15-Year-Old Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Mommamia! This recipe has way too much salt! I added more basil, olive oil and garlic to try and fix the problem - not the greatest -but otherwise I would try again 1/4 teas. salt to start? and use 3 cloves of garlic. I like the nutmeg idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Pretty generic pesto sauce. I did not add ANY salt as my parmesan was salty enough (freshly grated if that makes a difference). Not an OMG kinda thing, but quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Used on pasta, too bland for me. Used on grilled potatoes and was much better. I think it needs a little kick to it but not sure what I would add. Would be good on garlic bread I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love2Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Tried adding some fresh cilantro, but I still like the traditional pesto as originally submitted. Try mixing in with "Quick Gnocchi" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I didn't have nutmeg on hand but I went ahead and made it anyway. It's lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yokeyeow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good basic pesto. Slightly heavyhanded on the salt, but I didn't find it way too salty. We had this with tomatoes and goat cheese tonight, and I plan to use it with a pasta next week. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Thank you Love2cook, this is a yummy recipe,I had a massive amount of basil,I canned this in freezer safe jars, I am hoping that it will freeze well. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Julia  Garreaud
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was excellent! The basil I used was extremely flavorful bursting with a healthy and wholesome taste and the color was beautiful. I would suggest adding the salt to taste since the parmesan cheese has salt in it. I eat Pesto a lot and when I don't have the preferred pine nuts I substitute walnuts another common ingredient in Pesto. I find Pesto extremely versatile beyond it's common use over pasta and the base for a brochette. Use it as a sandwich spread, tossed with vegetables like tomatoes, spread over fish, bake it on top of pita bread, stuff a brie cheese with it. It stores in your refrigerator for several weeks and can be frozen as well. Oh, and this whips up in under five minutes! This is part of my regular rotation inspired by what ingredients I have on hand to slather this onto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Delicious and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Honestly don't think I've ever tastes bad pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States