15-Year-Old Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I agree about the salt, do not add until you do a taste test. That's what gave it only 4 stars. Very good though, and would use this recipe again. Take the salt out and it's a 5 star keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I liked it! I used less salt, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I have made fresh pesto many times, and this is the first time I saw the suggestion to use nutmeg. It really took it up a notch. I don't think you need so much olive oil though. I blend everything but the olive oil in the food processor, and then slowly add the oil until it is the right consistency. Toast the pine nuts first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capcomp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Easy and delicious, is that even possible, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Great recipe! We now routinely just have a jar of this on hand in our refrigerator - and make it for relatives when they come to visit! I also find it to be a bit salty and have cut back on the amount of salt we add. We enjoy using it as a sandwich spread. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
It was quick and easy and everyone in my family loved it. Can't beat that! I used chopped raw almonds instead of pine nuts. ( It's what I had on hand) and it turned out great. I also only added half the salt. Served with bow tie pasta and a salad, dinner was ready in15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was terrific! My fussy teenager even enjoyed it, and my husband said it was the best pesto he ever ate. I did find it slightly salty so I might decrease the amount of salt in the future. I also doubled the garlic and added more cheese. I'm a big fan of Romano cheese, so that's what I used. We needed a quick dinner so we enjoyed this over multigrain spaghetti with a delicious tossed salad and fresh ciabbiata bread. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro59

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palisades Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
this recipe is absolutely delicious i followed the recipe almost to the letter with the exception of the salt which i didnt add and i used romano cheese instead of parmasen. it makes an impressive amount of sauce and the flavour is not over powering which makes a change from other pesto recipes i have tried i will definetly be cooking this recipe agaim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarrod Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Excellent pesto! Omit the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
SKIP THE SALT!!!!! The cheese has enough salt to flavor the pesto. Don't be economical with the cheese either-good italian cheese makes this sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States