Southern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This recipe is very similar to the recipe my hubby has been using for years. He tried this one last night, and we both enjoyed it. We used 1.5 tsp of anchovy paste instead of the anchovies just because it was easier at the time and we added 1/4 tsp of Tabasco. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESELF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
PERFECT! My 8 yr. old helps to make these. Really easy and so delicious! 2nd time within a week to make them :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy Staymates Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone

Jan's Creamsicle Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Delicious and easy cookies which taste just like an orange creamsicle. I used Duncan Hines® Orange Supreme cake mix and added one tablespoon of orange liqueur and one teaspoon of orange extract, mixed all ingredients and chilled for two hours. Using a tablespoon cookie scoop, I placed scoops of dough on parchment lined cookie sheets, baked for 12 minutes and allowed to cool on cookie racks. Thanks, Jan for sharing your personal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos)

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made this for supper and was hesitant too, because my husband told me when we were dating that he strongly disliked Mexican food (I happen to love it). When I made it, he never said a word during dinner, which is odd for him. At the end of his bowl, he said "wow, I could actually live in Mexico, that was so good!" and I replied back "I was worried you didn't like it because you were so quiet." He responded back with "Well, yeah, if I started talking I would have to quit eating!" So, yeah, I would say this recipe is a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Very good, I did find that I needed to add water part of the way through because mine became dry. Other than that, it was left the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sharese's Spaghetti Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
My family really enjoyed this. I am not usually a fan of dousing Italian dressing on my dishes because it takes over and every bite basically tastes like the dressing. But in this case I didn't mind too much. I actually prepared this dish for my son's little league cookout but unfortunately we brought it back home (only a few people ate from it). I assumed the spaghetti would have really gotten the kids attention. Who knows. But my family liked it and it didn't go to waste. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Twice Baked Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
My family gobbled the entire 9x13 dish of these in one evening (is that a good thing? lol) Needless to say, they were delicious. I admit I added broccoli to ours, we always do when making loaded potatoes. Thanks for sharing. Next time I will consider caramelizing some onions first rather than just adding them raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Costa del Sol Barbeque Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is a creamy and flavourful sauce. I made a mini batch to use on baked chicken wings. The next day I used it on a bacon burger and it was even better. It's a perfect blend of spice and tang with a hint of sweet. Thanks Don for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Vinegar free(almost) bbq sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is a nice smokey yet smooth bbq sauce that despite the sugar and honey, wasn't too sweet. I used homemade (gluten free and vegan) Worcestershire and vegan broth instead of whiskey. I made it about 24 hours in advance. Everyone loved it. It is thick but it worked perfectly for us to use as a dipping sauce for chicken wings. Thank you linda2d for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This was very good! Though I took the advice of some of the other reviewers to cut the salt I used 1/2 pack of the soup mix and cut the butter, added cheese and a little water and cooked in the microwave for 10 minutes and it came out great! This is a quick tasty meal so preparation for an entire meal was like 45minutes, including frying chicken and making vegetables. This will stay in rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Wilcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Roasted Chicken Rub

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made no changes to recipe. This rub really does make your chicken taste like Roast Chicken! It's surprising !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
it was so good. very fluffy and chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Way too thin. I added almost an entire bag of powdered sugar and there was absolutely no difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Warning: Not a quick dessert. Needs time to set up. Refrigerate the jello/pineapple/blueberry combination overnight for best results. 1. Use one 6 oz. package of raspberry jello. You can substitute black berry, grape, or cherry jello but you will definitely taste the jello so chose your favorite. 2. Drain the pineapple for several hours and use the remaining (approximately 1 1/2 cups) pineapple juice with water to equal the 2 cups. Microwave the juice until boiling then whisk for 2 minutes to form the jello. 3. Add a can of blueberry pie filling, crushed pineapple, and one extra cup of fresh blueberries to the jello. 4. Refrigerate overnight. 5. Make the topping as directed. Garnish with blueberries. Great for a family reunion dessert or party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was wonderful. You do need to refrigerate it so it will "set". I made it for company and was so worried it wouldn't ever set. It did, and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was a nice take on a sloppy joe. It was really good. Husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

White Peachy Sangria

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This white peach sangria was absolutely amazing! Instead of regular brandy, I added peach brandy and it came out absolutely great! This sangria was definitely a huge hit at my party! Will be adding this to my summer must haves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

7-Up® Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Theses were a very good alternative to traditional biscuits (which I make every weekend for breakfast). They are non traditional in the fact that the soda has sugar which is not part of a traditional biscuit. They are very light and nice with butter and jam. I also have added grated cheddar before putting in a muffin tin and then right when they come out of the over I brush liberally with melted butter that has been simmered with a couple of smashed cloves of garlic. Taste just like those you get at a famous seafood chain. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot)

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I had thawed out ground pork for a meatloaf that didn't get made and was looking for something to do with it. I didn't have the fennel or the vinegar, but forged ahead anyhow. I let them sit for an hour, then made them and cooked them. They were great! I can't wait to try the original recipe when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I was really dissappointed with the lack of flavor in this dish. I thought between the wine, shallots and garlic it would have a lot. As someone else suggested, I added some capers to the leftover sauce and it made the biggest difference.That, was a great idea. I'll make it again adding the capers and will use onions the next time because the shallots are expensive and didn't add anything to the flavor. Also, if you expect the garlic flavor to come through, you may want to add more or put the one clove through a garlic press instead of mincing. I'd also venture to say that if you didn't have wine on hand, you could just substitute with more chicken broth. This was very easy and quick to make and used only one pan. That's always a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States