Southern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Warm Chicken Ranch Wraps

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Like others, I skipped the rice and used the grill to cook my chicken breasts, seasoned with salt, pepper and oil. So it was a pretty simple wrap; grilled chicken, lettuce, tomatoes and onion topped with home made Ranch Dressing, wrapped in grilled flour tortillas. Next time I'll add bacon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This pie is what the man of the house requests at Thanksgiving and his birthday and I am NOT a baker! I cheat and buy ready made pie crusts. I also have a handy little doohickey that peels and cores the Granny Smith apples I use. I really hate peeling and coring by hand which seems to take forever. Like others have mentioned I add cinnamon, vanilla extract and sometimes nutmeg. I add most of the syrup into the bottom crust with the apples then pour the rest over the latticed top crust and with sprinkle cinnamon & sugar. This recipe makes a very pretty pie that I would be confident serving to guests as well as family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin Sandwich

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This is like a pork schnitzel on a sandwich and was so delicious to have for a Friday night dinner. I've never had a trad Indiana sandwich but this is good. I toasted the kaiser rolls, double dipped the flattened tenderloin pieces in egg/breadcrumbs and pan fried. Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Coconut Flour Chocolate Brownies

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
A real brownie! These are very simple to make. I made this with the exact ingredients written but only half the recipe. I baked it in a 4" cake pan at 165°C and it baked perfectly in 32 minutes. Allow to cool before cutting, removing from pan or making judgements. At first it seems like a nice chocolate cake. After cooling they begin to get their brownie characteristic of crumbly tops and rich and moist middles. The description is a bit misleading though. My idea of "healthy" and the recipe submitter's idea are different. To me the cholesterol in this brownie is a luxury my family can't afford often. The use of coconut oil is better than butter, but 6 eggs leaves you with 82 mg of cholesterol per serving. The problem is, once you try them you're hooked, they're just darn good! This is definitely a brownie worth trying; albeit only every once in a while when you can indulge if you are watching your cholesterol. Thank you walbome for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Thousand Island Dressing II

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Easy and excellent. I whipped up 1/4 of this recipe in a hurry when I had 3 minutes left for my (frozen section) Rueben Bites to finish cooking in the oven. It made a lot, about 3/4 cup! The dressing went very well with my snack! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deep-Fried Zucchini Spirals

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I finally treated myself to a spiral vegetable slicer, & wondered when on Earth I'd need it! Well, I saw this recipe on another reci"peeps" site, and I decided to try it. You made it so easy, I did zuuks, mushrooms, and some sweet onion rings! I'm stuffed, they were so great!!! And my friends say they are too!! We all gave the recipe AND method a FIVE star rating!!! Shorecook, you're a genius!!! Thanks for posting!!! Blessings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Brunch Baked French Toast

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
YUM. Love that I can make it all ready at once. Bottom caramelizes so it doesn't even need syrup. And crunchy on top. Win win win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is a keeper per hubby. I hadn't fixed stuffed peppers in a while and these were very good. Next time I will use mozzarella cheese instead of mild cheddar. Leftover filling looks promising for hard/soft taco filling plus sour cream or burritos. Will definitely make again. 5/1/2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone

Blueberry Oat Dream Bars

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This was the Buzz Recipe Group Selection for the week of April 27, 2015. I made using all the listed ingredients, however, I did use my own homegrown frozen blueberries. I used the dough hook in my Cuisinart food processor to make the crust. Pressed into the bottom of my lined and lightly greased pan, baked for 12 minutes and then allowed the crust to cool. Poured filling into crust and baked for exactly 30 minutes. I allowed to cool on the counter for about 10 minutes and then placed in the refrigerator for an hour. Such an easy, delicious recipe worthy of five stars! Thank you, ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~ for sharing your recipe for Blueberry Oat Dream Bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is good stuff! I cut back on the garlic a bit because we aren't fans of a lot of garlic. I doubled the recipe and took half to a friend who had been in the hospital. It was a hit. I have made it twice since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red BBQ Slaw

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Tastes just like it's supposed to taste and I am thrilled! It's just as good as the old J&G BBQ slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Cheese Grits

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This turned out ok. It was filling for sure but it was dry and tough and lacked flavor. I even used half mild/spicy sausage. I'll stick with the 'Cheesy Ham & Grits Breakfast Casserole' from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Wanted to love this but couldn't. It's so full of good stuff but the cheese was overwhelming. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I made this and a different chocolate cake from this website at the same time. And this one is it. It came out moist, rich chocolatey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

Fresh Tortilla Triangles

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Happy May Day!!! Cinco de Mayo is right around the corner. So appreciate the reminder Pam, once again to not look to a pre-made product to serve your family meals, but to revert back to your own kitchen techniques!!! And, isn't that whal AllRecipes is all about!!! Getting us away from preservatives and feed our families good, wholesome foods!! And, have a little fun once in a while. None of us would dream of eating these every day, but on occasion, it's just having fun in the kitchen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Jalapeno Popper Quesadillas

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Love the idea of these quesadillas, and they turned out very well! Loved the cream cheese, nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Green Pizza

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This was good! I had a bag of mixed lettuce, so I used arugula, spinach and some swiss chard. Loved the pesto in place of a sauce. Very fun pizza :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Crab Dip

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I used 16 Oz cream cheese, 10 Oz crab meat, 4 Oz shrimp, 1/2 cup minced onion, 2 cloves garlic minced, 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, juice from 1 lime, 2 tsp Tapatio hot sauce. Skipped the Worcestershire sauce. Heated in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Oni

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Living In: Highland Springs, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Hummus

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I used sesame seeds, I didn't want to take the time to make the tahini! Great, smooth taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cobb Salad

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Great basic recipe, I forgot the green onions but it was fine without them. I used the dressing from the BLT Salad recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States