Southern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Taco Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was pretty good! I will definitely make it again. My 6 year old twins thought it was a little spicy but still liked it okay. My husband and I loved it. The ground beef I use comes in 1-1/3 pound packages, so I used all of that, plus a can of black beans and about 8 oz of frozen spinach (because I sneak that into anything I can). Since I added the beans and spinach I doubled the remaining ingredients and split it into two dishes and froze one, (omitting the last layer of chips and cheese... I'll add that when I thaw it). I used mayo and plain yogurt, plus a little bit of garlic. Super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisGG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken with Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Whee doggies! The chef wasn't kidding when he said this was an intense food experience and wasn't for bland palates. I LOVED it! My eyeballs are still sweating, but as my husband, Mr. Meat and Potatoes, put it, "There is a whole lot going on here and I'm getting tingly in the back of my head." We are trying to eat healthier, so did not have a huge hunk of Italian bread to sop up all the wonderful broth, but we made do with straight up slurping it out of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was very heavy and I found myself picking around the pepperoni because it just didn't work with the pasta. I can see how this would be a good family (kid pleasing) dish but if you're making for just adults, I would look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Cakes II

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made as written. Loved it. Will add a little cayenne and a little more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Chicken a la King I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Wonderful! I left out the pimentos and added extra mushrooms and served it over egg noodles . It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I had to scale this down to 3 servings because I only had about 6 oz of cream cheese. The only problem with that is it left us wanting more! So goooood! Cooked it about 12 minutes in a little dish. It probably could have cooked the entire time and browned more on top but I was afraid with there being such a little amount and it was fabulous so all is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe is FANTASTIC & so versatle. I have even used chicken breast instead of pork. It's simply delicious! I add onion powder to the season rub also some diced onion & minced garlic to the sauce. You can add any variety of spices to your taste and you can also substitute the wine for chicken stock, but the wine really adds another level to the taste you don't get with stock. This was an instant family favorite & is now in our biweekly must haves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TastePeachesNCream

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Papaya Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I do a lot of canning. I mashed the papaya up by pulsing the food processor after I peeled the fruit. Also, I have Amish cookbooks and they recommend using jello in place of pectin; it's cheaper and adds a pretty color. If you do this, be aware that the color jello you use will affect the results. Use 'orange' for this recipe, not lime. If you use the jello, for 5 cups of sugar, I'd recommend taking about 1/2 cup out because the jello has sugar in it and it will be a little too sweet otherwise. Leave the OJ out. Also, I noticed some c/o the jam being a little runny. The Amish book I have recommends freezing fruit before use. Has something to do with the pectin levels (better consistency). Also, for you that have papaya trees and are running over in fruit, my suggestion is "have you ever made homemade wine"? I started making it due to an over abundance of fruit from when I lived in the Apple Valley in Washington. I gave the recipe 4 stars. It was ok, but if I would have lessened the sugar, I think it would have been better (I did not lessen to 4.5 cups & jello has sugar). The flavor was ok, but not as good as I'd like; however, the person on here that suggested habanero peppers..not a bad idea. Kicking it up a notch in that way would be an added punch to regular pepper jelly; if you haven't tried it, do. Nice holiday gift with cream cheese & crackers. Habanero are hot, so if you don't like it really hot try serrano &/or jalapeno. Serrano have really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is a sure winner! I've made it time and time again, just made a batch something about a rainy day to say, 'time to stock up on granola'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddw819

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Very easy and had good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

The Best Gluten Free Brownies Ever...Seriously

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe using 3/4 cup of GF flour blend - without any gums added - and enjoyed the brownies very much. I don't care for the use of xanthan gum and by reading the other reviews mentioning that the batter seemed "glob-like" or "sticky" felt this was because of the gum and chose to omit it altogether. I used an 8X8 square baking dish (approx. 2 inches high) and they cooked evenly throughout in approximately 30 minutes. The end product was crumbly. I imagine this was due to the lack of any binders. I will definitely use this recipe again. The taste is in fact delicious just like a traditional brownie. Perhaps the next time I'll use some arrowroot or sweet rice flour to help bind more. Thank you Lindsay for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this last night and consider it one of the best recipes I've found on this site. Don't cut the liquid smoke and maybe add a tad more!! I also added a full tsp of the tequila which I think added quite a bit of flavor and evened out the taste of the lime. Otherwise I didn't alter this at all. I wouldn't marinate it over 2 hours with the acidity of the lime which can break down the chicken (it was already breaking down at 2 hours.) I had to broil my chicken since it started storming wildly and it was still the most tasty marinated meat I've had in a long time! Oh, and I did not make the ranch sauce from scratch (which is probably delicious,) and instead mixed ranch dressing with salsa (the real star here is the chicken so it didn't matter.) I can't wait to get it on the grill. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe.I place all of my cakes into the freezer.It makes them easier to frost for one thing but also very dense & moist which is how i like my cake!Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Hummus

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was a very quick recipe; easy to make with ingredients we normally keep on hand, and easy on the pocketbook, compared with the price of store-bought. I did end up tracking down tahini paste, because this didn't quite satisfy my taste-testers. Once that was added, it was a huge hit! I don't believe I need to pay four dollars for a little plastic tub at the grocery store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Steak Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
No but sounds fabulous. Can this be made in a slow cooker?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

Pup-Cakes

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
GARLIC IS TOXIC TO DOGS As well as onion, avocado, grapes, raisins, and (of course) chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this last year as a vegetarian option to sandwich meat at the Welcome back luncheon for our teachers. It got rave reviews by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. I will be sharing this recipe widely and will definitely use it again. I took the advice of others and used a mid-level wine we had on hand. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
These are delicious. I marinated mine all day long and went exactly by the recipe. I could have used a little more heat but otherwise, very good. I cooked my marinade down to about half and brushed it on the grilling chicken. It came out kinda sticky and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten Free Pie Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This worked perfectly. I did use cocoa flavoured GF crispy rice cereal instead of Chex and cocoa powder and sugar. It held up perfectly to my cheesecake. Thanks Johnnycakes for this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Made this for my family years ago and they LOVED it; beware because it does have a high fat content!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States