California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is so good! The lemon zest & juice add a nice freshness to the pesto. I subbed walnuts for the pine nuts. I made this to use as the pesto for AR Tenna's Spicy Pesto Chicken recipe. It looked & smelled so good, I could not wait. I use a piece of french bread to clean out the food processor. This would be great on pizza, as a dip mixed with some goat cheese or ricotta & of course over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I too am from Hawai'i. This is the recipe that we always use and it rocks. I serve it with coconut rice and either stewed cabbage or collard greens. I will post those recipies, very simple ones soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Patty Cakes

Sour Cream Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
These enchiladas come together in a New York minute with the help of, what I used, was a roasted chicken from the deli. And the fact that it also uses tortilla chips is a bonus that I have been doing for Years! I mean who doesn't have an open bag of chips that are quickly sliding toward the trash can? Why not repurpose them before pitching them? And if you have leftover chicken, this casserole is a dream for cleaning out that fridge! The only thing that would make this better is having a fried egg on top of each serving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I did change the recipe to taste. I always swap out Worcestershire for A-1 Steak Sauce because I don't like anything made with anchovies. For a nice sticky BBQ sauce use honey in place of most of the brown sugar. I gave this 3 stars due to the lack of a smoke source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Victoria Sponge Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
After tasting the cake I understood why it was Queen Victoria cake It is really very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by byGilles

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Debbie Lopez

Kale and Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made using spinach instead of kale as that is what DH brought home. That being said this made a nice very light breakfast for us. I might try making it without the maple syrup next time as it was a bit sweet for my taste but DH thought the sweetness was just right. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes

Mexican Gump

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was just totally yummy!! Super quick and great for a busy weeknight dinner. I thought it would be fun to serve it with Doritos, they stand up to the dish just fine! Next time I would like to add some chorizo for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Amish Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is the bread recipe I have been looking for! A simple 5 ingredient bread that comes out perfect in my little bread machine. I have tried many other recipes, including the one that came with my bread machine, and always get a dry bread. This bread is moist, with a wonderful crust that melts in your mouth. The extra step of resetting your machine to start, giving it an extra rise, really makes this bread a notch above. I set my machine for 1 1/2 lbs, as the recipe states, but actually get a larger loaf. I make a loaf about every other day. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Homemade Tamales

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was great and made me feel accomplished at my first attempt at tamales. The masa-lard-chicken stock (didn't have pork) mixture turned out really well. The chicken in the chili sauce was so awesome. I will keep working at the recipe and by the time my kid comes home, i can try it out on him, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great in tacos & enchiladas. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Gate, California, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
We are not teriyaki fans, but we really enjoyed this. I boiled two frozen breasts in the sauce for about 30 minutes and then finished them off in the oven while I let the sauce reduce. Served over quinoa and broccoli. My 16 month old could not get enough broccoli because it was covered in sauce, bonus! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Cherry Tomatoes, Marinated Chicken Breast and Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious.. I had some homemade pesto in the freezer so I used that instead of jarred. No fresh thyme.. so I used fresh basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Slow Cooker Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I had some ground meat and was undecided what to make for dinner. I browsed a few recipes and found this one. I tweaked it a little by adding half a Tbsp of brown sugar & 3 cloves of minced garlic , left out the vinegar & celery salt. It was wonderful!!! My boyfriend loved it. Will be making this one again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

PB-n-J Cups

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Simple yet so amazing! This is a fun snack to whip up. I made this recipe using natural peanut butter and raw honey in extra large baking cups so I am able to pull one out of the freezer and slice it into pieces for a family snack. I will be making this recipe again, thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I love cheesecake so I figured these would fit the craving. They were pretty good and I would make them again. HOWEVER, they seemed to have a way too much butter because after I baked them the melted butter pooled on top of the crescent dough which was kinda gross. I did half the recipe and used a 8x8 pan, so maybe this was the root of the problem, but I find that hard to believe. After the bars cooled the butter soaked in. I don't mind a lot of butter in a recipe if it fits its purpose. I would probably use half the butter dotted on top next time. You could probably get away with skipping it altogether and just sprinkling the top with cinnamon-sugar to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

Creamy Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Blueberries are abundant and inexpensive this year and before I ran out of room in my freezer I decided to make a pie. I was going to make a regular blueberry pie until I saw this recipe and gave it a try. I made it as written, no substitutes, additions, or deletions, and it is FABULOUS! I look forward to using cherries or peaches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawndale, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
It doesn't get easier or better then this! This one is going into the recipe box for a quick recipe for when I get a chocolate craving! And since cake mix often goes on sale for a $1 I can stock up next time and get creative with flavor combos. This time I used Dunkin Hines chocolate cake mix and added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp of instant coffee. After they cooled (too soft to eat out of oven) I liked zapping in the microwave for 10sec to get that out of oven goodness effect. I also tried them with Nutella spead on top....OMG addicting! Maybe its better you don't try it cause you'll be hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross

Campanelle with Cabbage and Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Started with the best quality ingredients: Imported Parmesan cheese, Colavita EVOO and Barilla Pasta. Also used country style ribs, marinated overnight in fresh Rosemary. The cabbage turned a pretty shade of green when it was cooked. If you don't care for or can't eat pork, lamb would work well and taste nice with this pasta. I really like this recipe. It's a definite five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

Pico De Gallo

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I really liked this but had to modify due to not having garlic powder/salt & jalapeños. I used a garlic clove that I had and a different type of pepper that I had that is green but not a jalapeño. I also added lime juice for a kick but you were right, once you have this with Mexican food, you won't want to be without it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Yumm!! Who knew BBQ chicken pizza could be so easy!! I used left over chicken and added a bit of bbq sauce to it, and omitted the pepperchinis. I used cheese on hand, mozzarella and cheddar. Layered and cooked as it says, came out GREAT!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRAROGERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States