Alamogordo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spicy Orange Chicken Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good flavor with my oven baked wings! Only change I made was to add a couple cloves of mashed/minced garlic. Be sure to only boil or simmer sauce until SLIGHTLY thickened or you will have very tasty glue! I boiled it until it was near the consistency I thought it should be, then removed it from heat for about 10 minutes. It got thicker than honey after I took it off the heat. Can't wait to make them again and get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Fig Preserves

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I just made these for the first time and they were delicious. Well what I licked off the spoon and pan was as I am letting the jars sit for 2 days like the recipe says. I did it just like written except I only had ground ginger and one lemon so I used them and added lime juice for the 1 T. I don't think it made a big difference but plan to make just like recipe next time. I used brown turkey figs. Thanks for sharing this recipe Delanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Just finished this meal. Family liked it a lot. Won't say it lived up to my week-in-planning high expectation, but it was pretty good. Followed basic recipe exactly-but cooked longer (>90 min) for large cubed sweet potato I added to get done-plus from other reviews, I added 1 bunch of chopped green onions, 3 cloves of minced garlic and 1/8 cup of honey to my corningware dish. I do caution against using McCormick's SPICY Montreal as it had quite a distracting bite (especially harsh flavor on the potato), even though I only used 1 TBSP of it with 1 TBSP of Weber's Chicago Steak mix. Pork was somewhat tender after 9 hour marination, and even though cooked uncovered the whole time, I had plenty of liquid left in dish to spoon over sliced pork and potato, both. Meat wasn't moist, nor quite dry, but I probably overcooked it...? Silly amateur! I will try this again according to a lot of other reviews and set a bed of sliced onion under the loin, maybe add mushroom, too. Definitely will not use SPICY seasoning again! Will disclose if it turns up a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is very much like chili in flavor, probably the overabundance of tomato. Family enjoyed it. It was not for me. Followed recipe straight up as written, with exception of adding 1 chopped medium onion and cooking for 11 hours. The chicken fell apart nicely, but it didn't pick up any character from the rest of the mix. Pretty expensive ingredient list for a mediocre chili taste. Tons of it left over and that promises to add to the disappointment for days to come since I take leftovers to work for my lunch. Bet the wife and kids won't touch it again, either...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. It never fails me. Great basic cheese cake. I use this recipe and create different toppings every time I make it, wonderful just plain with a great cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Focaccia Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was very good. My favorite 5 star foccacia ferments overnight, but this is great for when I forget to start it the night before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I was happy to find this. I have a black pepper allergy and my husband is on a reduced salt diet so it is great to be able to make this omitting the pepper and using lite salt. We love cumin and was happy to see it included. Years ago I would add more to the packets. I made it with New Mexico red chili powder. The tacos were delishish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was a great basis to work with and allowed me to have some fun with this recipe. I read through several tips before beginning so thought I would share what I compiled and tried. I used 3, huge, mostly to partially frozen boneless chicken breasts, 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can cream of celery, 1 can of chicken broth, butter, and doused the chicken in pepper and rotisserie chicken spice. Cooked on high for 4 hours adding a bit of water here and there. I then shifted to low for 1.5 hours adding the torn biscuits, 2 carrots, and about 4 stalks of celery. I added a bit more water here and there. I think it probably could have used more water to make it a little more soupy but the hubsters loved it. It's hard for me to know how things turn out with meat based dishes because I'm a vegetarian. My husband is really, really bad about eating leftovers...and he dug into this for lunch and dinner the following day which is a clear sign this was a success. Thank you everybody for all of your tips. This was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Smokey Bacon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Wonderful! I nailed it the second time around. Vinegar had just a little bite and beans were perfect! Amazing complement to my grilled bacon-wrapped Elk Backstrap Filet Mignon! I urge people to follow the instructions, as I was too busy with my grilled salmon the first time I made this and it was not as good as last night's batch. When the bacon STARTS to brown, add the onions. I had hard, unappealing bacon the first time because I let it finish like I would for breakfast, then had all the extra cooking time on top of that. To those who have seen fit to complain about the vinegar taste, please pay attention to the name of the dish, then note the word vinegar a second time in the ingredients. Then, don't make this dish and that should save you much heartburn about the flavor you will achieve with this side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
SUPER TASTE and SUPER EASY! Made it last night for wife and 2 kids who really liked it-and they are some picky suckers! It is a moderately sweet dish, which we like. I followed the recipe exactly, but boiled the drained marinade so we could add to fish after grilling, if desired. It was better tasting and much cheaper than the same at a restaurant. I had as the side/vegetable another Allrecipes item--Green Beans with Smokey Bacon Vinaigrette. It was a good complement to the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Pretty good--definitely needs a lot more lemon juice--I added lemon juice until the filling tasted about right to me. That was my only deviation from recipe, except I had to bake it about an extra 15 minutes (30 approximately) to get some toasty golden brown onto the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Perfect for when you have house guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Great for parties. I use chicken marinated overnight in chipotle pepper seasoning. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Great recipe! I usually make extra to freeze for an easy weeknight meal. Great topped with shredded cheddar and served with cornbread or tortilla chips. (I just buy tortilla chips instead of making them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jeff's Chili Con Queso

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is always a hit at get-togethers and so easy to make! We use the hormel's chili with no beans. Love it with tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Great recipe! We make this with leftover grilled chicken from the night before, skip the peppers, and serve it with salad. Easy and yummy summertime meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
So easy and delicious! Have made this for two family reunions and its always a hit! I love that it is easy, feeds a crowd, and frees up my time when I have guests. I add broccoli and fresh mushrooms to the dish and serve it with French bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Fantastic! One of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
A wonderful occasional indulgence! It's so easy and delicious! We make a sandwich with toasted and buttered French bread with Swiss cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I don't like seafood and never liked salmon before I tried this recipe. It's so simple and delicious! It's part of our regular rotation now. Even our picky kids eat it. I serve it with herb and butter rice (from the package) and fresh roasted asparagus. It's an easy weeknight meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 62) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States