100 Percent Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The taste was great, but there was only one leavening ingredient in this recipe, and as other reviewers have mentioned the water amount listed was not correct. :( In the future I will add an egg or two to help the bread rise enough to get the soft texture I desire. I did add more water, and will continue to do so. I also recommend substituting a tablespoon or two of mashed potato flakes for some of the ingredients you may not have. I love adding potato flakes to my breads! This bread can recipe can also be used to make a good cheesy bread or rosemary bread. With just one batch, I made two regular loaves, a rosemary loaf, and a cheddar/Monterey jack loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I ommited the seeds, coconut oil, and gluten. So basically I just used wheat flour, honey, yeast, water, and salt. Such a great recipe. My first attempt at making homemade bread and everything went great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amor_fati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Harris
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Forgot to add to my review that I added 3-4 T of coconut milk to the dough when kneeding it- the mixture was pretty dry and hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Harris
Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Not making it again. The measurement s were off...not just for water but every thing. Also I felt that dough was not enough good three loaves and too much for two loaves. Mine turned out quite dense. I make breads a lot. My search for a goood wheat bread is still on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Made it yesterday in my bread machine. I cut flour, vital gluten, honey and salt in half. I use olive oil since I had no coconut oil, the amount called for. I doubled up on the flax meal since I had not flax seeds. I did not use sunflower seeds since I didn't have them either. I used 1 1/2 cup of water. The rest of the ingredients I used as indicated. I placed the ingredients in my bread machine in the order called for my machine, and mixed on dough cycle. Remove and rolled out and cut into 3" rounds as I usually do for my bread rolls. Let rise for 1 hour and baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. My husband likes his bread in these small rolls. They were wonderful. The taste was very good. Texture was soft, thanks to the gluten and added water. I will make it again since is it a very healthy bread. Sorry about all the adjustments but I can't knead dough anymore; my hands are too weak. Thanks for the invention of the bread machine we enjoy fresh bread every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This really looks good,have not made it yet but will soon. By the coments I will add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Softest homemade whole wheat bread recipe I have found! Definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I've been making 100% whole wheat for a while and have been searching for a good recipe, and I found it here. The missing ingredient for me was the wheat gluten. It makes it nice and fluffy. Other reviewers say they have left this out, I think you're missing it if you do. Yes, it needs more water! Probably could safely start w/ 2c. Also, feel free to not skimp on the flax seeds and such. From experience, I knew 1 tablespoon wasn't near enough for this size (2 loaves). I went w/ 2 heaping tablespoons of the oats, flax, sesame, and quinoa.. and it's not enough in my opinion. If you like those things in your bread, then I'd say 2 tablespoons is a starting point. I'm starting with 3T of each of those next time. I use my bread machine to mix dough. Depending on your bread machine size, you may have probs doing this size of a batch. It was overflowing on me a little.. just had to keep an eye on it. The 2T of coconut oil can be substituted with any kind of shortening. I use olive oil. Did I mention to not skip out on the wheat gluten? (I recommend a non-GMO brand and non-GMO whole wheat). This is a keeper.. I bake bread every few weeks.. This turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I just made this using fresh milled flour in my nutrimill. I used hard white winter wheat berries. I didn't have any of the added grains but it was still delicious! To cut out fat I added 2 TBS of non-gmo lecithin granules instead of coconut oil. I also had to increase the water by 1 cup. I used half my dough for rolls and the other half for cinnamon rolls, a healthier version that is still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Came out a little too dense for my taste but I will make it again and let it rise a little longer. Other than that it was very flavorful and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States