1-Dish Taco Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I'm giving this five stars because it's everything the recipe says it is. It's a little heavy for me, but that's personal taste. It was very easy to make. I used the Qorn brand soy-based ground beef substitute, that worked great. ALSO I got home and realized I didn't have any quick-rise yeast. I used 1 tsp of baking soda + 1 1/2 tsp baking powder instead, and that worked just fine. The cornbread base rose well and tasted good. I made it in a 9x9 inch square baking pan and had no overflow. Were I to make this again, I'd probably try less cheese and meat (or whatever) and add beans and corn, maybe some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskabaker
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Good concept, lots of room for improvement. Add beans, jalapenos, corn to the corn bread, olives, lettuce, sour cream, anything really. It needs more flavor and a bigger pan it runs over so use something deeper, not a lot deeper lost about a 1/2 cup worth of food. I put a cookie sheet under it and it caught the overflow. This dish has potential so if you're creative go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4Thought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I am thinking the quality of your salsa is important to this recipe. We loved it! I doubled the recipe, but not the salsa or oil, then divided between two pie pans. One with cheese - one without for the lactose intolerant and milk allergic in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I have been making this for a couple of years now. The yeast cornbread crust is super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanilla Sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
We made it just as the recipe read, except for using my 9X13 baking pan instead of a pie pan. It turned out perfect! Everyone loved it. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Overall this was a great recipe. I like a lot of spice, so I added lots of cumin, garlic powder, season salt. Also the cornbread was a little dry. But the recipe was still great, and I would make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Regan
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Delicious! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was such an easy and yummy meal, thank-you so much! I did a few changes, I just added 1/2 cup onion while cooking the meat. I also added about 1/2 cup fresh tomatoes, and that's it. It was so good, I served it with sour cream. Will definetly make again, and pass recipe on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My family loved this meal. I was in a rush when I cooked it so I left a couple things out. I didn't put the taco seasoning in the ground beef, and I forgot the egg in the batter. It was still delicious and hearty! Will be making this dish again and again (with all ingredients)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I doubled everything like was suggested..it leaked over the dish when cooking. I didn't like it very much. the kids and husband liked it OK, I guess..I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseKokkinopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galliano, Louisiana, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States