California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blueberry Walnut Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a yummy salad. I often serve it for dinner with grilled chicken or salmon on the top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Italian Easter Pizza

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Gosh this was good. I didnt have enough sausage so I made up the difference with a little turkey pepperoni. Added a little more seasoning to dough.. will make this again.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I have made this chicken many times. I love the taste. It's very healthy. I always BBQ this & I make extra so I can use the left overs for salads or sandwiches. I enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I am going to make it again! Personally, I think it needs at least one more egg, but it is simple, turns out nice, tastes delicious. A good vegetarian option for holidays. I used flax milk instead of dairy milk and added a little shredded cheese. Couldn't find fresh thyme, and I think it would have been better than the dried thyme I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake)

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this a few days before Easter and I froze it for freshness. Once thawed I topped it with whipped cream and strawberries. It was dense and moist. Really good for the whip creme and fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Pinot-Glazed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These were yummy. Made exactly as written. Doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Buttery Pan Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! Absolutely buttery goodness! The family enjoyed them for Easter lunch but the smell drove my husband crazy as they baked, so he had to have two last night! Thanks for a great roll recipe. I will be making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Pepperoncini Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I add chopped garlic about halfway through the cooking process. Turned out delish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Home Fries

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Oh wow did my crew love these. Super easy and super delicious. Only thing I did differently was increase the amount that I was making and sprinkled Lawry's Season Salt on when I served it up. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is so delicious! I did make a few changes, I used 3 cups of milk and one cup of whipping cream. For the topping I used roasted vegetable ritz crackers which added great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vkylyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pico Rivera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easter Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
All 7 of us loved it. Perfect just as the recipes reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

Hearty Breakfast Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These are terrific and about as healthy as you can get a muffin and still have it taste good... the oil, salt, & sugar being the negatives, but this makes 12 big hearty muffins, so 1/4 cup oil divided by 12?? I'm not gonna worry, altho I usually use light olive oil... AND, I love the flexiblity of this recipe... subbing dark or white raisuns, prunes, dates, cranberries, nuts... I made without the nuts or coconut and they were still wonderful. I use the old-fashion rolled oats so they add texture, especially if I don't add nuts. I like to shred the carrots very fine so they nearly disappear, no one guesses they're in there. You'll probably get more than 12 muffins if you add all the fruit & nuts... get out 2 pans to be ready. I now double the cinnamon and ginger, both good healthy spices, and sometime I'll add some flax seed and/or bran, added healthiness!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a keeper recipe... I've made it several times now... works great, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by Cyn D

Creamy Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Yummy! Substituted 8oz cream cheese & 4 cloves minced fresh garlic...added breadcrumbs to the top & uses 1 1/2c parmesan cheese. Baked on convection setting at 325F for 2hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by ActingLikeAChef

Egg in a Hole

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I didn't use bacon grease, just good 'ole cooking spray. I also added some shredded mozzarella for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ActingLikeAChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Best meatball recipe I've ever made. Not much competition since I've never made meatballs before! ;) the meatballs were flavorful, moist, tender, easy to make, and browned up well in the oven. The recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

Meatballs and Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Used this recipe to make a stroganoff sauce for the meatball pasta dish I made. Didn't use canned cream of mushroom soup or store bought meatballs. I made my own homemade cream soup base then added sourcream as suggested, milk in place of water and sautéed minced garlic and onion for extra flavor for the sauce. Used Chef Johns meatball recipe which is flavorful and an excellent combo with this sauce! Served over pasta. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

The Best Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
As a person with a background as a pastry chef I forewarn future bakers: THIS IS NOT A CHEWY COOKIE!!! For goodness sake the cookie springs back when I poke it with my finger! I even tried undercooking it and flattening the cookie on the baking sheet prior to baking ---resulted in a super flat, ugly cakey cookie! Haha. I was hoping the other reviewers were wrong and accidentally swapped the baking soda for baking powder---which would sabotage any cookie. I should have trusted my instinct when I saw that this recipe had an extra egg and double the baking soda of comparable oatmeal cookie recipes. Don't be fooled to think just because a cookie is soft, pliable and has tons of chewy oatmeal---its a chewy cookie. Ahh, no. A chewy cookie needs to be formulated to be chewy---and this recipe is far cry from that. Plus its a bit bland. I've tasted better. Sorry----hopefully I'll save some obsessive-baker/food-critic such as myself from the same disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

Idaho Fry Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I love this sauce! I do cut back or leave out altogether the sugar as I like a more vinegar tartness to my sauce but I have yet to have home baked "fries" without having this sauce too. I think it's just great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Simplicity. The recipe is as simple as you can get and demonstrates what a simple sauce can do, as it brings the flavors of the pan together. As others did, I added a few of my own ingredients that needed to be used: red pepper, diced; onion, diced; and sherry to deglaze the pan which brought out the sweetness of the pepper and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3Girls4Me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States