Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Really liked this recipe...so simple and tasty! I ran out of milk so I, like other reviewers, just rinsed the pork chops with water and sprinkled them with garlic salt and pepper. Then dipped them in two beaten eggs and then in Italian Seasoned bread crumbs. Also, when preheating the oven to 400 (not 425 as suggested), let the butter melt during the preheating. Then put the the pork chops in the baking dish and baked per instructions. Did cut the cooking time down though...after 10 minutes and flipping them, cooked them for only a few more minutes...then checked them with a temperature thermometer...they were done! Very surprised...thought they'd take longer since I could only find the boneless thick cut pork chops at the store. Key, as others have said, is to not overcook the chops. They came out tender and tasty. Next time will maybe try the stuffing per the instructions but didn't have any on hand tonight. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
These mushrooms are really good when you follow the original recipe. For my family, I made a few changes on my second time making them, since I really don't care for parmesan cheese. I added chopped green onions, Italian style bread crumbs, butter and shredded mozzarella cheese instead. I did not use the mushrooms stems, as it seemed like a step I didn't really need to do. Also, topped with more mozzarella cheese and baked them in about ½-¾ cup white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HILLY29

Popovers

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
What a great recipe find! I followed the recipe as directed and they came out great. I will definitely add this one to my recipe database. When I made them the second time I made some changes, I added two tablespoons of sugar and a little bit of vanilla and they were awesome! It added that extra that some said was missing. Keep in mind, popovers are bland, the taste reminds me of french toast batter. It really is all about personal preference. The addition of the vanilla and sugar to the recipe made them so tasty on their own. The original recipe is just as great and I highly recommend the cinnamon honey butter to complement as was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

Garlic Cheese Roll (Tubes)

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Now I need a recipe for the jalapeno roll, anyone have one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Best Irish Soda Bread I have ever had. This recipe was moist and had just a perfect hint of sweetness. It was picture perfect and delicious with my St. Patrick's Day meal. Definitely a keeper, and will be on my table much more than once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by educated_but_unrefined

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by educated_but_unrefined

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made these burgers with the original recipe the first time and they were good, but needed salt. The second time I made them I cut the recipe in half, omitted the cayenne (not everyone wanted it),added 1/2 tsp of salt, shook in some garlic powder, and added liquid hickory smoke. I also used real bread crumbs that I keep in the freezer.( I food process heals of bread and toss in freezer. These are great for burgers and meatloaf. Keeps the meat moist, unlike dry breadcrumbs!) I used lean ground beef, so I added a little canola oil when mixing the beef. I also used skim milk. I give the original recipe (that I did try because I don't believe in rating a recipe if you don't use the original submitted recipe) 4 stars. Good base recipe, but as with all recipes, we can adjust to our own taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Breakfast Stuffed Poblano Peppers

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I actually made this as a late night snack :) Of course it was yummy! I subbed regular button mushrooms for the baby bellas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Brandi's Won Tons

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
These are fantastic! I used regular cabbage because I had some to use up, but I definitely know napa would do the job better, since it's a softer texture. Didn't make the sauce part because I was using them in wonton soup. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is my favorite taco seasoning I have made so far!! I tripled the recipe so I'd have some for later and used about 3 Tbs for 1 lb. of meat. After you add the seasoning to the meat and stir it all around really good add about 1/4 cup of water with a little flour stirred into it. Keep adding more water if too thick and let cook for about 10 minutes or so. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Baked Ham and Chile Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was good, quick and easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soda_Junkie

Best Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is one of the best and easy recipe of egg rolls ever. I made these egg rolls for my wife, after she was healing from surgery. She ate everyone of them and now she want me made them once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soda_Junkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

Loga's Microwave Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Surprisingly pretty good, but not exactly worthy of five stars as is. I've made this a couple times now and found that even with a newer microwave 15 minutes doesn't come close to getting the chicken to a safe temperature. Also needed a few things to jazz it up, I added a little salt and garlic powder as well as a bit of chicken stock because the first time I made this the sauce burned while the chicken barely cooked. Also, cooking it at a lower setting for longer resulted in a better overall dish (I did about 25-30 minutes at 70%). One addition that was fun was adding and mixing in a can of rinsed pinto beans with about 5 minutes left, which resulted in what was basically bbq beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantastapotomus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bread Baked Oatmeal Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Very tastey. I had some slightly overripe bananas that I wanted to use up and I wanted something healthier than bread. It came out great. A few changes though: I had no applesauce so I left that out, I used 3 mashed bananas and 1/4th cup honey instead of the sugar, then I added a little nutmeg to the brown sugar/cinnamon mix. Def will keep thisin mind next time I have bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
this is a keeper!!!!!! I drained all of my canned veggies....I used petite cut tomatoes, undrained. as per several other readers, I added one can of beef stock -- one hour before it was ready, I added a large handful of elbow macaroni, which sucked up the liquid (will probably add 2 cans of beef stock next time). I thought this was a fantastic outcome with canned veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Shrimp with Tomatoes and Feta Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
We really enjoyed this and not a bite was left over :) I did add in some chopped asparagus when the jalapenos and green onions were added, just to make this a well rounded meal. Delicious stuff, and phew, my jalapeno was spicy lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Pound Cake III

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I made this cake yesterday and have to let everyone know how GOOD it is.I decided to do half a recipe so put it in a loaf pan. Used one and one third cups sugar,made my buttermilk by putting one tablespoon white vinegar in a half cup measure and fill I it almost to a half cup,I saved enough room in the cup to add 2 tablespoons cooled brewed coffee and omitted the instant coffee. Used three eggs...also when you beat the sugar and eggs,really beat the heck out of it,with my hand mixer I beat it on high for about four and a half minutes and beat after each egg about a half minute,after reading another reviewers tip..this process comes in handy for a lot of cakes,it DOES make a difference so don't rush this part. Also being half recipe I didn't bake quite as long. My cake did split on top but this always makes it taste better to me and looks pretty. Also this cake doesn't need icing,is sweet enough without it and moist also. It has almost a brownie taste..I have a couple of favorite chocolate cake recipes and this one is joining them..thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mardi Gras King Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I've made this a few times and it's always come out pretty tasty. However, I do make changes to the recipe. I usually add about 1 tsp vanilla extract to the dough and sometimes cinnamon. For the filling I remove the pecans and raisin (seriously, who puts raisins in king cake?) and add a pack of cream cheese instead, and usually a little nutmeg. Without the cream cheese it's come out a bit dry though. I'm dissatisfied with the icing. I've tried it with vanilla and almond extract but I want something less runny. However, it's a good base recipe if you live out of state and have a craving for King Cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Turkey Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I'm usually not a fan of meatloaf, in fact I avoid it, but my incredibly picky husband came home with the recipe one day so I decided to try it. I was surprised that I actually really liked it. Better than any meatloaf that I've had before. I think it tastes best with ground turkey, but I also used ground pork once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Excellent recipe. Totally delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzettes SweetCakes N Bakes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States