Southern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Paleo Barbecue Sauce With Some Kick

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Now that is some kick and a punch or two! Definitely add the horseradish, cayenne and pepper flakes 1/4 tsp at a time. I had to use olive oil. Nonetheless, this is a very flavourful sauce. I used it as a dipping sauce and liked it. It was too spicy for the kids, so had to tone it down by adding more broth and then followed the directions in the notes to cook it down more. Definitely worth using on a chicken or beef before cooking and use this to baste while cooking. Thanks sammyc14 for this bold recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Fine Crisp Cakes

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Nice, very, very nice. I didn't know what this was supposed to be. Is it a cake, a cookie, a bar type dessert? Well, it is a mix of sorts. Crispy on top because of the egg, cake/bar-like in substance-and very delicate. I ate it for breakfast after leaving it to cool overnight. It goes very well with tea. The flavour is aromatic and spiced thanks to the allspice and sweet enough to compliment an un-sweetened drink. The turmeric gives it more a hue than color. It yielded 9 squares. It covered the bottom of a 9-inch pan with about 3/4 of an inch in height and rises very little. If you need to double the recipe do so in two separate pans as I don't think it would be as nice if it were thicker. It's perfect the way it is! I used gluten free flour without xanthan gum and it fell apart easily, so plan accordingly if you use gf flours. Thank you Jenna Arden for your adaptation of this treasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Strata

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
What is half and half, I live in NZ, haven't heard this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I love this recipe! It is so easy and delicious. My pawpaw used to make a vegetable beef soup that tasted almost exactly like this one, and he would make a pot of it especially for me when I would visit. I never found out his recipe before he died, so finding this one makes me so happy! Not only is it delicious, but it brings back great memories! It is also very quick and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban-Style Pork and Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Very unique flavors. I followed the recipe exactly, and I did not find it to be overdone at all. The pork was tender and the potatoes were soft, but not total mush. I served this over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was very good. I made exactly per recipe, except I didn't have breadcrumbs, and made my own, adding in Mrs. Dash's Italian seasoning. I will make it again, but I think I'll add a little more spice to the breadcrumb mix. Thank you for the nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frieda Balavage

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All-Natural Pink Frosting!

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Baked Parmesan Tilapia

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
My family really enjoy this dish but as the chef of the family I must say preparing this was definitely not "quick" as the description entails. It was involved and quite messy. I don't normally like to bread things because I simply do not like the mess....HOWEVER, the outcome of this recipe was worth it. The taste was great and it was crunchy. The leftovers were great between two pieces of white bread, pickles, cheese, and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Goat Cheese Arugula Pizza - No Red Sauce!

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was really good. I basically used all Trader Joe's products and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was pretty good. I used a frozen tenderloin but let it thaw just enough to get it out of the packaging, then browned it on all sides (what a mess it made of my stove top). I doubled the sauce and put the frozen tenderloin on Low for 6 hours and it was definitely done. Couldn't slice it because it wanted to shred. The sauce was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This wasn't the best, but probably could be used as a starter base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
So good! I halved the Panko mix the second time around and still had leftovers. Will definitely add this to the rotation, although I wish there was a light version that tasted as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Taco Cabbage Wraps

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Sorry. We found this to be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Just like everyone says... No reason to buy packets any more! This was very good. I add some home made salsa to the meat because it's the only way to get fresh veggies in some of my family members. Tomato sauce is a good way to thicken it up, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Midwest Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
OMG we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

Lime Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was a fail for me. As with most failures, I tend to blame my own approach first. Perhaps I made a mistake, omitted an ingredient, or made some other change without realizing it. They looked right and smelled wonderful, but even after thorough chilling, they were liquid when sliced. I may have to try again, because my family loves Key Lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Linda's Monster Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
FABULOUS recipe. Cookies are one of my favorite things to make, but this was my first attempt at Monster Cookies, and the family *loved* them. My husband asked me to make some for him to take to work next week so he can brag about them. That's quite a vote of confidence. They only variation I made was to use Butter Flavor Crisco instead of butter and margarine. I use it for all my cookies; it's my "secret ingredient". I also added a handful of chopped peanuts, just for a bit of texture and salt. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Pea Salad I

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
My family loved it .. great the next day also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
We aren't big fans of stroganoff but we both liked this. I always look through the reviews before I try a recipe. I took the advice of others and marinated in white wine, added garlic and worcestershire although I still added wine at the end. Very tasty, we want to try this with meatballs next. Thanks Donna for a simple but delicious addition to our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen & Bernie
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cafe Dulce de Leche

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Nice, caramel flavored coffee. I added a touch of cream, and it was very good. I can see using this when I'm out of my favorite flavored creamer and am in need of a coffee fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States