Pacific West - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ckrey83

Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I only made the marinade in this recipe. The carne asada came out very tasty! My family really liked this. It's kind of a lot of ingredients and a little time consuming putting it all together but, it was well worth it. The flavor was great. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83

Pico de Gallo

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This came out good. Great accompaniment to my carne asada and Mexican rice! Also good with tortilla chips. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Who knew making your own teriyaki sauce would be so easy?! We did chicken thighs and it came out very tasty. Everyone, including the kids, really liked this. Thanks for the good recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have already made this a few times in the past week! Very good fluffy pancakes! This is my first go at making them from scratch and I'm so glad I tried this! I followed everything to a T and it came out perfect. Who knew it was so easy?! I usually just add some fresh fruit on top but, I've also turned them into cinnamon sugar pancakes and blueberry pancakes. Those came out good as well so, this makes a great base pancake recipe. The kids love it too! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83

Argentinean Chimichurri

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I tasted the sauce by itself and I wasn't too sure about it but, paired with some grilled skirt steak, it was delicious! I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made this a few times now. I didn't try it with maple flavored sausage though. I've used regular breakfast sausage and hot Italian sausage. We poured it on top of biscuits. Yummy! My family enjoyed it, especially my bf who is a biscuits and gravy lover. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Baked Egg Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These are delicious. I made two batches. The first with toasted English muffins, ham and Kraft American singles. I seasoned the eggs with salt, pepper and a sprinkle of garlic powder. To toast the English muffins I split a dozen of them and toasted them under the broiler on a baking sheet. I thought they turned out excellent, though I did have to cook the eggs for about 16-18 minutes and not 8-10 minutes as indicated in the recipe. For the 2nd batch I used Pillsbury home-style biscuits and to the raw eggs I added a pound of browned, drained and cooled Jimmy Dean sage sausage and then baked the egg/sausage mix for about 15 minutes. Then I assembled them with a square of sausagy egg, a Kraft American single and the biscuit. Also delicious! I prefer the English muffin version, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Shuk Shuka

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I made this for breakfast with a couple pieces of wheat bread as I didn't have pita bread. Not only delicious and healthy but an excellent way to use up the abundance of our summer garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
There's always some numbskull who deviates from the recipe, screws it up, and then gives it low marks. This one's a keeper - ignore the goofball who gave it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrDarin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Jalapeno Cream Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These enchiladas turned out awesome. I used a rotisserie chicken, corn tortillas and extra jack cheese. Perfectly spicy and very filling. My tortillas were taco size so the enchiladas were kinda small but both of us could only eat just one. We had beans, rice and guacamole though so that's probably why. Definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

Curry Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Just made a half recipe tonight and eyeballed all the ingredients, and it still turned out good! My curry spice was very hot so the soup was spicy. I also used heavy cream, boy was it rich and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCookGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I usually make blackened salmon, but I had some salmon that had been in my freezer for a while and thought that using a marinade would hide some deficiencies that freezing causes. It worked. This marinade was super easy to prepare, especially since I stuck to the recipe without any alteration in ingredients. I did, however, bake it in the oven rather than grill it. I took the advice of others and cooked it for about 12 minutes at 450 degrees, followed by a couple of minutes at broil. It came out nice and moist and flavorful. It was a nice change from the normal way I cook salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrywdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I love all my veggies done this way only to save the cook top I use a foil lined cookie sheet. Drizzle EVO and spices to taste and bake 375 for your choice tenderness. from 20 to 40 minutes. Brussel sprouts have never been better and asparagus well that will just knock your socks off! SOOO good. Thanks for a well loved recipe.For sweet potatoes give them a bit of softening , then peel and slice and either grill or bake ! Haven`t fried them yet but will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Just made it tonight - cut recipe in half because I only had one pound of shrimp; also did not add hot sauce because my kids are weenies - and it was still a hit! Purchased deveined jumbo shrimp that still had the shells attached, and left them on, per another reviewer. I also forgot to reserve some marinade for basting. However, they stayed nice and plump, and the marinade still penetrated throughout the shrimp. Mom said it was the best meal she had at my home so far, so it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayVi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cookie Brittle

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Shortbread texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Lemon BBQ Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
we can't eat rice around here but we can have quinoa so that is the only change in ingredients that I made to this really tasty and oh so satisfying recipe. I have discovered it is important to use flavors you truly enjoy as in a brand of mayo thats good..we like Kraft better than Best Foods or Hellmanns for instance. and same with bbq sauce, we like Trader Joes Spicy alot.. also was careful to use fresh lemon juice I kinda hate the pre squeezed stuff and Farmland Brand Bacon done extra crispy in the oven. I know I sound picky but it makes such a difference! So,mixed the chicken, lemon juice,celery, olives and 1/4c crumbled bacon together and then made the sauce. poured it over all and let it sit overnight in the fridge. Before serving I mixed in the quinoa and the rest of the bacon. I gotta say we LOVED it. I think it would be fun to serve in hollowed out tomatoes but I just dished it out onto lettuce leaves. we had some sliced cucumbers and tomatoes, bread sticks, and a light fruit salad.. used a little lemon yogurt on blueberries, strawberries and grapes. anyway it was an awesome little luncheon.. thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Popa's Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I have never had pickled eggs before last weekend at the PNW roundup. The recipe creator happened to attend so that was a double bonus. :) These were very good and when I got home, mentioned to my daughter who has chickens, yet another thing to try with her plethora of eggs. She asked me to send her the recipe, thought I would leave a review for them also as long as I was here. Count on me making some of my own. Can't wait to see what it does to a potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Corn On The Cob (Easy Cleaning and Shucking)

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I've been doing this for awhile but so glad to see it posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Westlake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
all in all the recipe was simple to make and enjoyable to eat with corn chips. i did however add a larger variety of vegetables and doubled the amount of liquids to make it more of a soup. add siracha sauce for more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
since i cant decide on what this recipe deserves i will award it 4 stars. i made it for my birthday and topped it with butter cream icing. maybe it would be five stars if i paired it with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States