California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Corn On The Cob (Easy Cleaning and Shucking)

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I've been doing this for awhile but so glad to see it posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Westlake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA
Photo by ReadMyLips26

Chef John's Corned Beef Hash

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was so tasty! I only had a regular onion, so I used half an onion finely chopped. I used left over pot roast to make it " roast beef hash". Yum! The salsa gave it great flavor and because the roast was a wee bit dry I added about 1TBS. veg oil to help crisp it up. Perfect, not greasy like some of the canned kind. Definitely a keeper. My husband loved it, there were no leftovers. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Meat

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
really easy recipe with NOT too many ingredients. just made it for the 1st time and its a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commander of Chaos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes Ladybeedough style

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
There were no leftovers. That is my measure of a family thumbs up. I cut the potatoes into smaller pieces for more sides to coat and crisp. I also doubled all the coating ingredients to fully coat the pieces, and "flipped" or stirred about half way through. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
There were no leftovers. That is my measure of a family thumbs up. I cut the potatoes into smaller pieces for more sides to coat and crisp. I also doubled all the coating ingredients to fully coat the pieces, and "flipped" or stirred about half way through. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Mini Rotini with Carrots and Peas

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I subbed Barilla orecchiette for the rotini because I had it on hand- and I really loved how it turned out! I stuck to the spirit of the recipe, but I'd have to say that as-is the recipe is only mediocre and pretty bland (though the pasta itself was great). I ended up adding garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, a citrus/black pepper blend, and about a cup of Italian cheese blend to make it a little more melty. I also upped the basil. After the changes were made it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

No-Frying Eggplant Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe. This was my first attempt at Eggplant Parmesan and it turned out great. I only used 1 small eggplant and half bottle of sauce, and only made one layer. I also added sliced tomato on top of pre-cooked eggplant and cooked all together. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNE102371

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Loved it on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Washabinaros Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Excellent chili! Upped the sausage to 1 lb, used a jalapeno because the store didn't have any habanero, and subbed out one can of kidney beans for a can of pinto. When making again I would drain the liquid after cooking the meat per another review, since the chili was a bit oily. Served with skillet cornbread and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Pineapple Kabobs

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These were a huge hit at my Hawaiian themed party this weekend. I used fresh cut pineapple, Black Forest ham and used whole grain mustard in the sauce. They were best when hot and fresh off the grill. Mahalo for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItalianSpice

Elbows Mac and Cheese with Tuscan Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
So GOOD! I love a rose sauce with pasta and the fontina cheese has a nice nutty taste. So, so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

Margarita Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Yum! Very tasty! Used skinless boneless thighs and only baked for 20 min at 425 degrees but it still turned out well. Nice spice blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

"Sycamore Avenue Chicken Salad"

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
It's fandazilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristin tring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Chips

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These are fantastic chips! My mandoline sliced a little thicker than most on the thin setting, but I loved the thick homestyle chips that it made. Mine took longer in the microwave, which is very high powered. It may have been because I used huge Idaho baking potatoes. They still turned out great! I realized toward the end of my batches that if I put less chips on my glass platter they took way shorter. Next time I'll try that as I think it would balance out the timeframe. You'll either have 12-13 minutes for big batches or 6-8 minutes for smaller batches. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. I sprinkled garlic salt on mine and look forward to trying different spices in future batches. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Jeni

Berry Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this pie for a recent dinner party & it was a HIT!!! The rhubarb makes it tangy- make sure you like rhubarb before you make it. I LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni
Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have used this for what was called "stacked enchiladas". The only difference, was a tin foil "T" Placed in the bottom of the crock pot, so that after cooking it can be lifted out of the pot placed on a platter and cut like a cake!To make the "T" I use heavy duty foil folded in to thirds making sure it is long enough that I have at least 6 extra inches to roll back to pot to form a handle for lifting I also can leave the tortillas whole and use my small crock pot. But any way that you do it this one is a great recipe and a keeper. Make it your own! Stack and layer your favorite ingredients. Vegetarian works well beans cheese maybe a few veggies of choice Yum. If veggies are raw and you are going to try this method you might want to saute just a bit because this is a "heat " method not "cook". If you need to cook adjust cooking time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Incredible Red Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I followed this recipe only I halved it for just my husband and me. He LOVED them and asked for more. They did turn out a little runnier than I like, but probably because I estimated the amount of potatoes. Next time I'll make sure to use the full amount. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
It was decent but I felt it was missing something. I will use onion flakes in place of fresh next time (for better texture) and at least a tablespoon of Worchestershire sauce. We did enjoy the sauce. Husband suggested doubling the sauce and spreading a layer in the middle before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cheese Hot Wings!

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These wings were really good! I baked them at 375 for about 45 minutes then dunked them in the sauce and baked for an additional 30 minutes until they were a dark mahogany color. My husband devoured them. He just called me to say he ate the leftovers for breakfast and they were even better. He likes them cold! Next time I'll make a full batch so we have plenty for the next day. It's a keeper for sure! Also I mixed cayenne and black pepper so they wouldn't be too spicy and they were just right. Hot but not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States