California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Marie Miller

Hasty Chocolate Pudding

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
It came out great the first time! So easy, so creamy, so good. I used non fat milk past its expiration date, and forgot the vanilla. I love chocolate, but this is really choclaty....is that a word? Next time might cut back on the chocolate a bit, or maybe the vanilla would have balanced it out. But I definitely will be doing this again...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parsnip and Carrot Puree

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
So I was not sure how I would feel about this going in. But I grew a lot of parsnips and just harvested them all and was thinking "What can I do that's quicker than roasting them?" So I tried this recipe and I'm glad I did! This was simple and so tasty! I probably used only 4-5 Tbsp butter because it was what I had left. Otherwise I didn't change a thing. The butter makes it taste rich but the carrot and parsnip sweetness come through. Loved it and definitely making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

Crispy Fried Chicken

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Best fried chicken I've ever made.The only thing I did different is I added 1 tsp of paprika and 1/2tsp of garlic powder to flour.I Coated the chicken with flour then dredged in the buttermilk then back into flour then directly into hot shortening. followed technique for frying and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Key Lime Pie

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
WOW, this pie is RICH! I made it for Memorial Day, and we loved it. I'd suggest using a deep-dish pie pan for it. Also, if you're making the crust, use about 1 1/2 packages (there are 3 to each box!) of graham crackers and crumble them in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen DeKok

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

Pork Chops with Apples and Onions

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
DelViscovos love this one....Patz especially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia DelViscovo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate-Cherry Bombs

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia DelViscovo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Stromboli

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
My hubby LOVED it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia DelViscovo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I tried the recipe, in fact have a rendition (supposedly in "review"past 3 years) that is very close, but I wanted to see what it was like. It was o.k., but it needed more spices or enchilada sauce. Mine uses plain milk, one more egg, & enchilada sauce (not tomato sauce, & Hatch brand or home-made. A/R has excellent ones to try!!!). BUT, the biggest difference is HOW I used it: I make a crustless quiche!!! (Crustless because I dislike crust). Not just for breakfast, but it's so popular I serve at all times! I even took premade tart crusts, put crusts in baggie for later & used the little pans, for hors douvres (sp) but that was in the 1980's. I now have a tart sized pan. ! Just have to adjust cooking times, whatever you cook it in! 350 degrees works no matter what! Tons of recipe requests & compliments when I do my recipe, but, unfortunately I didn't get raves with this original recipe with the tomato sauce. Blessings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Soft Mahi Mahi Tacos with Ginger-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
A lot of prep work, but it was worth it. I marinated the fish for several hours in salt, garlic powder, and lemon juice prior to sauteing it. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Last Minute Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
this was nice and simple.. i subbed olive oil for the butter and used half the amount.. also swapped out the seasoned salt for garlic salt.. i added about 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup more mushrooms.. ty for an easy side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil

Mom's Peach Crisp

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
First time in almost 10 years we've had home grown peaches to cook with so I made my favorite fresh fruit dessert. Followed another reviewer's advice and added corn starch (1 1/2 tablespoons) and extra cinnamon to peaches, also 1/2 tsp almond extract=love that with peaches. Topping is so crisp and delish!! Hubby was in heaven on a gloomy, rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by MinXx

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Love bread pudding! If I'd known its this easy to make bread pudding I would of made it a long time ago. It was super good, even my picky eater son liked it. I think my bread slices were too thin though, so mine turned out to be bread pudding on the top and flan on the bottom. But I love flan too, so I'm not complaining...lol Next time I'll use thicker bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

Broccoli Cheese Soup III

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Tasty! Seems like it should have something else though. Maybe next time I would puree part of the broccoli and use potato starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferry, Michigan, USA

Roasted Chicken Rub

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Very good rub!! I love how it doesn't have any sugar in it. I rubbed it into 5 enormous bone in breasts and grilled them. They were super juicy. I agree with the other reviewer who said this tastes just like rotisserie. Well done semi!!! I didn't have celery flakes so I had to sub celery salt. I didn't add the kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Spicy Kimchi Chicken Rotini

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Quite yummy. I didnt have garlic mushroom sauce so I bought regular and added some mushrooms and garlic..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made this for family dinner. Planned for 5 people, had 9 so I added extra veggies and a whole bag of small golden yellow potatoes as suggested by another reviewer. I added ketchup and worchestershire (didn't have A1). I had to add more liquid due to the added veggies. Everyone loved it! I served with Kentucky Biscuits from this site. They are fool proof. Note- Definitely add the A1 or more worchestershire and up the seasonings a little, just saying. BTW there were no leftovers. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Our absolute favorite Cheesecake! This delicious cake never lasts more than 1 day. Make the recipe as directed, you won't be disappointed :-) Tips: bake in a water bath-I cover the outside of the springform pan with foil and place it on a cookie sheet that I fill partially with water. Once the cake is done, turn off the oven but don't remove the cake for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy and Delicious Pancakes

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
it is indeed fluffy! The technique is do not overmix it as how all pancakes should be. it is okay to have lumps in the batter. no need to buy store bought mixes, omitted cinnamon and vanilla. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redgbee
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boneless Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I followed the recipe as written.... it was good but not outstanding. Quite honestly, we liked the leftovers the next day a little better as the flavors really set in. The positive is that it does not involve a lot of ingredients and makes for a very fast and tasty enough dinner. However, I wouldn't set out to make it if I had time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Delicious and easy. Very tasty and meat was sooo tender. A keeper!! Thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States