123 Green Tea Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a good idea, but I have a feeling it would be much better if you just made your own vanilla ice cream, omitting the vanilla and adding the green tea powder before the mixture is frozen. If you try to add it to pre-made ice cream, it is a long and messy process to mix the powder in, leaving you with a somewhat bitter end product. However, I am thankful to have found this recipe, as it gives me the proper portions of green tea powder to use in my homemade ice cream. I will definitely be making my own green tea ice cream now. :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Liked that we could make the flavor as strong as we wanted. Broke my mixer blades because I didn't let the ice cream soften first. Goes great with adzuki beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
It is very delicous i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Potsdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Not bad! A little too simplistic! But great flavor. Remember to use GOOD QUALITY vanilla ice cream it could make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I loved this, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I mixed the tea powder with a tiny bit of water first thinking it would blend faster. Didn't really work as planned. When I added to the ice cream it caused tiny little bits of frozen green tea but I liked it like that. Mixed on a frozen marble slab and used Blue Bell Homemade vanilla. I have some red tea powder that makes a fab cup of tea so I'm guessing will also make a yummy red tea ice cream. Fantastic idea, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I have a feeling this will be something that my friends would find interesting. This will be their first time to taste green tea ice cream, totally different from the commercial ice cream. Will be back for more ice cream recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Not sure about the whole pounding technique with this. It is just as easy to let the ice cream soften a little on the counter. The strength of matcha really varies form source to source. And it loses quite a bit of flavor with age. Start a with a little and then add more. Use the purest ice cream for this. If you refreeze the ice cream that has additives, you will be disappointed in the final product. It gets foamy and flat especially from all the stirring. This is a great trick for instant green tea ice cream. I usually just want a little bit and it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I tried this recipe in order to get a sugar-free dessert for a diabetic friend who was coming to an Asian themed dinner, so I used S/F ice cream. In order to get the Matcha mixed in well with the ice cream, it has to be pretty well melted. Then if you re-freeze it, it is much harder and you loose a lot of volume. So, after much thought, I decided to take it back out and put it in a mixer and whip it up again and then re-freeze it. This worked OK -- at least saved me from having to throw away a whole carton of ice cream. Also, the Matcha I bought was so strong that the flavor was overwhelming. I had to also buy more ice cream to mix in before whipping it. All in all -- too much bother and not a very satisfactory result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I was skeptical about this, especially since I got "green tea powder", not "matcha" at a chinese grocery store. But it worked out reeeeeally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States