Southern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Morris2012

Chocolate Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Yummy!! Made a chocolate glaze for it and perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morris2012

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Fantastic! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennbo

Lentil Lemon Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was incredibly suspicious of the lentil-lemon combination, but I had lentils to use up and wanted a nice, inexpensive soup to make - and it turned out amazing. This recipe blew my mind! So much flavor and very satisfying. The only changes I made were using vegetable broth since it was what I had on hand, and dried thyme since I didn't have any fresh. I can't wait to use up the reserve broth from the soup. Served with homemade whole wheat pita - don't tell my husband he just ate (and loved) a completely vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
great! The only thing I changed was they type of wine, but only because I couldn't find it Aldi. We thickened ours up, and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I actually just realized that I used sweetened condensed milk instead of evap milk (duh)... Lol, even still, it was very tasty, but I did have to add milk to thin it out (I'll blame the sweetened cond milk for the thickness). Next time I will try it with the correct ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup III

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I did as someone we lose suggested and used some bacon grease in the roux. I also used 2 cups chicken stock and 4 cups milk and added a couple cloves of garlic... it was absolutely delicious and I will have this as the goto baked potato soup recipe. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Britt Machowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This soup is fabulous, restaurant quality! love it! Iadded carrot,onion,celery and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love this recipe! I prefer salty savory snack and they usually are not very healthy. But this is a keeper! I didn't use oil, just sprayed them down with PAM. Sprinkled half with season salt and the other half with garlic salt. I found at 10 minutes they were a bit soggy still, so I turned the oven off and left them in another 5 minutes. PERFECT CRUNCH! Next time I am thinking of adding a little Parmesan cheese. Thanks, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rollyne Klem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I LOVE balsamic, but did not like this. It tastes better cold than warm. I plan to re-purpose the leftovers into something more palatable. Maybe pork fried rice or Cuban sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious as written. Be careful not to over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA

Nacho Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Super clever! Kiddo loves plain old cheese sauce on nacho chips. She loves this! I cut some tortillas into triangles, fried in 350 degree oil, lightly salted and drained them. She had a great snack without having to go to the local fast food taco place. I bet it would be good and kid friendly over veggies, too. As promised, not fancy, just tasty and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Does this freeze well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Ryder Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sweet and Savory Pineapple Pork Loin

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Easy. Tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, and I must say that the actual cooking time posted was a bit too long for my roast. I did put a meat thermometer in, but I didn't look at it fast enough! The meat was already on the well-done side at 25 minutes. Also, I would recommend doubling the honey, mustard, pepper and pineapple, so you would have more of that yummy sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Turkey Stock

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good basic stock recipe! I let mine simmer longer than called for and didn't have celery on hand this time, but otherwise followed ingredients / instructions. As soon as it cools, I'll be dividing this into some ziplocs and getting this liquid gold in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Wild Rice and Leftover Turkey Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a great base recipe to change-up to your family's tastes / preferences. I cooked my rice with the onion before mixing with the chopped turkey (and I mixed in some thawed frozen veggies) and added a sprinkling of cheesy crackers over the top then baked 20 minutes and it was really good! My family ate it all up for a tasty weekend lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by Bibi

Asparagus Avocado Medley Evonne Style

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a colorful, tasty alternative to a lettuce-based salad. With a nice mix of veggies and a lively vinaigrette, it will find a place on my table, often. I followed the recipe very closely, only subbing in cherry tomatoes, which I had on hand. The next time I make this, I will add a bit less onion, and perhaps grate it into the vinaigrette. I also added a pinch of salt, after tasting. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
GEEEEEEZZZZZZZZZZZ, this was ridiculously good! Only things I did differently were add a little more season to the outside of the chicken before cooking it, quartered a small onion and put the pieces in the cavity of each chicken. The sauce is so flavorful but if you do prefer your sauces a little thicker, whisk in some flour when you're transferring the juices. I usually do this in a big measuring cup/glass before putting it into a saucepan. Makes it easier to mix it all together so you don't end up with little flour chunks floating around. Look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Creamy Garden Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Love this! Since I'm not a huge fan of cukes, this has changed me! Will make this again, thanks for the recipe! (PS yes, way too much dressing, it may appear to taste too salty, but the cucumbers do balance that out. TIP:Don't skip the salt your cukes step, it releases water, so the dressing doesn't get so watered down)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by sueb

Saharan West African Peanut and Pineapple Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I dried the pineapple, and that was great! The rest of the soup was easy to put together. I used cashew milk instead of cream, and had a creamy smooth texture with bits of vegetables. This is a marvellous soup! Next time, I will make my own peanut butter for this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb

Falafel I

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Love the touch of peanut butter in these! Great taste! I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States