California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Melt in Your Mouth Pralines

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
There are a few problems with this recipe. Do not use confectioners sugar. The cornstarch turns it into a messy ball. Instead use all white if you prefer a lighter color or half brown, half white if you like them darker. Also, skip the soda if you do not like chalky pralines. If you skip the soda up the salt in the recipe to 1/4 teaspoon. Secondly, cut the pecans back to one cup otherwise you will have candied nuts. Don't forget to toast the pecans as this brings out their lovely flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Not my favorite. They didn't seem flavorful enough to me. Not sure what needs to change, but not willing to tweak to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Cherry Tomatoes, Marinated Chicken Breast and Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
While I really believe Barillo pastas are some of the best, I've been less than enthused with their recipes. I used 8 ounces of pasta and that was too much in proportion to the other ingredients. The chicken, broccoli and cherry tomatoes were lost in the pasta. The flavors where trying hard to "come through", inspite of the 6 cloves of garlic and triple thyme I used. Salt and pepper were sorely needed, which I did add. We have been eating whole grain pasta since it was introduced and loving it. We appreciate the extra fiber and protein it offers. Thank you, Barillo, for your fine productsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Barb's Firecrackers

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is really good, quick & easy! With that said I think this recipe is a great base to start with and you can add or delete what you want. I used black bean refried beans mixed with taco seasoning and a little salsa, added some shredded cheddar on top of the beans and the cream cheese guacamole mixture on top of that. Yummy! Oh yes, the cream cheese guacamole mixture is a genius idea, tastes great and keeps the guacamole from turning that unappealing brown color..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amandabb
Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I replaced lard with vegetable shortening and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA
Living In: Stateline, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Nom nom nom. We used a yellow cake and followed the recommendation to use the Whip Cream Vanilla frosting....take the 8oz of cool whip, fold a package of instant vanilla pudding, 1c milk and 1 tsp of vanilla and it was so perfect. Not just for the 4th....all sorts of fruits can be used....kiwi, blackberry, raspberry, boysenberry - etc. We kept the left over frosting for a dip. Super moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I personally was not a fan...there was not much taste and I think part of it was because it would be better with the skin on, but I removed it. Maybe I'll make another attempt and add more paprika and some cayenne or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Outstanding. I followed the recommendation of sub the onion for green onions. Instead of 2 cups may...use 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. Added in some sharp cheddar cheese and it was PERFECT. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent taco filling. I suggest this to anyone who is learning to replace meaty meals with tasty meatless options either for health or to save money...this is not only tasty but extremely cheap to make, and lentils are a good source of fiber and protein too! I added organic frozen corn kernels and some black beans to the filling as well. Just be sure to check your package of lentils: mine called for 40 minutes of covered simmer time. I checked them at 30 minutes and they were still a tad hard so let them go the extra time. I don't think I'll ever make tacos with ground meat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*

Vanilla Frozen Yogurt

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Ideal vanilla fro-yo. Tastes exactly like you expect it should. Sweet enough yet not too sweet and perfect vanilla flavor. Simple recipe is very easy to make with my Cuisinart ice cream maker and retained a nice soft consistency after many hours in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*

Maria's Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a fantastic rice! I went with my instincts and doubled the cumin and halved the salt. It would have been far too salty for us and our toddler especially. The bouillon provides plenty of salt. Skipped the serrano since I hadn't realized mine were no longer fresh enough. With these changes, I think this is the new go-to Mexi-rice recipe for our house! I'll have to try it with the chile next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Churros

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Perfect and easy! The recipe is very clearly written and works like a charm. I didn't want to get out the piping bag so I just made thin little pancake shapes and they fried up wonderfully. If you do this, make sure they are thin or the middles don't cook through (they were tasty anyway and there's nothing in them that makes the raw dough dangerous). People who had trouble with them browning too quickly: your oil is too hot. It's not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

homemade tater salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
mmmmm good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma's cookbook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Paicines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing No Cook Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Doubled the recipe. Perfect!Fabulous... Im sure the original was even better but circumstances caused me to alter a little. Used one can of artichoke cause it's 3.50 for 14oz. Kept the juice and added it to spinach mix (called artichoke mix) in instructions. Oh and of course salted and peppered to taste. (White pepper) I only altered for amount and cost. So follow the original if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendollyn Freemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA
Living In: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado, Tomato and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Outstanding mango salsa! I did half the onion, but made as written otherwise. Thanks for the recipe FHIVESHOT a definite keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free Vanilla Banana Pops

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I didn't find this to be a good consistency and it lacked overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I marinated sirloin kebabs in this winning marinade recipe, for my brother and his family. He called after they finished dinner to say that these were the best he has ever had. The meat was flavorful and tender, a good endorcement for sirloin steak. He also said that it reminded him of the best beef kebabs he had in Parker, AZ over 20 years ago! Wow! Thank you, Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is on the sweet side, but I used it in another recipe so it worked fine. There is another recipe on AR that is more tart that if you want a more tart curd, other than that it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by ELBE

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was fantastic. My boys loved it. Quick and easy to make. Doubled the batch for jumbo muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pistachio Crusted Rack of Lamb

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Prepared this recipes to celebrate my wedding anniversary. Easy to prepare. Exceeded expectations. Met with rave reviews by my family...especially by my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States