California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by bd.weld

Zippy Tuna

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
A quick and easy recipe with a rare combination of ingredients however they do deliver a delightful flavor. This does have somewhat of a yellow appearance so I just tell people it's yellow fin tuna. Perfect as an appetizer on crackers or on a sandwich with sliced onion. Can be easily tweaked with diced celery, onions or even jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by just_jam

Mainely Fish

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
i used this as a base for what to make with the swai we got on sale (yay for Lent).. i used the veggies we had in the fridge (tomato, red bell pepper, yellow squash, mexican squash, green onion) and followed the advice about laying it on a bed of spinach.. i seasoned the fish with lemon pepper and kosher salt and i didn't follow the portions for everything else as i was adding and subtracting certain ingredients.. i'm not a huge fan of steaming fish but this tasted like something i'd come up with on a whim.. i think i would have liked it more if it was made on the stovetop somehow.. this is more of a 3.5 star dish for me, but bf loved it so it gets a 4.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Beef Panini with Caramelized Shallots and Roquefort

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
These were yummy. I used feta because I was out of Roquefort. And the horseradish cream was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was very good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
The flavor was excellent (!), but it was a little softer than I'd like it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamra Scott-Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swampland Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this cheesecake exactly as written and took it to work. I had a sliver in the morning just to taste it. By the time I got back for a proper piece with my lunch, it was gone. I'll have to make another to keep home. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pegues

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Vegan Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very good. I made it a second time adding carrots and celery and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Watermelon and Bell Pepper Slush

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised how well the watermelon and bell pepper went together. I will make this again for a quick and refreshing slush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Basic Creole Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I am the author of this recipe and would like to respond to Vincef329. Thank you for your keen insight into this recipe. I will give you the carrot comment. The carrot is not required. The other optional ingredients were a nod to French Classic cooking and perhaps TMI (too much information) and overwhelming in this recipe. In the meantime, I have been introduced to a Creole seasoning called "Slap Ya'Mama" as well as Emeril's "Bayou Blast". Using either one of those will get you where you need to go as far as seasoning. I now have an account called "Fancy Nancy" and per your suggestion, I will rewrite a recipe for that site. Thank you Vincef329.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Excellent! I did add a small (8oz) can of tomato sauce and used bell pepper instead of celery. I got requests to have it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Farro Salad with Sweet Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Thx for that lovely picture LilSnoo, I'm so glad you enjoyed this recipe; yes the vinaigrette makes plenty so add what you need and there's extra if you are wanting to make it a day ahead, it tends to absorb some. ~ One thing was left out of the directions, after mixing the vinaigrette, you want to put it in the fridge to chill. Also in my notes is says you can switch the apples for celery, but I prefer it with both added. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Lime Cilantro Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I love having this with balsamic vinegar and honey baked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Roasted asparagus is my favorite way to eat this vegetable now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
As someone who doesn't eat veggie burgers regularly, this recipe is super simple and easy to make and goes with a lot of different topping options. We topped ours with a corn salsa, guacamole, onions, tomato, a fried egg, jalapeno-muenster cheese, sriracha garlic chili paste, and sauteed jalapenos. This pairs well with the Quinoa and Black Beans recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I used 2 slices of bacon per breast half since I always cook large chicken breasts. After butterflying the chicken I pounded it out slightly so as to make them large enough to take all of the spinach mixture since I used just 2 breast halves. I held them together with tooth picks. Instead of plain Feta I always use the herbed kind, it adds so much more flavor to anything, also I used cracked black pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
this was so delicious and fresh tasting.. we're not puerto rican so we didn't really care if it was truly authentic or not.. just so long as it tasted good! i felt like one pound of drumsticks wouldn't be enough (equaled out to only 3) so i added one more and a thigh equaling about 2 lbs.. i doubled the sazon (i found a recipe for it on another site) but should have also doubled the adobo but i was worried it would have been too salty per other reviewers.. i also omitted the additional salt knowing we could salt to taste at the end.. i didn't double all the other ingredients as i wanted it to be more of a stew and less soupy like others said it was.. i used 2 medium russetts and 3 heirloom carrots, making sure to very thickly chop them up.. our cilantro bunch was on the large side so we just used half.. next time i'd use double the adobo to accomodate for the extra chicken and add black pepper while cooking since our adobo doesn't have any.. i just cooked it in our dutch oven on the stove top since i didn't have 6 hours to put it in the crockpot.. either way, i'd love to try this again soon.. bf absolutely loved it.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast with Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this as written except that I also added salt and pepper to my buffalo roast before searing. My roast was not fully defrosted when I started searing and I put it in a crock pot on high for 5 hours and then low/warm after that and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

Italian Sausage and Peppers with Penne

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Always easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very nice soup - love the flavor and it's beautiful! I'll definitely make it again. Great for a group. Served with fococcia bread & salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Dewitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana

Mexican Tomato-Flavored Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
We really like rice done with the tomato-flavored bouillon powder. (You will find it next to the chicken bouillon at the market) I can't speak to the ratio of water to rice as I used my rice cooker. Frying the rice in a bit of oil in the rice cooker and then adding the water to the correct line and the tomato bouillon. Very nice rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States