Western South - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Seasoned Swai Fish Fillet

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PeaceLoveOkie85

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe is very tasty. My husband inhaled his dinner and asked when we will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeaceLoveOkie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Pineapple Jalapeno Pizza

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is one amazing pizza hands down! The pineapple, jalapenos and mozzarella go so well together, who would have thought?! I made this for just myself so I used a Naan bread in place of the pizza crust. Will be making this a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was a huge hit in my house. It was very moist and the topping was a nice change from normal banana bread. Will for sure make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I thought this was okay but really lacked in flavor. It for sure needs salt and maybe some fresh garlic or something... Kids said they did not really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love sweet cornbread, and this one hit the spot with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam  Starbuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosie's Bok Choy Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We absolutely love this salad. I think you DO need to toast the ramen noodles, nuts, and sesame seeds, but do it in butter; about half what the recipe calls for is plenty. Then no draining is necessary. We love the almonds, but budget-friendly sunflower seeds are really tasty too. When I first received this recipe from a friend about 20 years ago, it called for 5 green onions. So that's what I use. We prefer less sweet so I use half the sugar, use more soy sauce, and add the seasoning packet(s) to the dressing. Because it just makes for a true Asian flavor I always grate in some fresh ginger. I say "fresh", but honestly I keep a root in the freezer all the time which makes it super easy to grate as well. I always serve this salad with the three parts separate for several reasons: individuals may want more or less topping or prefer more or less dressing, and that way everything stays crisp and fresh. We've had it with broccoli slaw and/or other cabbages when bok choy isn't available. They're all delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheesy Chicken I

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
After reading quite a few reviews,I did make a couple of changes to fit my tastes. I only used 2 chicken breasts since it's just me and my husband. I did 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of cheddar and skipped the mushroom. I added 1 packet of Italian Dressing seasoning, garlic powder, and a few other herbs. I didn't add additional salt and I think that was the right decision for me. I put it on low for 9 hours while I went to work. My chicken wasn't all the way thawed when I put it in but it turned out so tender, not over cooked at all. Once I got home, I boiled some brown rice, cooked some frozen broccoli, and then threw it all together. The tender chicken just shredded while stirring it all together. A couple bites in, my husband said it was salty, which I agreed. Lightbulb went off, oh yeah, sour cream! I do think that helped cut the salt taste. Overall, I think this recipe is fine. Nothing that wowed me, nothing that was gross, just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Do not deviate- it's delicious exactly as the recipe is written! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti with Broccoli Florets and Traditional Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Made it for a light lunch, and oh what a great lunch it was! This recipe is easy to make and really good to eat. I had my doubts about the fresh broccoli in a pasta dish with red sauce, but it was good. It was also easy to cook, putting it in with the pasta the last couple of minutes of cooking-I love that technique! The olive oil was also a nice touch. Highly recommended for lunch or dinner. Great stovetop meal for a hot summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Scotdog

#1 Pea Salad Most Requested!

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was good but I tend to like a lot of *stuff* in these types of recipes. I made it as is and it was kind of bland for me. I added an aged white cheddar, chopped boiled egg, celery and nuked some turkey bacon for on top. I do really like the almonds in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Coconut Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I really liked this rice and served it as a side to the Thai Pork with Peanut Sauce recipe I found on Allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoanJoan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Pork with Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Really wonderful!! Quick and easy dinner that tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoanJoan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
The sauce makes this recipe. The fried fish is great, but I prefer to toss the fish in a flour/taco seasoning mixture and pan fry it in a little oil. Not only does it taste better, but it's quicker and easier to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Copan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Soup III

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe turned out to be great. My entire family enjoyed it and I have some very picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lashanda Glaze Buford
Home Town: Del City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Really wonderful and easy. Perfect for a quick dinner on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoanJoan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Did not find this as wonderful as I had hoped I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoanJoan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
The blueberry sauce that you pour over the French toast was amazing! However, the French toast itself was just ok. I found that the cream cheese didn't melt the way I had hoped that it would. Maybe cutting it into smaller pieces may help with this issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoanJoan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog

Frozen Banana Bites

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
These were ok. I love peanut butter and chocolate but the frozen banana was a weird texture. I took another reviewers suggestion and warmed the peanut butter so that it was easy to dip the (frozen) bananas in it. I melted the chocolate in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I used this on chicken and it was great! I had this in the marinade for about 5 hrs. and will shoot for longer next time and maybe add a touch of salt as well. Thanks Kitkat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States