San Diego - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Delicious Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Made as directed....delicious! Will be making again for Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Strawberry Bellini

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I was able to use up fresh strawberries for an evening drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Nicole S.

Beef Lo Mein

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I liked this. I pretty much followed the recipe, but I did double the sauce. I seasoned my skirt steak with fajita seasonings and cooked it out on the grill for about six minutes a side. I used snow peas, carrots, red onion, and bits of broccoli tossing in some green onions and cilantro at the end. Served with egg rolls and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dairy Princess

Caramel for Apples

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe tasted terrific. But totally failed as a caramel dip.... Evidence. Caramel did not dip. I am a experienced cook. This did not work... So sad I wasted my time making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Joi Johansen

Garlic Croutons

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Easy and quick. And I haven't bought croutons since discovering this recipe. I store them in a recycled glass sauce jar. And there always fresh. Extra toppings...sprinkle parmesan cheese on before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joi Johansen
Home Town: Solvang, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Terrific! I bake in a pan instead of muffin tin. Sprinkle with a little bit of white sugar on top before baking to give a 'crinkle' look. A standard for our family. You can change it up too, by adding your favorite chopped nut and/or cranberries or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macaroni and Cheese Southern Style

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Came out dry with grease floating on top. Maybe only 30 minutes cook time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joi Johansen
Home Town: Solvang, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

Homemade Strawberry Nectar

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this with apple cider. I like the suggestion of also adding ginger ale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Caramels

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Mmmm, these turned out so good! I had made another Caramel candy which turned out perfectly smooth, but kind of boring in flavor, and I wanted to try something new. I love the brown sugar flavor in these. I did read at David Lebovitz's blog that brown sugar (b/c of the moisture, I think) can cause the texture to suffer in caramels, but I am either not observant enough or I didn't care. These had the richer, deeper flavor that I was after. I cooked them to 244 degrees per reviewers recommendations, and they are soft and chewy the next day. This will be my go to caramel recipe now. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portuguese Sweet Bread I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neeceeusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Avalon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I had high hopes for these cookies but unfortunately they didnt turn out well. They stay soft and are difficult to handle. The taste is good but are not a cookie you could share at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Ghirardelli® Magic Cookie Bars

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
YUMMM! I made these omitting the nuts and coconut (allergies) but since it's fall I mixed 1/2 cup pumpkin and some pumpkin pie spice into the the evaporated milk before pouring onto grahams. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kandyb23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This soup is terrific! We don't eat meat, and I wanted to use items in my kitchen, so these are the changes: I used "I can't believe it's not butter", sliced 3 carrots (for color and because I really like them), Used 3 Tbls. of "Better than Bouillon", and used almost 4 cups of 1% milk with a cup of buttermilk, some of which I pureed and added, and I lightly steamed some broccoli and added that. I only added pepper, since the broth was very flavorful on its own! Will definitely be making this all through the fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie Squares

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
After reading all the reviews I decided to make as directed with no changes. Came out great! I will definitely make again. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Wow. I have never made lemon bars before but love them. These were so easy and tasted terrific. Followed other suggestions and used the 2/3 cup lemon juice plus extra flour. Everyone loved thse. I will make these again and again. So much tastier than the box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Wow. I have never made lemon bars before but love them. These were so easy and tasted terrific. Followed other suggestions and used the 2/3 cup lemon juice plus extra flour. Everyone loved thse. I will make these again and again. So much tastier than the box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, using all organic ingredients, and it was wonderful!!! My husband, who was a little leery of the capers at first, loved it and said he definitely wanted this as a regular meal. It was so simple. I did not double the sauce, as others suggested, because I was pretty certain my 6 year old's wouldn't like it, so hubby and I got their portion! (They did try a bite with the sauce, but preferred just the chicken). I saw where some reviewers used milk or half and half then added cornstarch or flour... I can't imagine that being anywhere near as good. Served with brown rice and steamed broccoli and carrots. Probably one of my favorite chicken recipe's from this site so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisGG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

En-light-ened Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I found it is a little different than most chocolate chip cookies since it calls for applesauce. I used a homemade applsauce from AllRecipes that I recently made so it was fun to incorporate another recipe into making these cookies. The cookies brown so beautifully and the cookies come out soft and cake like. They were easy to remove from the baking sheet thanks to the Pam baking spray. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Getting ready to do this for a second family reunion and they disappeared the first time so making a double bunch! Added a little hot turkey sausage....very little.....and put a cranberry in the middle as a surprise: Big hit! Made them about 3/4" each as an appetizer with picks. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Carroll

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Moist Holiday Honeycake

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
So MOIST! Followed the recipes exactly. I used a standard Bundt pan and the battered overflowed dramatically. Next time I will use a Bundt pan AND a small loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States