Southern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lisa's Easy Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Yes, this is easy to throw together, but be sure to read the recipe all the way through. It must bake for an hour, so it's not exactly the best recipe to select for an evening when you work late. Other than that, which was my fault, and I will certainly not dock the recipe for that, this was tasty. Mine made a good quantity of liquid, which could be thickened and enjoyed over pasta or rice, but I chose this for it's low carbs. I didn't have tomatoes, but I don't think the dish suffered for that. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
How could you go wrong with delicious chicken, bacon and the sweet/spicy taste of barbecue sauce? Another awesome way to make this recipe is to take chicken tenders and poke a skewer through and use a grill instead of an oven. This is a great appetizer too! Cut in small bites, after cooking the bacon cut pieces in half and wrap around each chicken bite. You wouldn't need to cook as long, but these would be cute with toothpicks poking out as well. Kudos Rach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Taco Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
We have also done this with Lipton Taco rice which gives it a very heavy taco flavor, and the Lipton Spanish Rice which had a sweet undertone to it. I think you could use plain rice if you wanted, or yellow rice, or and of your own seasoned rice that goes good with tacos and it would taste good. We also did without the corn one night and it was still good, but we decided we liked having the corn in there. I have been thinking of doing it with hominy, or some beans, just not sure what kinds. I hope I see comments and reviews of people trying it on here. That could give me inspiration. I cook a lot and I am going to finally start putting my family recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Zorbis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Easy Chicken Skillet

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Started out a written except for the fact that four bunches of green onions has got to be a typo. I love me some green onions but have to think this was supposed to be 4 onions and not 4 bunches. With that being said, why limit yourself to just broccoli when they make the frozen stir-fry blend? That is what I used which gave me variety and also a lot more color. Great recipe for times when you just don't have time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Simple and Delicious Beet Greens

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I didn't boil first as my greens were pretty young. Perfect way to eat greens..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Mexican Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe. Tried to upload a photo, but it wouldn't let me for some reason. I made this as an appetizer to our main course, Creamy Burrito Casserole. I didn't measure my torn romaine lettuce; I just bought a 10 oz. bag of Hearts of Romaine, and used the whole thing. I also substituted shredded cheddar cheese with shredded Mexican cheese. I didn't rinse or drain the ranch style beans; just dumped it in. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly. (I try to take the easy approach on most things.) I admit, everyone loved it! However, next time, I plan on adding 1 more cup of cheese, 1 more cup of corn chips, and at least another 1/4 cup of Catalina dressing. However, this combination is spectacular! Wouldn't want to add anything else to this. It did take me about 35 minutes to make; I made it while my casserole was in the oven. This recipe is also good enough to just be dinner. Both my roommate and I agreed we would enjoy making just this and having it for dinner one night. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xxPERCYxx

Spinach Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Oh my god it tasted and looked amazing and would highly recommend making this for family dinners and party's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xxPERCYxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie Osment Dalton

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I always like to make it just like the recipe says first, then decide if I want to change it to better suit my taste. I did this one just like it said except I did add a little red pepper flakes because I like the contrast of sweet with a little kick of heat. We really loved it! It's a keeper for sure! Thanks for a delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Osment Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Poppy Seed Chicken II

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Love, love, love this recipe. I used lighter ingredients and added bit of garlic powder, onion powder and celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I feel like the Lone Ranger on this one, but, here it goes...i made this exactly as written. The chicken turned out quite moist & that's the reason this is getting at least 1 extra star. Otherwise, my family found this chicken to be mediocre at best. Dear daughter didn't like it at all. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New Potatoes with Caper Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I just put all the additions to the butter in a small food processor before adding to the butter and that made it much faster. Great potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Evacuation Tuna & Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
This was delicious. I used penne pasta and roasted cherry tomatoes instead of red peppers, but followed everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney Ford

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I made this tonight and it was very good. I typically don't modify on the first try but my SO hates onions. So I used just 1 Tbs dried minced onion in the meat mixture and doubled the mushrooms. He and I both liked it, the toddler doesn't get a vote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Cindi's Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Simple recipe that really needs sauce to be good. Be to sure to not overcook the cabbage mixture. Mine made exactly a one pound package egg roll wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I used seasoned bread crumbs, adding garlic, parmesan cheese and basil to the mix. They turned out great. Quick dinner for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Grilled Garlic Parmesan Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Great way to fix vegetables on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Zesty Zucchini and Squash

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Very good and easy recipe. Add a little cheese to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Corn and Zucchini Melody

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Easy and Delicious Slow Cooker Cassoulet

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
My whole family loved this. I added some chicken broth before cooking to make more sauce to be daubed up with a baguette. Toute ma famille a aimé ça! J'ai ajouté du bouillon de poule avant la cuisson pour faire plus de sauce à absorber avec de la baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Cornbread Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I halved the recipe and used homemade ranch dressing and real bacon (bacon bits eww). I think overall the salad was good but needed something, maybe taco seasoning mixed into the dressing. I was hesitant about it because I'm not a mushy bread fan but the texture of the cornbread didn't bother me. I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States