1-Dish Taco Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was one freakin' simple recipe to make! I doubled it and baked it in a 9X13 cassrole dish....turned out perfect! Search for homemade taco seasoning on this site and it's a taste of Mexican / American...or Canadian, depending on where you live. Wouldn't change a thing. Great low budget meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I did not care for the crust in this. I thought it was very bland and a bit too thick. Maybe dividing the dough or omitting it all together and substituting it with crecent rolls would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was just okay. The flavor was not as strong as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Iadded about 3T sugar for a sweeter cornbread and used taco seasoning from this website (Taco Seasoning I). Only used 1 packet yeast and it turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This dish reminded me of something my mom used to make for my high school football team nights and was delicious. Be sure to use a bigger pan than what it says otherwise it will spill over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fontane_jackson
Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I wasn't sure if we were supposed to make the ground beef as directed on the taco mix package, but that is what I did. I used a seasoning packet and the 3/4 cup of water it calls for, and let it boil then simmer for 10 minutes as called for. If I had not done this, it would have been WAY too dry. I think the recipe should be a bit more specific regarding this. EDIT: I have made this recipe at least a dozen times since I first came upon it. I double it and bake it in a 13x9" pan, but use 1 1/2lbs of beef. I use either taco-seasoned beef or sloppy joes beef. My family actually prefers this with a sloppy joe beef mixture. I do add extra salsa, and I am very careful not to overcook it. I think these 2 things help keep it moist and prevent it from being dry (as well as being sure to stick it in a cold oven, and making sure the milk is the proper temperature). We LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was much easier to make than I thought it would be and my husband and daughter liked it fairly well. I think next time I will add more vegetables to it - maybe some black beans and some sauteed red pepper, to make it a little healthier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I doubled the recipe to fit in a 9x13 pan, but used one can of chili beans and 1 pound meat. The kids liked it, very filling. It would make a good potluck casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I followed the directions but made a few changes, -used only 1 packet of yeast, added 1/2 can of kidney beans, left out the salsa (as I was out), and I used crumbled tortilla chips since I didn't have any corn chips. Next time I would add chopped tomatoes or salsa and maybe a bit of sour cream when served. My kids loved it and I would surely make it again. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Everything tasted good except no matter what I tried, and I made this three times, the corn meal never quite baked enough. I've finally given up and will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestically Challenged Grrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States