Pacific West - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kristin's Turkey Butternut Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I completely deviated from the original recipe. I sauteed the onion with the ground turkey, then added the butternut squash and a can of stewed tomatoes. I also added garlic and onion powder to the egg mixture, and covered the casserole with 2 cups of the mozzarella cheese and breadcrumbs since I didn't have the crackers. (Next time I would use crackers.)I had 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike McEwan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a great recipe! I was looking for something basic to start with and modify to my own tastes and this was it. I wasn't feeling well and wanted to make some chicken soup but obviously wasn't feeling like slaving over the stove all day. It went together quickly and easily and I saved time by using pre-cut carrot chips. The only thing I did spend time on was deboning the rotisserie chicken I used instead of canned chicken - and I'm glad that I did, it was more flavorful than canned would have been. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a great recipe! I was looking for something basic to start with and modify to my own tastes and this was it. I wasn't feeling well and wanted to make some chicken soup but obviously wasn't feeling like slaving over the stove all day. It went together quickly and easily and I saved time by using pre-cut carrot chips. The only thing I did spend time on was deboning the rotisserie chicken I used instead of canned chicken - and I'm glad that I did, it was more flavorful than canned would have been. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
4 stars since I tweaked it a bit. Used fresh garlic instead of powder and halved the hot sauce. Also used apple cider vinegar. Otherwise made as directed. Very, very good result. Perfect balance of sweet and sour. Next time I'll add some curry powder and ground cumin for more of what (I think) would be a taste if India. Served with basmati rice and steamed zukes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
A little too much lemon for my taste. I kept on having to add more chicken broth. Other than that...it was really good! Also, I left out the slices of lemon, due to the reviews. I would've used wine but had none and mushrooms would've been a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana

Apple Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
As written we didn't care for these. Filled with cooked apple slices and fried are great but baked with chopped apples just didn't do it. Sorry - I wanted to like them. BTW - my photo is of a couple that were fried, not baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Tri-Tip Marinade

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was good enough to try it again on another cut of beef but I prefer a Santa Maria style dry rub on my tri-tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Ranchero Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was great on chicken. Can't wait to try it on beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Easy Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Love this recipe. I add garlic powder and I personally prefer my broccoli a little more done, so I typically roast it for closer to 30 minutes. It's also great with sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
These were really good. I added shredded mozzarella during the last 15 minutes. Served them with lemon basil carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Baking Nana

Tellang's Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Very easy and straightforward recipe. I used the food processor grater attachment to grate to potatoes. Then into cold water in the salad spinner. Rinsed the potatoes and spun them dry. I cut this recipe in half and the bake time was 20 minutes at 350 in a small 5 x 7" casserole dish. Half a recipe should have been enough for 3 people but actually served 2 big eaters. Thanks for a great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Delicious Avocado Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This quick and easy sandwich is a perfect lunch. I used balsamic & basil vinaigrette on lightly toasted San Francisco style extra sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Toscana Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Absolutely delicious and very easy, we make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Paleo Hash

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was really good. I added a bit too much stock so I had a little bit of sauce with mine. I am not one who likes runny yolks so I topped mine with scrambled eggs.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Simple Parsnip Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These were nice. I like the contrast of salty and sweet so I added a bit of spicy salt.. also good with some wing sauce. It went well with sweetness from parsnips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
a few minor errors on my part but for the most part it was pretty good. the important thing was that my family of picky eaters liked it. i added mushrooms, spinach and tomato sauce to my lasagna which only enhanced the flavor. next time i will need to add more cheese and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LindaT

Golden Vegan Cauliflower 'Bisque'

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Loved this.. I used fresh peppers, onion, celery and parsley and added a little skim milk instead of coconut milk . Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Hot and Spicy Pecans

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I concur with other cooks who advise to lower temp. Consider a test run with small batch first. If you have unsatisfactory results at 300 degrees, reduce temp to 275 on successive batch, and watch carefully between the 20 minute -30 minute cooking time so as not to over bake. It may seem as though nuts are not finished because coating seems moist, but as nuts cool, the coating congeals and coats well. Stir nuts frequently as they cool out of oven so they do not adhear to baking sheet. You can make this recipe work with practice. Try honey or brown sugar if you want sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli and Cheddar Quiche

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Whoa...way too much oregano and I only used 1/2 tsp based on reviews. I made it crustless and it was perfectly baked in 30 minutes. I won't be making this again; there are so many better recipes on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EvePenman

Blueberry Muffins II

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Simple recipe, basic ingredients, no dividing of eggs, and totally tasty. Perfect for sea-level/low-elevation baking. I added chocolate chips with the blueberries and used a cake pan instead of a muffin pan; baked it for the same time at the same temp and followed all other directions. The results are pure deliciousness. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvePenman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States