1-Pot, 3-Bean Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This recipe was in our local paper (Pittsburgh). It sounded good so we gave it a try. Anyone looking for an alternative to pasta should give this a try. I’m not a big fan of cilantro so I omitted it and used all parsley instead. I didn’t have cans of chicken broth handy and easily substituted chicken bullion. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
this was wonderful! i had my doubts in the beginning but very heart-warming on a cold night. i served with cornbread & a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was so healthy and delicious, a wonderful combination of flavors. We loved it. I could not find smoked chicken, so I marinated a chicken breast in liquid smoke per label directions, cooked it in the microwave, diced it up and it worked just fine. This recipe is going in "my favorites file".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
The "stew" taste delicious, is easy to make, and the addition of the fresh parsley and cilantro really give it a wonderful flavor. Two problems - the broth is more soup-like and maybe this should be renamed to reflect that, and I think you meant to say add white wine, not red. My chicken turned PINK and the broth is very red - not like the picture at all. Still VERY tasty, just would change the wine next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I liked this dish very much. I played around with it just a little, left out the wine and scaled it down to 4 servings. As I am on low fat diet this suited me very well, I ate one portion and froze the rest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
We did not like this at ALL. We threw out the pot. No flavor, looked disgusting. Even when we added salt (which it sorely needed) it was unsavable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Not bad at all! I don't even like beans but trying to eat healthier.I added corn, skipped the wine, and kept the salt(I am a saltaholic). It doesn't get easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I used 1 tbsp of oregano AND 1 tbsp of basil. More onion and added 1 cup of Swiss Chard. Regular chicken. Omitted the wine since my daughter does not like sauces made with wine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
A really good, tasty, easy recipe. I didn't have parsley and used spicy italian sausages instead of smoked chicken, also used a chicken stock cube and more wine instead of a can of chicken broth. Oh, and it made a lot so my pot was too small, I had to transfer it all to a large casserole dish and bake it (covered) for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States