Southern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Healing Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was quick and easy to make, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Barbacoa Meat

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
With the mixed reviews, I was hesitant to make this recipe. After cutting off most of the fat, I did have about 2 lbs of meat remaining. I cut the salt (used flake sea salt), cumin, and garlic by half but kept the water and onion the same since I had appointments that day. I didn't find it salty at all. With onions, cilantro, limes, and Corn Tortillas (from AR) this recipe was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Gingerbread

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time when I was nine years old. Today, I make it for my husband, daughter and grandkids. This recipe has stood the test of time and is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Pot Roast with Vegetables

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious! I converted this to a crockpot. I seared the beef in bacon grease then put in a slow cooker and topped with everything else, and just omitted the corn starch step. Used sweet potatoes in place of white. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Best of Both Worlds Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very yummy! I wasn't sure the skin on the breast would be crispy enough, but it was. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Squash Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Added some chocolate chips....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Swift

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Chef John's Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Had the texture of Naan and was gummy. I made exactly as is and each tortilla was about 8" diameter. Will try again just in case it was my fault but I've made several tortilla recipes before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Corn Tortillas

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Served with Barbacoa Meat. I should have doubled these together before cooking because the liquids made them soggy. Although I don't like corn tortillas, these were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Simple Caesar Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe is WAY to bitter/tart. I followed the recipe exactly then tasted it and puckered up! So I tried adding some sugar, not much help. Next time I will cut the vinegar in half or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker

Creamy Wild Rice Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
We all enjoyed this and I will make it again. We do several potluck dinners throughout the year and this would be great! I added a bit of shredded cheese to the top before and used Ritz craCkers instead of saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Garlic-Lemon Mahi Filets

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great recipe, absolutely delicious! And super easy to make. No ingredient was too over powering, just a perfect combination of all of them. Didn't change a thing, and found no need to! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Nacho Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Yummy, fast & easy. Didn't have mayo or salsa, substituted sour cream, diced tomatoes & added bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skipper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

OREO Cheesecake

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My granddaughter requested an OREO cheesecake for her birthday and this is the recipe I used. I did bake it in a water bath and added a dash of almond extract along with the vanilla extract. I decorated the top with whipped cream and mini OREO bites. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Bea

Blueberry Cream Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Yummy! I cut the recipe in half because only 3 of us. I only have about 3/4 cup of sour cream left ( didn't want to go to the store just for that), it still turn out great!??I also sprinkle raw sugar, about 1/2 teaspoon on top of each muffin before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Sweet Sriracha Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made close to as written... I tried to make the recipe from memory instead of pulling it up on my phone. After I started I discovered I had Apricot Preserves not Orange marmalade. I also forgot the water but it was ok because my Apricot preserves were a 16oz jar not 12oz and it did not need the extra water. I upped the sriracha based on other reviews and found that 2TB was perfect. Can't wait to try it again with orange marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

Creamy Spinach Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great recipe! My son picky that is two was cleaning his bowl. It is definitely a keeper! I want it more creamy, but I LOVE SPINACH, so it was still good!;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherealove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Salmon Chowder

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I thought this was really good and filling.. My non salmon liking hubby thought it was just okay and my son was not crazy about it either... I will not make again only because they didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01

Creamy Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These were delicious! I doubled the recipe and divided into smaller pans to freeze for a quick meal for later. The only change I made was swapping regular cream cheese for jalapeno cream cheese, but we like spicy food. These reheated well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I like this dish simply because it is different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseyk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frozen Vegetable Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
after making this, I let the wife taste it...bad idea. she begin adding more peanut butter. I'm not a fan. so I then had to doctor it. then she comes back from bathroom and... the battle was on.I did add more garlic powder. seriously, it does need minor tweaks for taste, but very good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States