Visalia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamy Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made in square brownie pan and it turned out great! Added cinnamon and extra sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmendenhall27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by KelliKamehaiku

Tater Tot Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is the 2nd time I made this recipe and everyone loved it so much, we didn't have ANY leftovers! I did what some others said and put the potatoes on the top so they could be more crunchy. I also added broccoli, parmesan cheese, and bacon to it and it was amazing! My favorite casserole so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliKamehaiku

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KelliKamehaiku

Pork Tenderloin with Mustard Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I decided to cook my pork in the slow cooker with this recipe. Since the juices need about 8 hours to mix well anyways, I figured why not mix while they're cooking. It turned out amazing! The meat started to fall apart and it tasted like candy. Everyone loved it as well! So glad I used the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliKamehaiku

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stock

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
While stock is good, less than 2 cups was the yield. That was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Bell Trimble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the second year that I have made this stuffing, it's amazing!!! I omit the liver, and I don't cook it in the turkey, I cook it in a 9x13 casserole dish. I add extra turkey or chicken stock to it when I pop it in the oven, and cover it with foil for the first 1/2 of the cooking time. Stir it when I take the foil off, and then it will get slightly browned and crispy on top when it finishes. I also made mine the day before, take it out that morning at let it get to room temp before I bake it so it wouldn't take forever. I just didn't add the broth and butter until it was time to bake it. My biggest suggestion, is to use pork sausage. The first year I used pork sausage and it was more flavorful and moist. This year I decided to go by the recipe and I used the turkey sausage and it wasn't as good. Still a great recipe, but it's SO much better with the pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe hands down beats your average "green bean casserole" with canned mushroom soup. I used fresh green beans, boiled them till they were barely tender, also sautéed the onion in olive oil, I also added about 1/3 of the cheese to the bean/sour cream mixture, and I topped it with the crackers and a can of fried onions. It turned out superb, everyone loved it!!! I think next time I will try it with jack or Swiss cheese, because the sharpness if the cheddar cheese kind of took over the dish, but it was still great. I made mine the day before, took it out and let it get to room temp that morning, and just added the topping before I put it in the oven to save time on thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!!! I read a lot of reviewers suggestions, and I decided not to add the white sugar to the sweet potatoes since they are so sweet naturally. I didn't want it to be too much like a dessert. I baked 3 large sweet potatoes in the oven for 2 hours, as other reviewers suggested, and they were very flavorful. I followed the recipe to the tee, and I thought it was great. I could have handled doubling the topping, but it didn't need it. The topping had a great caramelization, it was delicious!! I made mine the day before, and just added the topping before I baked it to save time in the kitchen on thanksgiving. This recipe is a keeper!! Next time I will probably sprinkle a little cinnamon and nutmeg on the top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
They were good, but just a bit too rich for me. You could REALLY taste the cream cheese flavor. I loved everything about this recipe... Boiling the potatoes in bullion was so smart. I liked the idea of using both sour cream and cream cheese, I have always used sour cream and heavy whipping cream for extra creaminess. If I try this recipe again, I think I will cut the cream cheese in 1/2, otherwise I'll omit the cream cheese altogether will only use sour cream and heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PumpkinPie

Turkey Pot Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is an outstanding recipe, perfect for holiday leftovers!!! And easy to make also. I added a 1/2 bag of frozen peas and just let them defrost in a bowl and added the to the turkey concoction right before I added it to the crust. I almost did it with a refrigerated pie crust, but the crust is seriously the best part of a pot pie, so I made a butter pie crust. It only took an extra time, was so amazing, and showcased all of the flavor perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Its awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pain de Campagne - Country French Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This actually came out very good. I did it just out of boredom one day and I was surprised good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Best frosting for home made cinnamon rolls EVER ! If I could bow to you I would Maestro !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Runzas (Bierocks)

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Amazing thank you for the recipe. I remember these from when I was a kid and it took a lot of searching before I found this. "mostly because I was spelling it wrong lol ! " great recipe the only thing I did different " I added about 1/2 cup of some good german lagger an then slowly cooked it off before stuffing the Bierock excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls II

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Excellent cinnamon rolls ! a total hit with every one ! BTW use this in combo with the Cream Cheese Frosting II for the most killer Breakfast Lunch & Dinner combo ever !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very pretty to look at but not a lot of flavor. I used olive oil, maybe that was my mistake, would recommend using regular veg. oil instead. Probably wont try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda Guzman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

Grandma's Fudge Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Great recipe! This is what I did different: Used only 2 1/2 cups sugar, and only about 3/4 the can of evap. milk. Also I alternated adding the sugar and milk into the pan, it kept the thickness more even. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is incredible! I get compliments every time, but here is what I do different: I add a touch of milk to the recipe and I do a crumb topping that includes butter for the top... I also have baked in within a couple of hours instead of letting it sit overnight and it still turns out moist and delicious! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal!!!!! I am from the Central Coast of Caligornia where we all take our BBQ very seriously, and Santa Maria Style is always the way to go. I also love trying new things in the kitchen, so I was anxious to try this after reading all of the good reviews, and another local persons positive feedback. I followed thisgurlloves2cook's exact suggestion and it turned out perfect. I cut the salt in half and of course used Kosher. I only had time to let it rest for about 7 hours, and I can't wait to do it again and marinate it overnight. it was tender,juicy, and sooooo flavorful!!! Tri tip has forever changed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
they came out amazing, just dont do like my wife did and accidentally pick up franks habenero hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sourdough Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
awesome pancakes that add some thing difference from the average and the norm, the flavor all depends on your starter on this one so some can have great experiences and others may have bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States