Double Fudge Kahlua Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
These brownies had a good taste and the icing was very good also. Unfortunately my brownies were accidentally overbaked by about 10-15 minutes so they ended up extremely cakey and sort of dry. I might try these again though and hopefully my timer won't fail again, because I did like the taste. To be honest, I did not add the black pepper because I was a bit skeptical. I thought they were quite tasty without the pepper. The frosting, as I said, was tasty (very chocolatey) and had a nice texture when cooled, very smooth but not sticky so these brownies packed well. I did not taste the Kahlua as much as I had expected. Of course the alcohol baked out of the brownies, especially since I overbaked them. The Kahlua added an interesting flavor, but people who sampled the recipe said it wasn't strong enough that they would identify the flavor as Kahlua. If you really want to have a Kahlua flavor, better add some extra. And if you want fudgy, DO NOT OVERBAKE! I was disappointed with the cakiness due to my own mistake. I may have to try again, bake correctly, and re-rate if the fudginess pushes these to a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Delicious! I follwed the recipe exactly, but left out the nuts (not a big fan of nuts). These are easy enough and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Other than leaving out the nuts (I don't like nuts in brownies), I followed the recipe exactly as written. This brownie is more cake-like than I usually prefer but it is moist - just not fudge-like. The Kahlua taste came through fairly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Wonderful recipe! The frosting is completely unnecessary--I didn't have powdered sugar, so left the brownies "as is," and they were fantastic. I would add more Kahlua next time, to make the flavor more pronounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent brownies! I was a little leery of the pepper, so I added only 3/4 tsp. but you couldn't notice it at all. Added the chopped walnuts to the batter, but didn't sprinkle any on top, and that was just right for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
GOOD! I overcooked the frosting, so I messed up there. but they were moist. no trace of the pepper. I didn't use REAL kaluha either, that could have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaman, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
These brownies tasted very good to everyone that ate them, but it was just me that liked the icing best. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
these were the best brownies I have ever tasted! They were a hit for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Tasty, but not in the least fudgie. I think in the future I'll take the icing and use it on a tired and true brownie recipe. These were very cakey, almost as if something was missing (some sort of fat or oil or something?) They turned out a little like a Kahlua cake, more than brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These are fabulous by simply following the recipe! They are rich, but not too chocolatey gooey brownie. Be very careful not to overbake--mine were ready right at 25 minutes. The only thing I had to change was to decrease the amount of powdered sugar in the frosting--2 c. would have made a VERY thick (probably unspreadable) frosting. I started out with about a cup and that ended up being the right amount. These could definitely handle a larger dose of Kahlua if you want to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States