... Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I liked this, but I can see where some folks got a weird texture going on. The first time I tried the noodles they had a very starchy texture to them. I added more water and continued cooking. I had to do this a total of 3 times to get the noodles to be the consistancy I wanted them to be. I agree with some of the other reviewers that putting cooked noodles in at the last minute might fix this problem. The flavor is spot on and it is a hearty meal and a good way to stretch a lb of ground beef. Thanks, bestcooker for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
My husband loved it, I thought it was ok but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Really great recipe. Quick and easy to make and oh, so delicious! I didn't have picante so used Dei Fratelli chopped Mexican Tomatoes & Jalapenos. I'll make this again and will add it to our churchs' 100th Anniversary Cook Book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gleason, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
this is a really great last minute recipe. i am a cheese lover so i added sharp cheddar & fresh parm cheese. really good. will definately be making again...also.. didn't have picante so i added diced tomatoes and sweet relish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I used penne pasta instead of egg noodles. It was an OK recipe. Nice for something quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
The taste of this dish was really good but I didn't like the texture of the noodles after being cooked in the sauce. I picked them out and then boiled some rotini and added that to the great sauce. Liked the texture much better that way. Will make again with that change. Thanks for the recipe. Our little guy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The taste of this dish is excellent. The texture, well it reminded me too much of hamburger helper. I will make this again, but next time cook noodles separately. I would add them into the dish about 2 mins before they were done cooking. I also added some cumin and black pepper to the sauce. My kids loved it. I loved the taste, not the texture. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5galsandadad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was quick and easy! I didn't have Picante on hand so I used a can of diced tomatoes and added hot sauce. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Great Recipe! It couldn't be easier in terms of cooking and clean up. I only thing I would recommend is to be very careful of the amount of onion used. Either make sure your onion is very small, or use half. Thanks for sharing! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This recipe was great. I added a little more garlic and used elbow macaroni instead of egg noodles. I also added parmesan cheese while cooking and topped with mozarella instead of cheddar cheese. It was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States