Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cranberry Chutney

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I will never use canned cranberry sauce again! Great recipe, easy and delicious. I adjusted the seasoning amounts as advised by other reviewers. I added orange juice and zest. Left out the cloves, because I didn't have any. I cooked the sauce about 12 minutes before adding the apple. Then another 5-8 minutes with the apple. I ate it with chicken salad for lunch. Keeper recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Chutney

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I will never use canned cranberry sauce again! Great recipe, easy and delicious. I adjusted the seasoning amounts as advised by other reviewers. I added orange juice and zest. Left out the cloves, because I didn't have any. I cooked the sauce about 12 minutes before adding the apple. Then another 5-8 minutes with the apple. I ate it with chicken salad for lunch. Keeper recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hidden Cheeseburger

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was so good! I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground venison and an egg in place of the ground beef. I also used the canned french bread dough. The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybcook
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Tea Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I'm a huge fan of orange and cranberry together. My aunt got me started on this flavor combination about 20 years ago and I always made an orange and cranberry bread while helping her cook and bake for the holidays. I chose this recipe in remembrance of her. Easy to make, great flavor and good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Honey Lime Fruit Toss

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was AWESOME. It had just a hint of lime that wasn't overpowering and just delicious! Super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Russell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potunas

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
We really enjoy this for a change up of the ordinary. Lots of options: Crumble bacon on top, add green onions, different spices to add a twist (italian, seafood, etc.) and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is great and so easy. We used a coke instead of root beer the second time and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Thornell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black Oak, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Mexican Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It took me making another Mexican type stuffed pepper from this site to realize how much I appreciated this one and the simplicity of it. There is a lot of flavor here with little effort. I don't feel it serves as a main dish as some of the others do but it makes for a perfect tasty side dish to serve with your Mexican food. I plan on making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Mexican Chicken Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
There was a lot going on in this recipe but oddly enough the flavors worked okay. What didn't work for me was the 2 hours and 10 minutes of time invested just to end up with a so so dish. Also, my chicken was nice and tender after it simmered in the beer but after the total cook time of 1 hour 50 minutes, it was completely dried out. I think this recipe has potential but as written I cannot give it more than 3 stars. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Rich Mexican Corn

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Verrrry bland - even tho I added sauteed onion and garlic as well as about 1/2 small can of green chilies. Also very rich, tho I knew that going in, given the title. But really, that's all there is to this dish - just richness. Won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Herb Roast Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe! Used dried Rosemary and table salt. But it was really good. Like my husband said, the flavor from the paste was all the way through the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKUHL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Made these today with a group of ladies. I was surprised at how crunchy the outside of the cookie is but the inside is perfectly chewy. Huge hit with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
The smell of this is incredible! Taught a group of ladies to make peppermint bark today and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Ranch Style Oyster Crackers

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
These have been a standard in our family for years. My aunt started making them about 15 years ago and my mom and I carry on the tradition. Taught this recipe to friends today and they love them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Jan's Crumb Topping or Streusel

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Such a fantastic crumb topping! I used it on small (pot pie size) cherry pies. Huge hit! Love the idea of keeping it in the freezer until needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. You can do a lot with it. I hate chocolate cake. So, in place of the cocoa, I ended up using vanilla sugar and adding cinnamon, and making cupcakes. It ended up tasting like this pumpkin pie spice bread a store I know makes (I added NO pumpkin). It is a little too dense to call it a cake, but it is a wonderful quick bread! I did add salt as well because others said it is better that way. You really can do anything with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambershahin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Popa's Simple White Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I grew up on white beans and still prefer them over red and black to this day. I am also a big fan of green chilies so I knew with a quick glance of the ingredients that this was going to be a darn good chili. It seems a lot of people translate green chilies and green enchilada sauce into "too hot" but that really isn't the case in this recipe. Made as written this recipe was super simple, packed full of flavor, fuss free, and perfect for days you don't have much time to spend in the kitchen. Bonus is that it is friendly enough for the entire family yet more heat can easily be added to the individual bowl of anyone desiring more spiciness. Thanks for the great recipe bd.weld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this many times in the past. I made it yesterday for work, everyone loved it. And one even ask for the recipie, so she could make it for Thanksgiving. That made me very proud. I will make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oh-So-Good Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This turned out pretty good but I thought something was missing so I took the casserole and made it into stuffed bell peppers. I added some tomato sauce and some cheese to the top and baked it. Of course I precooked the bell peppers some first. It turned out really tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Lafargue

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Caramel Apple Cider with Salty-Sweet Rim

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
What an incredible fall treat! I rimmed my mug with honey, brown sugar and flaky sea salt. I also used an unfiltered honey crisp apple cider. I plan to use this recipe throughout the fall and winter for a warm pick me up! I heated my cider in the microwave and omitted the apple pie spice as we are out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States