Pacific West - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by bd.weld

Taco Bean Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
A great blend of fiesta flavors going on here. I used freshly made pico de gallo for the salsa and spread the Taco Bean Dip on crispy tostada style tortillas prior to melting the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Nicole S.

Corn and Crab Bisque

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The flavor was okay, but it wasn't creamy enough, as the broth was too thin to be a "bisque". I followed the recipe, only using Old Bay seasoning and regular canned corn ( drained ) instead of creamed. I found that adding a generous dollop of sour cream into the soup helped, and next time I will use all heavy cream instead of the milk and half and half. Sitting in the frige overnight will probably help the flavors to meld as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I loved this recipe. I had never made pulled pork before, so was a little nervous to try. It was super easy to make and came out super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
These were so easy to make and yummy. No left overs = a great hit for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This tasted good, but was hard to cook because the fish started falling apart. I'm sure I have to learn how to cook or better. But the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Zucchini II

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Simple and tasty... Just how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Yuumy! Made recipe as is, although for my preference, I should have made more of the topping. Batter stayed moist and recipe made 12 large muffins. Next time I might try putting in walnuts, but for now, delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Three Berry Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Absolutely perfect pie filling!!! *note -- I did not use the crust recipe -- I used rolled crusts due to time constraints. Followed the recipe for the total amount of fruit, but used a different mixture of berries based on what I had, also including 2 small peaches. The ratios of fruit, sugar, and cornstarch were right on. Not the least bit liquidy like others complained: be sure to bake it until it's bubbling fully, and that you cool completely before cutting. Making a lattice top crust shows the berries beautifully !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

120 Calorie Peach Pies

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Very delicious! I sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on the peach before rolling it up. Sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on top before baking. Turned out great. So easy! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Greek Orzo Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Delicious! Instead of orzo, I used a smaller pasta and it tasted great. Can't wait to make it again using the preferred pasta. My husband who does not like artichokes, loved it, so I know it's a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Ratatouille

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Seriously delicious. I made this with Patty Pan squash instead of eggplant b/c that's what I had on hand. Awesome use of garden veggies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Sweet and Sassy Popcorn

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I used a 3 oz bag of popcorn and smoked paprika. As a heat lover this turned out perfect. For those that are not into the heat factor I highly recommend cutting back on the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Delicious! Used produce from my garden: tomatoes (peeled, partly seeded and diced), peppers, onions, and threw in a patty pan squash and some mushrooms. Cooked in a 6 qt. slow cooker on low for about 6 hours. I saved the juice from prepping the tomatoes, and mixed several Tbsp of cornstarch with a cupful near the end of cooking to thicken it up. Won't need to add the tomato paste when preparing to serve. We enjoyed some over angel hair pasta that night, and froze the rest. A definite keeper for freezer pasta sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Hamburger Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this exactly the way is written except I used shredded Mozzarella cheese instead of Colby or Monterey Jack because that's what I had. There was too much of an overwhelming taste of the dried spices for me to enjoy. I will either omit them next time or use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Exchange Gang Pasta with Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I excluded the shallots because a guest can't eat them for digestion reasons. I also added asparagus to try and add some flavor that was lost from excluding the shallots. The asparagus added a bit of a sourness to the final product. It wasn't offensive but I would like to try this again when I can follow the recipe as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These were really good. I too used a muffin pan and sprayed it with canola cooking spray. They came out so moist and yummy. I added garlic and onion powder to them for a little extra flavor and i only made six mini loaves. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. The ONLY thing I changed was lowering the temp to 350 and baked 10 minutes longer. I would not change anything about the recipe..I loved it, my kids loved it, and my neighbors loved it. Even without the cinnamon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookwithlove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Really nice spices and sweetness. I did need to add more flour and a bit of cornstarch for my juicy peaches tho. I uploaded a pic but they didn't let me leave a comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Crab Rangoon from PHILADELPHIA®

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These were awesome! I love the idea of skipping the deep frying, that just makes my house stink, and not to mention the fewer calories. I used a mini muffin pan and pre-baked the wontons so they would be crispier. I didn't add the mayo because I love cream cheese and I added a dash of worchestershire, old bay and garlic. Will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Tartar Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I would give it 5 stars but I didn't use the mustard, so I can't rate it correctly. I thought it was wonderful and will use again, often. was better after it sat for an hour. i did notice it was "mayoish" but by the time i used it, the flavors had married and it was great. did use a bit more sweet relish because i was trying to use up the jar, so i eyeballed a little more mayo and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States