Pacific West - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

No Tomato Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
DISCLAIMER: I won't be cooking this recipe. "No Tomato" should mean no tomatoes in the recipe. This should be "No Chunky Tomato Chili." Most American chili sauces like Heinz use a tomato base. If you are allergic to tomatoes this is not the recipe for you. Unless you use an Asian brand chili sauce like Sriracha, but that is probably not the intention of this cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Beverstock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by derbaker

Shortcut Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Flavor was good, hard not to mess up on that with bottled sauce. The recipe doesn't specify the type (boil or no boil) noodles, so I used boil type so not much time saved for me. However, my family ate and liked it so we may have this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by derbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossibly Easy Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is a recipe my mother in-law introduced me to and it is a family go to on busy weeknights! My husband always has a smile on his face when I tell him it's what's on the menu and even the pickiest toddler in my family will eat it up. I use slow cooked chicken and frozen peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMargaretAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Roast With The World's Best Pork Loin Rub

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
i don't know if this was the best rub i've ever had but it was super good.. i was craving something spicy and this was peppery enough to help curb the craving.. i left out the brown sugar and white sugar.. scaled this down to 2 servings and wanted more like a marinade so i added 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar and some canola oil.. this was so good on the grill.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I haven't tried this yet. An interesting egg alternative (though veg oil would work fine as suggested)I found is something called a "Flax Egg". I might try that for grins. 1 Tbsp Flax Meal and 2.5 Tbsp water. Oil would probably be better, but I like to try new things...until I find they're scrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Style Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Absolutely the best meatloaf recipe. I don't care for meatloaf but changed my mind after this recipe. We had leftovers so gave the rest to our neighbors. Their kids normally don't eat meat but ate all of it and asked for more. The only change I made based on other reviews was replaced the ketchup for pasta sauce. Will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Playa Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Kelly's Hot Hash

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is delish stuff. The bitterness of the kale rally goes well with the buffalo sauce.. I used the Red Hot stuff. My only change was leaving out the zucchini because I used them all up in soup accidentally.. so I added a few more carrots and some celery. For non Paleo folks, sweet potato or yam in this would be wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Ruth Cullen's Green Bean Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
A great way to liven up a can of green beans. I didn't really notice the brown sugar. This would go well as a bbq side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Bacon and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Duh people...this isn't milky and creamy because there isn't any MILK in the ingredient list!! OK, rant over. This soup's ingredient list is perfect as written!!!!!!! I changed the procedure a little bit: I cut the raw bacon into small pieces before frying them in the pan; drained on paper towel. Then I removed all but about 2 tablespoons of the bacon fat and sauteed the veggies in the fat then added the potatoes, stock & pepper. I let the soup simmer for about 45 minutes then used my immersible blender to make it a little smoother, but I did leave a fair amount of potato and carrot pieces. Then I added the bacon pieces. I served it into bowls with cheese on the side to add on the top of the soup. NO salt was added, and I used Knorr Chicken Stock...which was not low-salt. Next time I would use a low-salt stock or broth as the husband and I agreed that it was a bit salty (my own fault). The recipe is a keeper...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana

A Healthy Egg Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Don't let the amount of chives scare you off. Chives are great in egg salad and when scaled back to 2 servings it is only 2 whole eggs + 1 egg white and 1 Tablespoon of chives. I did use 3 whole eggs as I didn't know what I would use just one yolk for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Taco Salad II

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I have been making a very similar version of this dish for decades. It was my children's favorites, and now all three serve it to their families! The only difference is that I add a small can of drained pinto beans to the salad, we use Cool Ranch or Nacho Doritos (crushed), and I add some PicoPica or Taco Bell mild sauce to the french dressing. Really jazzes up the flavor! And no, you can't refrigerate this overnight with the chips. When I take this to a potluck or other type of shared-meal event, I always wait to add the chips until I arrive, just before we eat. I usually place the dressing on the side, too. This is still a family favorite, especially in the summer, and I only gave it four stars because I think the addition of the flavored chips and adding the hot sauce into the dressing really adds to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana

Hearty Irish Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I have had this recipe in my recipe box for 2 years and finally decided to make it to give it a 'face'. I took a little liberty with this one. I cooked the potatoes in the broth with the soy sauce & ginger. I also added a little white pepper, about 1/4 tsp. Once the potatoes were done I used an immersion blender to blend the potatoes into the broth which thickened it. Then added the green onion. I couldn't bring myself to add the tomato, that just didn't sound good to me. Overall this was really good. I would consider adding a little corn, frozen peas or even very finely diced carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
The chicken was really good and flavorful however the sauce was terrible. My 13 year old liked it but the other 5 kids didn't. well not make sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asia S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Fantastic!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

walnut orange dressing recipe | salad recipes | salad dressing recipes

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
http://thatsmyhome.com/simplysalads/walora/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
THE BEST stew ever! We love this recipe. No changes, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Meltaways

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Best eaten the day baked. I was ready to give them a 5 yesterday but didn't get around to it. Today they taste just a little off but still good. I tripled the zest in the cookie to ensure a strong lemon flavor. Used a lemon glaze instead of tbe buttercream. I think low ratings may be due in part to bakers using bottled lemon juice or lemon extract instead of fresh and/or not using zest. Use FRESH lemon people. There is no comparison. No problem with them crumbling; baked on parchment and cooled on the cookie sheet before moving them. Can't wait to try an orange version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Asparagus

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I LOVE this pot roast. We've made it at least 10X and it's PERFECT every time. So easy it's ridiculous. I do sear the roast on all sides before putting in the pot, use red wine in place of the water, and deglaze the searing pan with a little more red wine. Still only takes about 10 minutes to get this going. I am a gravy maniac and it blows my mind how good this gravy is, especially since it's SO simple. You know you've got to make mashed potatoes with this. I've served it several times for company but will never tell my guests how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mermaid369

Linguine with Clam Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I have been making this recipe about once a month for at least 5 years. I use FAR less butter and oil, and usually add extra clam juice and a little hot sauce or a finely minced hot chili. Sometimes I'll saute a bit of garlic and onion at the beginning, and add a little alfredo. Often I make it just as it is here. We keep a few cans of clams and linguine on hand at all times, because this is one of our "Yummy dinner in 15 minutes" standbys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States