California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted Herb Chicken and Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was very good, my family loved it and asked to have it in the rotation of meals. I only had chicken pieces but still came out well. Also I used red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I liked this soup. I followed the original recipe except I used frozen spinach (didn't have any fresh) and I put the tomatoes in the food processor before adding because my Hubby's not crazy about tomatoes chunks in soup. It was very good, but processing the tomatoes made it a more tomatoe base. I won't do that next time. I will definitely make this again! BTW,I used Trader Joe's canned plum tomatoes and did not add salt to the pot, making the sodium less than 200mg for the entire pot. We salted individual bowls to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gougères

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These weren't the delish morsles I remember from my first cooking class. Not sure if the recipe was off in proportions, or if my palate is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Bacon Candy

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
HUGE HIT at Paul's party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Easy Asian Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Used this to marinate a pork loin for a few hours then simmered the pork loin in the sauce until done. Was very good and not too sweet like teriyaki can be sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Scampi II

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Reading a pile of reviews I followed several suggestions. Cooking for two, we have basil and oregano in our garden and chives and used out of the garden fresh, a little labor intense! My husband is not a fan of garlic so I didn’t add a pile of garlic (cooking for myself I’d added A LOT of garlic!) When chicken was cooking added onions and various peppers (what I had on hand) and a little white wine, cooked whole wheat angel hair boiled suggested 4 minutes (somehow my husband either didn’t notice whole wheat, or it tasted so good he didn’t complain!) Added angel hair to chicken etc. THEN tasting it (mild mild mild) I added a couple of tablespoons of the great garlic butter on this site allrecipes.com/recipe/garlic-butter/detail.aspx cooked another 2 minutes getting garlic butter melted through – with the added garlic butter, this turned out SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I only changed it by adding only 2 cups shredded cheddar/jack cheese (it was what I had on hand). Delicious!!! This will be a new household staple, fo shizzle. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Doggie Birthday Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe for dogs! I did make a few changes to it though that are not drastic and really don't require any extra work. I changed the flour to rice flour as it is easier to digest for dogs and I cut the amount of carrot in half and instead added in half of a mashed banana. I also baked them in a cupcake pan so it would be a small cake for my dog because she has a sensitive stomach. I also added a frosting made of fat free Greek yogurt and peanut butter. with a tiny bit of honey. She devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Beaumont Ranch Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Outstanding! The key to the savory flavor is that the warm potatoes are coated with tarragon vinegar mixed with the dry Italian dressing before you start mixing everything else in. A great base to add what you wish to make it your own. I added 4 coarsely chopped hard-boiled eggs along with chopped dill pickles of which did not overpower it at all. Do yourself a favor and dice your potatoes before boiling, and don't overcook them. Also be easy on the mayo at first until you have the consistency you're looking for. Thank you Beaumonts for sharing your "secret" recipe! This is a keeper in my arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Easy and yummy. I had diced onion so I used those. I salted and peppered both potato layers pretty generously. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Well this was just OK. I marinated it for 7 hours and the flavor was SO INTENSE. In the video chef john says he only marinated it for half the time. That may be the key to this recipe. I was asked to never make this again! I didn't think it was that bad but my Fam did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Nothing

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very easy to prepare. At first I was a bit concerned about cooking with root beer. Well this is a keeper. Thanks for sharing ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nothing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

PB Banana Oat Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I'm a fan of peanut butter banana smoothies and had to try this one out! This has the potential to be a great tasting smoothie but I found that it calls for too much ice. I made the recipe exactly as written and it tastes icy and unfortunately mellows out the peanut butter banana flavors. Skip the ice or only add a cube or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Awesome, versatile recipe! Makes more than enough filling, but you can use the filling for other stuff so it's awesome. The next day we had tomato soup with tortillas spread with this filling. Mmmmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
The is a wonderful recipe to clean out the fridge with! I like adding chopped yellow chilies to my potatoes. And I don't add the onions too soon so they still retain their crunch. NOTE:: With regards to BLAND potatoes, the TRICK is to add salt n pepper right after you add the potatoes to the pan. It's also the reason you add salt to pasta water, gives them flavor As they COOK and not just on the outside of food.I have learned this the hard way. TRUST ME your days of bland potatoes is Over;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Roast Beef Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Delicious & Super fast! I added 2 tsp. of horseradish sauce since I Love it with beef. I served it with the raisin rosemary crackers I get from Trader Joe's. The sweet n salty is terrific with this dip! Thank you Joyce, this is one to remember;;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Apple Enchilada Dessert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
As suggested by other reviewers, I added cream cheese to the apple filling. I thought the inside tasted good, but did not care for the flour tortilla. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Peach Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
After reading other people's reviews, I added cornstarch and substituted 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 cup white sugar. Even with the cornstarch, it had a lot of liquid and the bottom was mushy. However, I gave it four stars because I loved the taste. The peaches were fresh and sweet, which, in my opinion, made up for the excess liquid. I will definitely make again, but will try more modifications to combat the mushiness and excess liquid. This recipes is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

New Red Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Although my mom loved this potato salad, I thought it was too bland. I added crumbled bacon and dijon mustard, but didn't change anything else. Had to add alot of salt and pepper to get any real flavor. I will definitely make again as it's a simple recipe, but will have to add more modifications to fit my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Cherry-Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Other than using one pint of fresh blueberries instead of frozen, I made this recipe as is. Delicious! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States