15-Year-Old Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Julia  Garreaud
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was excellent! The basil I used was extremely flavorful bursting with a healthy and wholesome taste and the color was beautiful. I would suggest adding the salt to taste since the parmesan cheese has salt in it. I eat Pesto a lot and when I don't have the preferred pine nuts I substitute walnuts another common ingredient in Pesto. I find Pesto extremely versatile beyond it's common use over pasta and the base for a brochette. Use it as a sandwich spread, tossed with vegetables like tomatoes, spread over fish, bake it on top of pita bread, stuff a brie cheese with it. It stores in your refrigerator for several weeks and can be frozen as well. Oh, and this whips up in under five minutes! This is part of my regular rotation inspired by what ingredients I have on hand to slather this onto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Mommamia! This recipe has way too much salt! I added more basil, olive oil and garlic to try and fix the problem - not the greatest -but otherwise I would try again 1/4 teas. salt to start? and use 3 cloves of garlic. I like the nutmeg idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This pesto is great. I made the mistake in using a canola oil..........as I didn't have any olive oil on hand. But, I used it on grilled chicken, and once the oil cooks the pesto is delicious! also, it was a bit runnier than I had hoped (not a dipping consistency), I might add more basil next time. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Amazing! So good. I added a little more cheese only because I am a cheese freak. I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good basic pesto. Slightly heavyhanded on the salt, but I didn't find it way too salty. We had this with tomatoes and goat cheese tonight, and I plan to use it with a pasta next week. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Simply Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Alexandre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Thank you Love2cook, this is a yummy recipe,I had a massive amount of basil,I canned this in freezer safe jars, I am hoping that it will freeze well. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Marisa
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was very good and easy, I would give it five stars but I used walnuts instead of pine nuts and added some chopped olives that I had. I served it with warm French bread and my family couldn't stop eating it. Plus it made my kitchen smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I didn't have nutmeg on hand but I went ahead and made it anyway. It's lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yokeyeow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Pretty generic pesto sauce. I did not add ANY salt as my parmesan was salty enough (freshly grated if that makes a difference). Not an OMG kinda thing, but quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States