky husband and preschoolers approved. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Good basic chili recipe. I did add salt. Used V-8 juice instead on straight tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was quick and yummy! I added garlic salt, crushed red peppers and hot sauce because we love super hot chili!! Served w/sour cream, g. onion and cheese in bread bowls. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is a very easy and delicious chili. Before making this I considered the reviews of other readers and decided to puree half a pickled jalapeno into the tomato sauce and add a splash of worchestire sauce. I also sauted the onion and beef mixture with minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
my husband loved this recipe , but i did add a little bit of hot sauce cause we like a little spice to it .. other than that great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States