California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creme Brulee French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
After reading numerous reviews I modified the recipe just a bit to reduce the brown sugar, add cinnamon, going with maple syrup, leaving the crust on the French bread, reducing the egg count and broil glazed side up after baking. It was easy and worth the wait overnight in the fridge. Modified Ingredients: 6 TBS unsalted butter 3/4 cup packed brown sugar 1 ½ TBS maple syrup 6 (1 ½ inch thick) slices of French bread cut on a diagonal 4 large eggs 1 1/4 cups half-and-half 1 tsp vanilla extract 1 tsp orange liqueur (Grand Marnier®, Triple sec, or orange extract) 1/4 tsp salt 1/4 tsp cinnamon Directions: 1. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Mix in brown sugar and maple syrup, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Spread into a 9x13 inch baking dish. 2. Arrange bread slices in the baking dish in a single layer. 3. In a bowl, whisk together eggs, half and half, vanilla, orange liqueur, cinnamon and salt until well blended. Pour over the bread. Cover and chill at least 8 hrs or overnight. 4. Remove the dish from the fridge, bring to room temp then preheat oven to 350 degrees F. 5. Bake uncovered 35 to 40 minutes until lightly browned. 6. Remove from oven, flip bread over and broil for 5-6 minutes until the brown sugar coating is bubbling. Note: if baking in a Pyrex dish (not broiler safe), transfer the bread to a metal pan for broiling. 7. Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired, garnish with a side of berries, bacon, whatever, and serve. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tunamelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Original was too sweet for our tastes and had too much liquid to set up in to meatballs so adjusted sweetness down and liquid down for a more solid meatball while still retaining flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Apple Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This has a great blend of flavors and is a good alternative to those spicy salsas although I wouldn't hesitate to add diced jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Honey-Mustard Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This, as written, was an excellent flavored salad. Especially if allowed to rest 5-7 hours before serving to meld the favors. I gave it 5 stars for flavor, after I did my 1st try of it. HOWEVER, it REALLY needs some color! So, 1st thing I did next try, was switch out to the multi colored noodles (fusilli I think?). They have ridges witch "catch" the sauce which adds even more flavor to the fun! Then, red onion instead of yellow or white. The celery takes care of the green, so I chop a red bell pepper & a yellow. Getting the picture now? I try to do a little homework on sweet or dill preferences, then, rather than just use relish, I cut or chop a few pickles so they show up a little better. Then, if I want, I'll dust with paprika, or fresh parsley. A "little" more work, but it makes a very pretty dish, and barely effects the flavor. Too, if I want to make it into a "main" dish, I get the small shrimp from Whole Foods and mix them in...yet another color & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana

Poutine Style Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is really rich and more like 8 servings at least. I didn't have the seasoning called for so I used a Seasoned Pepper Blend. Allow more like 60 minutes baking time even with very thinly sliced potatoes. Thanks for a new take on scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Apricot Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This comes together so quick and is absolutely delicious. I've served to company and it is elegant, but also great for a weeknight family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koriekiss

Boone Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was incredibly easy to make and really good. I halved the recipe and added 6 slices of my own cooked bacon crumbled instead of the bacon bits. Served with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Dale's Awesome Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Awesome is right! This went perfect on tri tip. The consistency of this sauce will go great on burgers. Just the right amount of heat from the chipotle pepper. A keeper that will be used as a topping or for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was raised in Hawaii and except for using a crock pot or slow cooker instead of an imu this is the real deal. I live on the central coast of CA where there are banana trees on just about every block so I ask a neighbor for a couple of the leaves. I wrap my pork roast in the banana leaves after rubbing the salt and liquid smoke over it. I however use Kosher salt instead of sea salt. Realistically everything that lives in the sea poops and pees in it, humans empty both treated and raw sewage into the oceans and birds fly over the drying ponds, no thank you. I always use a good sized pork butt because we love the left overs and they freeze well. The amount of salt I use depends on whether the roast is large or very large. Gotta have sticky rice to go with it topped with the shredded pork and juices. The first bite always brings back a flood of memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Hot Chicken Legs

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious. Definitely toss them in the oven at the end to let the skin crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiokaFroka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA

Bowties with Italian Sausage in a Cream Basil Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I really enjoy this dish. I absolutely hate tomatoes but in this dish I use stewed tomatoes or diced tomatoes. I sometimes cut them up more so the pieces aren't as big. I have made this about 3 times at home and it's a hit. This week is my week to make lunch for my department and this is what I will be making. I hope they enjoy it as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcxs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Citrus Couscous

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wow! Followed recipe as is...fun flavors that just wake the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Zero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carne Guisada III

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My boyfriend is Puerto Rican and he misses tasting food from home. I have been trying different recipes to help him get over his cravings. He loved this one. The only thing he said was missing is some caramelized onions. So next time I will add onions. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cabbage

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Perfect! Baked at 425*, tented with foil, for 20 minutes and then removed and continued to roast for 20 more minutes. Excellent with our red beans and rice dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Chef John's Beef Goulash

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
i am super sad to say that this is my first bad review for a chef john recipe.. i had such high hopes.. at first i was going to tenderize my meat as part of the prep but i figured in 2 hours it should be very tender.. i don't know how i went wrong.. i made half a recipe and put all the meat in the skillet at the same time.. maybe i overcrowded? maybe i didn't cook it long enough to get a really brown exterior? who knows.. the sauce was great even though i had to substitute tomato sauce for the paste.. also left out the sugar and used a cheap balsamic vinegar.. one thing i did learn was that using the spice grinder was the way to go instead of the pestle and mortar for the caraway seed.. at the end of it all, after waiting forever for dinner bf decided to go to bed w/o anything, saying he was just done.. i put this into the slow cooker and it's on low right now.. i added a cup of broth and hope it's tender in the morning.. i'll write another review then.. UPDATE: this was now something we could eat.. i would have preferred it a little less soft, but i didn't get up in the middle of the night to turn off the slow cooker.. my initial rating was 1* but overall i'd give this 2 1/2*'s if i could (flavor and what not) but i wouldn't attempt this again.. maybe if i would have just gone with my gut and tenderized the meat from the get go..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHERYLLO

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I never cared for chicken parmesan at restaurants, but I thought this recipe sounded good so I gave it a try & I'm glad I did! I used less than 1/3 C. of pasta sauce on each breast because I don't like them swimming in sauce & it worked out great. This is a great recipe for easy weeknight dinners, yet tasty enough for company, just a great tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Ball I

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Easy to make . Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Dave's Spicy Hominy

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
If you like hominy you will like this. This is the perfect side for those south of the border recipes. A perfect blend of flavors with just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Baking Nana

Aunt Barb's Spaghetti Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
For me, another shape of pasta would work better than spaghetti. I had to use fettuccine as it turned out I was out of spaghetti noodles. Stirring the sour cream into the pasta seemed to work better than layering. One jar of sauce wasn't enough - this really needs two jars or cut the pasta & sour cream in half. With a few minor changes this makes a hearty family style meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I found this cake to be super moist, dense, chocolatey and delicious. I prepared it exactly as written, except for using a microwave at 50% power for 3 intervals (1 1/2 min, 1 min, and 30 seconds) to melt the chocolate and butter. I stirred them for a good while to make sure they were totally smooth and melted. Then just added the rest of the stuff and whisked to mix. Really good and will definitely be making this again. I ate my tiny sliver plain, but my hubby wanted his with vanilla ice cream and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States