Western South - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by wendy31179

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Really tender and a great consistancy. Very greasy though after cooking. Was a tad dull but I'll just add more seasoning next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy31179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
The sour cream contains a food allergy so I have to have a alternative to sour cream. Then try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara C. Rodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by CATHYDP464

Potato Bread I

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Wonderful with brown gravy from roast beef...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYDP464

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond-Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I did modify this slightly, but mostly stuck to the original recipe. Part of the modifications were due to what I had on hand. I made this using whiting from a recent fishing trip. I increased the almond/parmesan mixture by an extra half a cup for each. I also added the garlic powder and pepper in there, along with dried parsley. I chose to bake the fish on a half bakers sheet with a rack so I wouldn't have to turn them. I just heaped the parmesan mixture on the filets prior to baking. I baked them on 325 for 30 mins, and broiled them for the last two minutes (didn't move the sheet, had it on the middle rack) to brown the topping. Very tender, perfectly cooked, and even my daughter who doesn't like fish asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Sunshine Muffins (with whole orange)

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This recipe was perfect for using up the oranges I had hanging around the kitchen. Sunshine is the perfect adjective to describe these delicious muffins. They have a robust orange flavor due to the whole orange peel and all going into the blender. I used Craisins and fresh squeezed orange juice. Sad to say I didn't have any nuts on hand and while the muffins taste good without them, pecans would send them over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy G.

Summer is Here Triple Berry Peach Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
A really tasty pie! I did not have raspberries, but used 3 fresh peaches, and blueberries and strawberries added in to fill the pie shell. I used wheat flour instead of white, and did not have a runny pie at all. I used "heaping" amounts of both brown and white sugar, and my pie was a little too sweet. Maybe because my fruit was ripe and sweet? I would go by the recipe's amounts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
it was soooooooo Delicious with a capital D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it tasted like she turned pumpkin pie in to a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lometa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved it. Quick easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY ASHLEY
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was very heavy and I found myself picking around the pepperoni because it just didn't work with the pasta. I can see how this would be a good family (kid pleasing) dish but if you're making for just adults, I would look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was a great Sunday lunch! I did a Beef Loin instead and cut the balsamic with a little stale coffee. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frijoles de Olla

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Simple and versatile! You can do anything with these beans, or nothing. I like a little more complexity to mine and added onion and peppers but sometimes, simple is indeed better! Lard Rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe is FANTASTIC & so versatle. I have even used chicken breast instead of pork. It's simply delicious! I add onion powder to the season rub also some diced onion & minced garlic to the sauce. You can add any variety of spices to your taste and you can also substitute the wine for chicken stock, but the wine really adds another level to the taste you don't get with stock. This was an instant family favorite & is now in our biweekly must haves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TastePeachesNCream

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I really liked this recipe - it makes for a great tuna noodle casserole. It's one of those "clean out the pantry" recipes where you can use what you have on hand. For instance, I used whole wheat egg noodles, 98% fat free mushroom soup, and a mixture of cheddar, colby jack and manchego cheeses because it's what was what I had. I also sauteed the mushrooms and onion in butter before adding them, and dropped the frozen peas in with the noodles at the very end before draining. As others also suggested, I used the empty mushroom soup can to measure out half a can sour cream and half a can milk, just to ensure it wasn't too dry (and it turned out perfectly). I, too, just mixed in all of the cheeses, added some cracked black pepper and a dash of salt, and topped the casserole with buttered bread crumbs, as I didn't have potato chips. Saved and will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie II

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
really good! Made this exactly,then added vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon. Also added 3 1/2 tbls cornstarch like others suggested. Delicious with ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

Cedar Planked Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fun fact: this recipe blow up in Detroit making people addicted, losing their jobs in serch of the next salmon fix and ultimately crashing the economy Way to go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpACT10Npimp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heber Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
If the Chinese get a hold of this the U.S. is done for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpACT10Npimp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heber Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

Cherry Bomb Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Forget slap yo mama, I'm slappin everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpACT10Npimp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heber Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made this recipe last night and followed the directions EXACTLY! it was SOOOOOOOO good. My very picky 2 yr gobbled it up. I will definitely make this again. As a side note, use fresh mushrooms and not the canned kind :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Chickpea and Quinoa Salad with Lemon and Tahini

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I used canned beans and just cooked the quinoa. By doing this, it is really quick to fix. It's best after sitting and absorbing the flavors for a couple of days. I make it on the weekend and take it to work as lunch. It keeps me full until I head home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepperoncini Beef

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
The only thing we did different was use jarred minced garlic. I left instructions for the man to do this while I was gone. This is officially our favorite easy peasy dinner! My boys went guano over this. It was a three pound roast. There are three of us. There is none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States