Pacific West - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Aunt Kate's Strawberry Cake

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Almost stayed true to the ingredients but I used butter (lightly melted). I prepped it way differently than what was directed only because I wanted to bake for 3 so I used 3 ramekins. I decided to use my small food processor starting with chopped strawberries with sugar and pulsed it 4-5 times, following butter, vanilla, eggs, pulsed then added the rest until combined. Baked it for 20 minutes or less. It came out cakey and not densed like others mentioned. Definitely better than the jello powder mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Teriyaki Sauce

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
No sherry so I used some cheap chardonnay instead. Perfectly delicious sauce for simmering Thai rice stick noodles to make Mongolian BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
these were really, easy, and quick. very good. my suggestion, is to make them in a 9 / 14 inch pan. then all the sweet gooeyness stays in the rolls, instead of dripping out of a muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Great easy, low tech way to do delicious ribs. We like them really fall-off-the-bone tender, so we increase the pre-cook time at 250 to three hours. We don't baste as often with barbecue sauce as the recipe calls for -- just once or twice -- and they couldn't be more tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Muffaletta Pizza

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
i'm not sure if everyone else who liked this used thick crust dough but to me it was very salty.. i tend to like dishes that are well seasoned so idk what my issue was.. bf said it's salty bc of all the meats (pls note that i halved the amount of the meats) and that i shouldn't think of this as a pizza but more like a crustini or a flatbread.. maybe if i had this as a dip for crackers i'd like it more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewissa

Gluten-Free Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I used a gluten free flour that already contains xanthan gum. This batter was very goopy as written, perhaps because of the added xanthan gum. Next time I won't add it. I had to add an extra cup of water to this to make it pancakes instead of English muffins--the batter was way too thick otherwise. I used buttermilk powder instead of the soured milk. They tasted great to everyone at the table, gluten free and not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Feta Eggs

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Is a surprise for your mouth. Feta is not overwhelming like I feared may be. It's not. It's good. My modified version of recipe was to use green onions and skipped the tomatoes, probably would have been okay but could have made the eggs too wet. If I were to use tomatoes though it would have been the smaller than cherry tomatoes. Must use pepper though. Pepper to taste. Very good. Will make again sometime. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D. Shiznit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Haleiwa, Hawaii, USA
Photo by GRAMMIX3

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made these for breakfast this morning. My husband loves them and he's a biscuit snob??. They are very tender. I grated the frozen butter and used buttermilk substitute. I would bake them a little longer next time. I will be making them with Beef Stew tomorrow for family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have made this wonderful dish four times. Not the most low-cal thing in my recipe book, but the flavors are fantastic. I didn't change anything. All ingredients are available at the local Indian market. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Galvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made the recipe almost exactly as written (I reduced the sugar because i was concerned about it being too sweet) but this potato salad recipe was very bland and somewhat greasy. It really needs something. Other reviewers have mentioned adding dill, I think that would help. And next time I wouldn't use all the bacon grease, maybe omit it all together and use olive oil to fry the onions. Even though I like all the ingredients in this recipe, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Mapes

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I did not have frozen or fresh blueberries like the recipe calls for so I used 1/2 cup dried blueberries instead and it still came out really moist and delicious. Beware of the cooking time though. In the all recipes magazine the cooking time says 1 1/4 hr to 1 1/2 hours. I set my oven timer for 1 hr and it really could of came out a little earlier because the outside was a little too brown for my taste. Overall this coffee cake is truly a keeper. I am going to make this again in a few days for a Memorial Day BBQ and will put blueberries and strawberries on the platter in the middle of the cake, then it will have the red,white and blue colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Mapes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I have made this once, and am currently cooking the potatoes for a second time. I just stuck the potatoes in the oven- no oil or foil. It was so good last time!! Will prepare them the same way tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

Oriental Cold Noodle Salad (My Modified Version)

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This recipe is perfect just the way it is. I don't think the zest or the lime juice needed to be adjusted and I had a rather large lime. Whole foods has 100% whole buckwheat Soba noodles in 8 oz. bags and I used two of those. Since I like very robust flavors and after reading many reviewer comments, here is what I added: small chopped pieces of 1/2 of a large red bell pepper, edamame, 3 green scallions, toasted sesame seeds, 2 additional cloves of garlic, 1 tsp. crushed ginger. 1 whole fresh jalapeno pepper diced very small seeds and all. When it came to the sesame oil, I used 1 Tblsp sesame and 1/2 Tblsp. hot chili oil. I forgot my nuts, but honestly after eating it, I didn't see how it was going to enhance my particular concoction. I had every intention and purchased cashews for the purpose. Oh well. This is a great salad as is or with your own modifications. I think the dressing amount is spot on, the Soba noodles and all the ingredients get completely coated. I forgot, I did sub honey for the brown sugar as I was out. The bonus of this salad is that it's super healthy as well especially if you are using the 100% buckwheat soba noodles. Thanks Christiana Heins for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PITA

Oriental Cold Noodle Salad

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This recipe is perfect just the way it is. I don't think the zest or the lime juice needed to be adjusted and I had a rather large lime. Whole foods has 100% whole buckwheat Soba noodles in 8 oz. bags and I used two of those. Since I like very robust flavors and after reading many reviewer comments, here is what I added: small chopped pieces of 1/2 of a large red bell pepper, 3/4 cup edamame, 3 green scallions, 8 sliced snow peas, 1 Tbsp. toasted sesame seeds, 2 additional cloves of garlic, 1 tsp. crushed ginger, 1 whole fresh jalapeno pepper diced very small seeds and all. When it came to the sesame oil, I used 1 Tbsp. sesame and 1/2 Tbsp. hot chili oil. I forgot my nuts, but honestly after eating it, I didn't see how it was going to enhance my particular concoction. I had every intention and purchased cashews for the purpose. Oh well. This is a great salad as is or with your adds. I think the dressing amount is spot on as my Soba noodles and all the ingredients get completely coated. (I'm eating it as I write this.) Oh, I forgot, I did sub honey for the brown sugar as I was out. The bonus of this salad is that it's super healthy as well, especially if you are using the 100% buckwheat Soba noodles. Thanks Christiana Heins for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Made it with peach flavored jell-o and canned peaches that I cut into smaller pieces. It was such a hit that I have made it twice in less than a week. Pot Luck luncheon and game day with friends. Will keep this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Park

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Calimesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lindy's Bacon and Onion Cheese Spread

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
It is a wonderful base recipe to put various things in it. I added more bacon as we know 1/2 lb. is never enough so I did a little more than one pound because I wanted more inside and outside. Added at least six drops of Sriracha Sauce or to taste for a little kick. Also when you put the cheese spread in the frig scoop it onto saran wrap it makes it easer to mold into a ball without a mess. I did add some garlic powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl

Sweet Potato Breakfast Pancakes

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
These seemed to be missing a key ingredient.....an egg. I made a second batch the next day reducing the milk by 1/4 cup and added an egg with much better results. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Mexican Style Corn

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
i used a can of corn instead of the fresh and reduced the parm by half.. i added salt, bottled lime juice, and tapatio.. ty for the start of a nice side for our ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana

Watermelon Fwang

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Very easy and delicious. I used Greek yogurt & didn't add the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Baking Nana

Watermelon Delight

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
How easy is this? Perfect for summer! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States