San Diego - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chili Relleno Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I used 3 fresh pasilla chiles. I scorched them (not burned) on the grill, put them in a bowl covered with saran wrap for 20 minutes , then peeled the skin off and took out the seeds. I chopped them and mixed them with the jack cheese and egg mixture. I found that on 400 you only need to cook the casserole for 20 minutes or 350 for 30 minutes. Added 1 small can of tomato sauce on top and sprinkled a handful of cheddar cheese and cooked it for 10 additional minutes at 375. I also cooked it in a slightly smaller pan. My husband who doesn't even care for chili relleno loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R&R
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
This is really good! I always bake cheesecakes in a water bath and I had no problems with cracking. This came out so smooth and creamy. I only wish the coffee flavor was a little stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

3-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
For three simple ingredients I really liked these cookies. I added a dash of vanilla and used natural peanut butter. I split the recipe in half since it was my first time making these and they baked up beautifully. I would make these again in a pinch for a quick late night snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Talena

Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
This is a pie you need to make a day in advance and serve chilled. The flavors really come through the second day. My family liked this so much they wouldn't let me share a slice with the neighbor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
The sauce was delicious! I made this as directed but doubled the sauce to make sure we had enough. I'm going to try this over chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Tomato Soup (No Cream)

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I made this tonight using sourdough bread from Boudin's Bakery. And an immersion blender makes blending soups so much easier - no transferring between pot and blender that way. Highly recommend this recipe!! The fresh basil adds such great flavor that I wouldn't substitute for dried unless you absolutely must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyjojoe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iola, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

Slow Cooker Hearty Mixed Bean Stew with Sausage

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
We don't eat sausage so I left it out and added tomato sauce and a green bell pepper. This is a complete meal itself and super easy to make, not to mention the house smells amazing when you come home from work or school in the afternoon. I suggest serving it with a small side salad and fresh warm bread from the oven. This is a perfect fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Great with green chiles, but next time saute the veggies a little longer and a little less cayenne. Yet Chef John does it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Chewy Peanut Butter Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Made these for my cousins bday. Got rave reviews! Only thing I did different was added chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

Kung Pao Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
I made this as written (without the chili to make it kid friendly) and thought it was okay. There wasn't enough sauce and the chicken stuck to the pan when cooking. Next time I'll try some of the changes posted by other reviewers and use less corn starch, double the sauce, and add veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Sourdough Starter

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
The best starter! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Sourdough Starter II

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I was reluctant to make bread from scratch, but now I'm hooked! Thank you so much for this recipe. In order to keep the starter in perpetual motion, it's important to replace the starter quantity used that day with a fresh batch of flour and water (equal amounts, for example 1 cup water and 1 cup flour) with 2 pinches of sugar mixed in. My "baby" likes to nap in the oven with the oven light on time to time. Get a feel for your kitchen. I actually glance at my thermometer and barometer for a quick reading. Experiment, record and see what works best for you. Every kitchen is different; and your kitchen's atmosphere is different everyday. ;) Remember: the more time your starter has to sit, the more characteristic the flavor. Lastly, don't be afraid of that wonderful, powerful odor and layer of brown liquid. This will give you that coveted sourdough taste! Yummy! I've been keeping this original going for almost 6 weeks now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Photo by Phyllis Anne

Anise Biscotti

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Thank you, Laria! This is an outstanding recipe. I make my own anise extract. Also, I use Remy VSOP. Lastly, I doubled (or more, accordingly) the anise seeds. Try to buy good quality seeds as inferior seeds tend to be bitter. I like to gently crush the seeds between my fingers to release the lovely aroma before adding to the mixture. These cookies can burn easily so watch carefully. Cut with a sawing motion to avoid breaking this delicious cookie! You will want to eat every single crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Breakfast Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Easy and delicious. I had peaches that needed some attention so I diced them into tiny bits & added 1 cup to my batter. Also added 1 extra Tbsp sugar + 1 tsp vanilla per previous reviewers suggestions (seriously, you guys are the best). Sweet & moist with an almost floral fragrance from the peaches. My batch didn't brown, but they're not contestants in the muffin beauty pageant so I don't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phyllis Anne

San Francisco Sourdough Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Absolutely wonderful recipe! I have made this delicious bread several times and shared it with many friends. They all love it as well! I substituted the milk for 1/2 cup of half and half combined with 1/2 cup of water. I found this to produce a lovely texture. Also, cornmeal lightly sprinkled on the bottom of the baking pan adds character. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Photo by Talena

Strawberry Pie II

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I followed others suggestions to only use 1/4 of the strawberries in the simple syrup and was happy with the results although this pie really needs more than 1 quart of strawberries. The filling didn't come close to reaching the top of the pie crust leaving a lot more crust than pie. Next time I will use at least 1 more pint of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I wanted to make an Alfredo sauce, but didn't have heavy cream on hand which I usually use, so came on here and thought perhaps the cream cheese would make a tasty sauce (though perhaps not an authentic Alfredo sauce.) Some negative reviewers say their cream cheese curdled...cream cheese will not actually curdle/go bad, though it might separate and the texture of the sauce might have some lumps...In my sauce I used butter and the cream cheese did separate a bit when initially added but when I added the milk and my freshly-grated Parmesan it all melted smoothly together. One thing is probably key...use freshly grated Parmesan cheese. That junk that is pregrated has ingredients in it to prevent it from clumping together in the package, which also prevents the cheese from melting smoothly in a sauce recipe (same with other pregrated or preshredded cheeses...these are okay as toppings for things like tacos, but terrible for melting/using in sauces). This recipe didn't taste overwhelmingly of cream cheese, imho, as some stated, it wasn't quite "Authentic Alfredo" either, but it was a nice, tasty, creamy, easy sauce with ingredients I almost always have on hand so I will likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misa Rillo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
John's recipes are always homeruns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
Way to much sugar. Over whelmed my lovely sweet ripe organic peaches. I had to double the crust recipe to cover 5 large peaches. Like another suggested it's best to dice up larger pieces of peaches. I also use a product called sure gel, it makes a perfect consistancy for pie juices because it doesn't break down under heat like corn starch does. I don't think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler!

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I adid not care for the cinnamon. The bake time is more like 35 minutes. Also, the dough needs some salt. Three stars for being super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaeveAlleine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States