Seattle - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
One of my favorite ways to fix salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Really good, really easy, really cheap. I made it exactly as written, and had a ton of leftovers I shared with coworkers the next day. The only thing I added was I had an avocado sitting around so I put half an avocado on top, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cindy's Snappy Sensational Superfood Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I was appalled to find she recommended putting spinach in a crockpot for 8 hours. Hello?? Bitterness city. Add it at the end of cooking, in the pot for about 5 minutes, long enough to warm up. I'm not going to try this, not just because of the spinach, but mostly because I really don't like mixing 14 little bits of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

K-Dub's Alfredo Ravioli Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Simple, easy, not terrible. Not terribly innovative either. Needs vegetables (some color) also to improve the over nutrition. I used unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Watergate Salad from DOLE®

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
One of my top favorite "salads". I don't make it often anymore because I have NO willpower when it comes to this salad.......I will eat the whole bowl, a little at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Randy's Slow Cooker Ravioli Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I used half ground beef/half ground sausage and a homemade marinara and I omitted the additional salt. I was able to put this together fairly quickly (and fairly cheaply as well because all of the ingredients were bought at Aldi!) at the start of my day and it was ready to go at dinnertime. I did take another reviewer's suggestion and add cheese in the layers as well as on top. I did sprinkle a good amount canned parmesan along with the shredded mozzerellla, too. The whole family enjoyed it, especially my two kids. We sopped up the additional sauce with white trash garlic bread (softened butter and lots of garlic powder, spread onto sandwich bread and thrown under the broiler). NO LEFTOVERS. Definitely a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Noodle Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is both simple and satisfying. You can gussy it up any way you like, but as is its great for fussy eaters. Just DON'T use processed predigested artificial cheese-like substance, but real cheese. And DON'T bother to layer it, just mix it all up in the pan and pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This doesn't taste like an eclair, but it is really good. Made with normal grahams, and made the chocolate topping but cooked until thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crunchy Berry Parfait

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Very good. Also works well with partially thawed frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
No changes necessary!! I ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chef John's Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
If I am trying something for the first time that I have no idea how to cook, I always search for Chef Johns version first. I have always done my corned beef in the slow cooker and wanted to try it in my dutch oven, so I was excited to see Chef John had a version! This turned out perfect! My beef was about 4.2 lbs and I let it cook just as his instructions state for 4lbs and it turned out amazing! My family raved over how well everything cooked, and the flavor! The only thing I did differently was left the carrots out and cooked separately due to space in the pot initially- the potatoes and cabbage were so perfectly cooked and well infused with flavor! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Yogurt Crunch Parfaits from DOLE®

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I scaled this back to one serving as my "treat" tonight after dinner. I used Walmart frozen pineapple, vanilla greek yogurt and "light" whipped topping. This was heaven. Absolute heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbeque Chicken Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
For me, this recipe was part of a "Pantry Challenge". I basically plugged a few ingredients in that I had on hand and this was one of the first recipes that popped up. I did scale this recipe back by half. I cannot find jicama anywhere in the area I live, so I just omitted it. I also did not add the jalapeno pepper because I was feeding two kids. To make this a little......cheaper, I did skip the step of cooking the chicken in the barbeque sauce only because I didn't want to overuse the little bit that I had in case I needed it for another recipe. I just cooked the chicken with some spices in my slow cooker for most of the day, cooled it and then pieced it out for the salad. Very interesting take on pasta salad, my two kids especially liked it. NO leftovers. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Dijon Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
One of my favorite dressing recipes. I used the same ratio of oil to vinegar, but used 1/4 cup Balsamic, and completed the balance with red wine vinegar. Add just the right amounts of S&P to taste, and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Lamb Shanks

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rendobina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Maine, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by foodelicious

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
As soon as I saw fresh rhubarb in the market, I knew I had to get baking. These turned out just great! Full disclosure: I used butter instead of oil (don't judge me) and I didn't add walnuts. Also, it turned out that my rhubarb measured at 2 cups instead of 1.5, so I just threw the whole thing in there. It was still wonderful. I especially love how easy it was to make a streusel topping with melted butter. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Alli Shircliff

Sriracha Whole Roasted Cauliflower

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
The flavor is excellent! We like our cauliflower really tender, so we ended up cooking it for closer to 1 hour. I increased the heat to 450 degrees F for the last 10 minutes of cooking, and it turned nicely browned. I brushed the oil mixture onto the outside about 3 times during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was amazing. I love Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Missvega88

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is the easy way of making a tres leches cake...I grew up hating it but after having a random craving for it and trying this recipe, I am in love like never before! The only thing that I changed was using white cake mix and sprinkling cinnamon and a cherry on top. Can't wait to make it again for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missvega88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Armenian Lentils

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I am of Armenian descent, and this is very close to my family's recipe. However, the cooking time for the onions is not correct. The onions need to be caramelized! They need to cook until they are brown, at least 30 minutes. Five to seven minutes is not enough. If they are not caramelized, the dish loses its main flavor and will be bland. Also, I recommend caramelizing the onions in a large pot, and then adding the lentils and other ingredients to that pot, not adding the onions to the lentils' pot. That way you don't lose the juices and sugars from the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRmenian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States