California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Easy and quick to make. I used the advice of others and halved the recipe. Then I added coconut and used less marshmallows. I also used frozen pineapple (thawed) since that's what I had on hand. I drained all fruit well and the salad wasn't soupy at all. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Pickles

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
THESE ARE AWESOME!!! I've made 4 batches so far this summer(12 pint size jars)and they are so easy to make!! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolemo3 :)

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this yesterday! Pleased everyone! Definitely a keeper! The only thing I did different was add a come cans of mushrooms and diced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolemo3 :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I just made this today; I barely had 1 C of sour cream in my container, didn't have margarine on hand, so I used butter -- forgot to purchase raisins, so I used dried cherries (chopped them up) and sliced almonds I found in my cupboard as well. Didn't alter anything else, and had to add 1 Tbsp of flour at the end when I kneaded it. Cut it w/a biscuit cutter, and popped them into the oven. Out came 15 rounds of Oh-My-Deliciousness! Drizzled on some icing at the end while still warm, and Daughter pronounced it "VERY GOOD" after one bite. Thank you so much for sharing -- this will be my go-to recipe for breakfast/snacking goodness. I'm off to eat another one after I send this. YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oweary1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Hummus

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My first try at making hummus. I gotta say turned out pretty good. I made one small change instead of jalepeno's I added an extra tablespoon of lemon juice. This is a great starting point if I feel a bit creative. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dairy Princess

Hot Fudge Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is an wonderful hot fudge sauce. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Plant-Based Katie Vegan Mushroom Fettuccine Alfredo | Plant-Based Katie Mae

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Sauces made from beans and grains are a little iffy. Next time maybe just the fake butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudsaki
Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Pasta | Forks Over Knives

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Good hearty savory flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudsaki
Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Salmon Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is excellent! I've made it as written and loved it. However last night I didn't have any salmon, nor an apple. So I used cooked chicken and threw in some frozen peas. Also excellent! Another thing I do on occasion is to use coarsely chopped peanuts in place of the walnuts. The dressing is perfect and can be used with a variety of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I love this recipe, but I'm a BBQ kind of guy. So I cook these bone side down, and I add a 1/4 C to a 1/2 C of Apple Juice. I have a friend who like to add a fruit juice (think he uses Pinapple) into the BBQ sauce and mixes it well. From there I follow the recipe to the letter. FYI, ALWAYS REMOVE THE MEMBRANE. The membrane does not allow seasoning to pass through, and can be tough and chewy in the bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was great. Don't waste your time boiling again. It's easy, low mess and very foolproof. That makes this a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Mini Ham, Swiss, Rye Sandwiches with Cranberry Onion Relish

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
WOW, I am such a dodo bird! Lol I gave this Sammie a face but forgot to tell you how Terrific it was!! Lol I obviously made a regular sandwich. I everything on hand and I was hungry;) The sweet, tang of the ingredients is perfect! Great party food! Thank you USA TODAY;) Think I'll make it again soon;)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Grilled Zucchini Pizza

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
We had the big zucchini that needed to be fixed into something, then I see in an email "Attack of the Giant Zucchini" hence this review. The family liked them. The only problem was the seeds, removed them or spit them out. We used the broiler since we don't have a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Warm Chocolate Peanut Butter Pudding Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Rich, chocolatey and peanutbutterey... trifecta. My new favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Portuguese Sweet Bread I

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I think it tastes just like that Hawaiian bread from the market. Portuguese? Hawaiian? Who cares??? It's delicious!! Absolutely yummy!! It'd make a great hawaiian grilled cheese... mmm, think I'm getting an idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Honey Butter

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Great ratio. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Mama's Ambrosia

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Delish!! Exactly what I was looking for. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Sweet Teriyaki Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was easy and very good. Just plan ahead or you'll blow it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Ham Breakfast Braid

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I too need a video to explain the braid. The instructions just do not give a vivid picture for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Jennifer's Granola

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I substituted coconut oil for the canola oil. This is a good basic recipe. I plan to add raisins in my next bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States