Western South - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by kellybeth

Super Seven Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
There is something about the way these ingredients mingle that I love! I decided to whip up ranch dressing instead of the poppy seed and I'm glad I did! It perfectly complimented the sweetness of the apple and cranberry. I served this salad with spicey salmon and rolls. It was easy and had a pretty presentation but the best part was the taste. Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Mushroom Kabobs

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very good! I used orange bell pepper for the red, and used only button mushrooms...next time I will buy an assortment of mushrooms for this...bet portobello's would be fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Spicy Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Yum yum!! So good, I could eat this on it's own for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Big Smokey Burgers

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Totally 5 stars on this burger! Nicely seasoned...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Kale Cranberry Pepita Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really like this, but I think it should be stated to use FRESH OJ in this. I used bottled, and think fresh would have added the nice sweetness this needed for me... Good overall..will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth

Pork Tenderloin alla Napoli

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this for dinner this evening and loved it! I substituted chicken broth for the wine but left everything else the same. The cook time was spot on and I served it over pasta. Tasted like something on a restaurant menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great starter recipe. For our tastes it needed much more seasoning like chili powder, oregano and paprika for a true Mexican flare. Let's face it, Texans also like meat in their pintos so I added 3 fat slices of peppered bacon. I started the beans in my crockpot on high for 4 hours, the beans still weren't done. So, I boiled them in my dutch oven for an hour until tender, adding water as I went. I served them in a bowl topped with fresh onion, cilantro, jalapeno and crumbled spicy, chipotle cheese. My husband smoked a pork loin so we ate the beans charro style with street style, pork tacos! Delish! I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is an easy main dish with a good flavor. The first time I made this I kept to the recipe even though I was skeptical about the sugar. It did end up too sweet for our liking. The second time I only added a tablespoon of the sugar and it ended up much better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieDirt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Go very easy with the Cajun seasoning ( it's hot AND salty) and forgo the salt and pepper, unless you love volcano spicy very salty food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I love these as a way to make use of leftover mashed potatoes.I follow the recipe exact and my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieDirt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I didn't change a thing and this was an awesome recipe! Thank you for sharing MATTSBELLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBell11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Sweet Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My family loved this. You could add things to this if you wanted, but it's good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Make this for family and church family they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
10 stars if I could! This is some of the most flavorful pot roast I've ever made! Usually the family is dousing it in Lea and Perrins, but not this time...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Spiced Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was delicious!! I served it over just a simple side salad. Halved the recipe and now I wish I would have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tex-Mex Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I thought this recipe was a good baseline recipe. I did however make some modification based on what I had on hand. I used plain tortilla chips in place of the Doritos, added chopped sweet bell peppers to the onion step and substituted taco seasoning for the chili powder and ground cumin. I also used leftover Rotisserie chicken. I layered crushed chips, chicken/soup mixture, shredded cheese twice ending with shredded cheese on top. It tasted even better for leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Swiss Chard with Parmesan Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Never made it before, didmt trim it properly, and it was still one of the best things I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k80chavez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies V

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These are the absolutely the easiest cookies to make. My wife asks me to make them at least once a month. The recipe needs no changing. The key is to let the mixture soft boil for the 1 minute. After you make these a few times, feel free to experiment. We like to add about 2 tablespoons of instant espresso to the initial mix... Chocolate, peanut butter, AND caffeine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lone Star, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Spaetzle Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
GREAT recipe! I usually have to add a bit more flour to get the tacky dough, but it comes out BEAUTIFULLY! My husband likes this better than our favorite german restaurant haunt. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My daughter and I made this last weekend, it was delicious! Needed just a tab more sugar than called for. It was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States