Southern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kellidd

Spinach and Mandarin Orange Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe is great! It is very retro with the warm dressing but the combo of butter, sugar, and vinegar is delectable! I did not use slivered almonds because I had toasted pecans and that were fabulous. I recommend this for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Fantastic. The servings count was a little low - no serving size mentioned, so we used 1 cup. It was absolutely delicious. We'll be doubling the recipe for our next go around. This served 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I probably had this on low for about 8 hours or so . . .I put it together with frozen chicken breasts the night before, kept it all in the crock in the fridge, and had my husband put it in the slow cooker this morning, then switched it to warm and shredded the chicken in the crock when I got home. I tasted it and thought it needed something, but figured I'd wait for the bbq lover (AKA my husband) to taste it and see if he thought it needed anything. He thought it was good as is, so I left it alone. While mixing the sauce, I did double the sauce itself, halve the maple syrup, and added garlic powder and liquid smoke (probably about 3 tablespoons of the liquid smoke--no, I didn't mean to add that much, but it seems to have worked). I served it on Hawaiian rolls with cheese and hubs enjoyed it. This did have what seemed to me a lot of leftovers, but I'm giving some to a friend to try and we'll put the rest over baked potatoes sometime this week. I liked that this didn't use bottled bbq sauce as well--a great recipe when I'm out of it in the house and don't feel like picking up any. I also think cooking in the slow cooker makes the sauce a bit runny, but after shredding the chicken I thought it mixed together just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonderful Short Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this tonight following the recipe as instructed (added 2 cloves of garlic) and it was fabulous. We served the sauce over the meat and rigatoni and had a nice side salad. We topped our pasta with parmesan cheese. I only wish I had some crusty French bread to soak up more sauce. This will be our go-to short rib recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Beans and Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
We loved this delicious and easy recipe. I cooked it in a skillet on the stovetop, 25-30 minutes. Served it over rice with shredded cheddar cheese on top. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Amazing! Used Russet potatoes and ended up adding about 1/2c (maybe more) of 1% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Cheesy Peas

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very good. It needs a different cheese, although I don't know what. The cheddar overpowered the other flavors. But, it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was a big hit!!! I read so many of the reviews and was debating how much wing sauce to put with the chicken. We love spicy stuff! I just happened to have about 10 ounces of Louisiana wing sauce original in the cabinet so I used that. I also added about a tablespoon of butter in the beginning with one packet of ranch. Cooked on low for about 4 hours then turned on high for about one hour then shredded the chicken and put back in the original sauce. Once shredded I put back on low for about 2 hours which was perfect. I used 2 frozen breasts and 5 tenderloins. This made a big batch!! I was so unsure to drain the chicken or not but I am glad I did not, the shredded chicken soaked up the rest of the sauce. I never did add any extra hot sauce. I also added about 1/4 block of cream cheese and a little garlic pepper. This was perfect. It was very spicy so I would never be able to use the entire bottle of Wing sauce. Thank you for a great recipe!!!!!!! Oh and I used hoagie buns, I put butter on them and a thin layer of sharp shredded cheddar and baked about 4 minutes for a toasted bun. Happy happy husband!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LearningToCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
My hubby and I really enjoyed this recipe! It was so moist and so tasty! ...and easy! Thanks for sharing! Will definitely be making again.... and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peacock
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
LOVED IT. I did make 1 mistake. After I grilled the eggplant and sausage (for extra flavor), I scooped out the eggplant, combined all the ingredients as stated and stuffed it into large prebaked Portobello mushroom caps coated in EVOO and lightly salted. I somehow forgot about the eggplant "boats". It was to die for. I had so much filling left after piling two caps full, that I made the same dish the next night using 6 slightly smaller caps. I found that the caps are so dense where the stem is removed, I chose to slice shallow slits at the thickest part so they would bake evenly. Please try this small change of using the caps vs the eggplant shells. No waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Slow Cooker Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Pretty good. Yes, a tad dry even on low for 4 hours and starting with frozen chicken breasts. Still rather tasty. I wasn't a fan of how little the sauce covered when I put it in (although I did use canned chopped tomatoes--don't have crushed) so I added a full can of paste, some olives and mushrooms. I think the olives jacked up the flavor--which if you like olives is a good thing. If you don't like olives, not so much. My husband complained it tasted like olive brine--he's not an olive fan, so I guess I have to add those just to my portion if I make this again. I did cut down the balsamic vinegar a bit since there were complaints it was sweet. However, I don't think it was very sweet, just tangy. It was rather liquidy so I added about 1/2 a package of dry pasta when the chicken was cooked and mixed it in. It was cooked and ready to serve within an hour and soaked up all of the juices. All in all, not bad, but maybe a few more adjustments would make some people happier, and unfortunately I don't think this is a good recipe if you are away from home more than a couple of hours at a time, as it does appear to need someone to keep watch on it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe is quite good. However, there was way to much hot so I would half chipolte. The combination of hot/sweet was a big hit. I also cooked it in my cast iron skillet instead of a grill and this worked just as well. Just make sure you sear all sides of the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This salmon was amazing!!! I made exactly to the recipe..... I also boiled the leftover marinade on the stove with a bit of cornstarch (to thicken) and we used the sauce to over the fish after serving. I even found my husband spooning it on his roll!!! It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Thai Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
One of my favorite dishes. I like it spicy! I will sometimes add some toasted sesame seeds to the mix. I also use Dreamfields angel hair pasta because it has a lower-glycemic toll than regular pasta and it tastes and feels just the same. Be sure to use toasted sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM

Avocado, Tomato and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
5 stars for me!! This was such a great fresh salsa. Mangos were subtle but gave it a new twist from traditional salsa. I served it at a dinner party and they loved it! I had to give out the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Mac

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I wanted to make this tonight as a surprise for my husband because it was the first thing he cooked for me 25 years ago when we first met and started dating. He thinks this is what "sealed the deal" so to speak! lol I let him think that ;-) This casserole is in the oven as I am writing this. I stole a little bit before I put it in the oven and it is AWESOME! OF course my husband's version is very straight forward. Blue box Kraft Mac and Cheese, 1 can tuna, a slice of Kraft Singles on the top (cut diagonally, because he's fancy) hahahaha Then baked. PERFECTION! lol Just between us though... This one is MUCH better! I did swap out the mushrooms for peas just because I was in the mood for peas, I also added in a little Dijon mustard, but that's it. Oh, and I still got Kraft Mac and cheese, but the fancier one that has the cheese sauce in it,( because I'M fancy! lol) unlike the orange powder (what IS that stuff anyway? )lol I love it and can't wait for my husband to get home so he can have it tonight. Thanks Melissa Loudy for posting this :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Crunchy Bread Stix - Fowlerville Pizzeria Style

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
pretty simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I am making it right now as I text and what a breeze this Recipe is to put together. I know I will love it as all ingredients called for are on my 'foods to eat' list. I do have a question, Patti. Could I cut the cooking time down by having it on high the first 2 hours and then finishing out the last 3 hours on low? That way it is a total of 5 hours of cooking time instead of the 7 hrs called for on low, originally. I'm going to try this as got started a bit late today, due to an unexpected drop in. Life happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hebzynski

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very good very rich! This may be our new go to for pumpkin pie. I did double the spices but I do that in just about anything pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Easy Homemade Pie Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I keep trying different crust recipes hoping to find one I fall in love with and this is it. I loved this crust! Its perfection absolute perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States