Phoenix - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tamale Pie I

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I think it's delicious. I followed the other reviewers, and changed it a bit, or a lot, I suppose. I used the beef, tomatoes, and olives, and added some chile powder and Italian seasoning to the ground beef, a small can of enchilada sauce, a can of black beans, a handful of seeded and chopped serrano peppers, and frozen corn instead of creamed. I made a cornbread topping, but added a few teaspoons of cornmeal to the filling to help thicken it, and baked it according to directions. It's very tasty and I will take it to my next potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Ive made this a few times a few different ways. I do love the way the recipe is written. My favorite way is reducing the oil. toast the quinoa a few minutes then cook in chicken stock. Used 2 cans of black beans. I added 1/4 tsp curry and 1/8 tsp ginger. Roasted the cherry tomatoes. Instead of green onion, I used red onion. Added 2 cups spinach. Feta cheese crumbles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Seafood Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
As written, I could only give this recipe 3, or even 2 stars - it was *way* too salty. Everything else seems to be just right, but the next time I make this I'm definitely cutting the salt by half. However, with that modification I anticipate that this will be a solid 5 star recipe - it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I made this almost exactly according to the recipe (the only difference being that I breaded both sides of the chicken, a very minor change), and it came out very well. I think the key to moist chicken is to not use too large of a baking dish. Everything was put together very tightly, and this contained the juices which boiled throughout the baking. My wife loved it - will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We make this about every 2 wks. So easy and super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russell Golland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Simple Moscow Mule

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
We loved it! New summer favorite drink! We ended up finding Ginger Beer at Total Wine & more, Fry's didn't have it. Don't try and substitute it with ginger ale; ginger ale and ginger beer are separate things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Tangy (Not Sweet) Tartar Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Fabulous! Surprisingly wonderful! Tastes similar to restaurant tartar sauce only better. Made exactly as written except for the extra salt since pickles are already salted. Tasty, delicious and way better than anything you can buy. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry)

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I've made this a few times now, and it's popular with friends and family. My modifications: [*] Instead of 1 tbsp. curry powder, I use 1/2 curry powder and 1/2 garam masala. [*] I add the yogurt at the end, after the dish cools a bit. [*] I stir frequently throughout (even during the "covered" cooking phase), to keep the dish from burning. Cook on medium heat, not high. [*] I add 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oreo® Milkshake

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Simple but effective. The guests loved it. It's extremely sweet, which is to be expected, of course. What worked for me is giving everyone a small glass as desert, rather than trying to make this a meal beverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzona

Grilled Pork Chops with Fresh Nectarine Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Perfect summer grilling recipe! The nectarine salsa recipe is just right. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Tangy (Not Sweet) Tartar Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is the only way I will make tartar sauce. I can't stand the sweet stuff. the only thing I do differently is to add just the tiniest sprinkle of cayenne pepper for a little kick. In a pinch, when I don't have fresh onion on hand, I will rehydrate dried chopped onion in water for about 5 minutes and add that. If you are in a REAL hurry - Fish is on the table and you forgot the tartar sauce-dill pickle relish, which I always seem to have on hand, mixed with the mayo works well. Never any need to buy tartar sauce. This is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Grilled Salmon Greek Pitas

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
We didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Made this recently for a church potluck, and adjusted the Italian Dressing mix as most suggested (1/2 pkt). Everyone who had them raved about them -- even some kids! Very easy to make, doesn't take long, and people think you are some sort of guru! Making them again in a month or so for a special event as part of the hors doeurves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.NormaC

Easy Taco Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I tweaked this also. I omitted the spices and just used taco seasoning. I used 1/4 cup sour cream instead of mayo, I also added a half can of refried beans. I used green onions and added tomatoes. Garnished with lettuce and avocados. Next time I will add chopped black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.NormaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Easy Cheesy Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Don't add the extra salt, it isn't needed. The rice turns into more of a risotto, which isn't a bad thing. My rice hating husband HATED this. Super props to having everything raw and 'dumping' into a casserole dish, instead of having to precook and THEN bake, which is why we hate casseroles. Used extra sharp cheddar and ommited salt, otherwise, didn't change anything. This is extremely heavy, so don't be surprised if your family doesn't eat as much as they normally do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Candied Bacon Sticks

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
They were ok. I couldn't find Alessi brand breadsticks so I used the shorter ones I found in my local grocery store. They were fine, just nothing wow. I mixed light and dark brown sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Suzona

Pizza On The Grill I

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Kudos to Doug, this is a great dough recipe. I divided into four equal parts which made grilling much easier. Next time I might turn heat down just a tad. Just made simple pizzas with Classico Pizza Sauce, pepperoni and I topped with thin slices of Mozzarella. My husband assisted because four hands was easier than two. We loved it! It will be a regular on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Cream Puffs

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
i've made these many times, and always with success (and accolades from my friends/family). they have no idea how easy these are to make! the only thing i do different is drop these on my baking sheet (parchment lined) with a TSP instead of TBSP to make smaller puffs. then i sprinkle with powdered sugar. they disappear so quickly! they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csoozgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Apple Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I was a bit wary of the complexity of flavors, but I tried the recipe as written. Turned out delicious. I think the slaw sauce was key. I spiced it up with California Seasoning Salt (Pepper, salt, garlic, lemon zest). Using the freshest veggies also helps. The apples and mayo reminded me of Waldorf salad but so much better! I will use this recipe instead of the traditional Waldorf recipe. Oh yeah--one tip: make sure you toss apples in lemon juice before adding rest of ingredients. It'll prevent browning if your slaw is being stored for a few days. I paired this slaw with cayenne spiced tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The flavor was good. My shredded parm didn't melt very well so I think I'll try again with gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJSBABE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States