Jackson, Mississippi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simply Guacamole

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I loved the freshness of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian-Style Beef Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
No water! Just wrap tightly in foil while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
All I can say is this is a hit. Possibly the best thing I've ever made from this site. Everyone was pleased! I made this for a potluck...on the wrong day. I was wondering what I was going to do with sooooo much food left, but I didn't need to worry. This was all but gone the very next day! I made a few changes based on what I had and my energy level (I'm currently 5 1/2 months pregnant, so energy is a commodity these days). *Use 1 lb ground turkey *brown 1 (orange) bell pepper and 1 small onion with the turkey...season the meat with seasoned salt, garlic powder, and black pepper to taste. *mix 8oz sour cream w/ 8oz Philadelphia Garden Vegetable spread (I was not about to measure the sour cream and the cream cheese adds a lot of flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Newburg

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Harper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tips and Noodles

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is a tasty dish. I did sauté onions with the beef to brown the meat before baking. Adding 1/2 c wine gives it a great flavor, too. This is quick to assemble and smells great while cooking. Once it is in the oven, you can adjust the temperature to allow baking for as long as you need. You can start it baking at 375* and turn it down to 300* ; let it cook for 2 hours, if you need the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Turkey Wings with Yellow Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've been making this dish for years using this exact recipe. It is convenient and tastes great. Thanks for posting. (BTW, using whole turkey wings for stock is a waste of perfectly good meat. Stock can be made using the wing tips.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash_Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Gibson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

Pork Tenderloin Diane

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Great dish! However, we like our pork more well done, so I browned it longer(on medium low)...about 6-8 minutes per side. As others have said, double the sauce; that is what "makes the dish!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is definitely a keeper! I have made this many times and have used 3/4 cup each white cane sugar and light brown sugar. I have also used a can of Sprite, rather than Mountain Dew. This ALWAYS gets rave reviews at breakfast and for dessert. Ice cream makes it totally irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Semi~Homemade style, I don't have time to make homemade rolls so I bought refrigerated Cinnamon Rolls (Jumbo). I made the Ooey Gooey sauce & put into bottom of 9x13 pan, plopped the Cinnimen rolls on top...let sit for about an hour on the counter. Baked 25 min 350* & Viola!! Next thing I know they are GONE!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Okay, I acknowledge I am no chef in the kitchen....but this was by far the BEST desert I have ever made! VERY easy, fun & even the kids can help out. If you have not tried - PLEASE DO you will be the HIT at any party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Denver Omelet

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is delicious and so easy to prepare. We pour the mixture into an unbanked pie crust, bake it for 30-45 minutes@ 350*, and call it a breakfast quiche. It is really tasty with warm blueberry muffins and a bowl of fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Breakfast Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Refrigerated or frozen hash browns can be substituted for the baking potatoes. They make this quicker and easierr to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013 This is really tasty! It does need a little sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla in the beaten egg mixture to make the French toast. You can also use real bacon bits or cooked and crumbled sausage. The bacon bits really make it a snap since it is one less step in the recipe. It tastes just as good. This can also be an open-faced sandwich if you want to cut back on your bread intake. Just use a knife and fork to cut and eat it. We will certainly have this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Green Eggs and Ham Breakfast Sandwich

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Please disregard that last review. It was for another recipe. My bad! This one is great, especially for a Dr. Suess party food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Great recipe as is, but I, like others, cut the cream cheese in half. I also added some Swiss, Monterey Jack, and fresh Parmesan to the cheese stuffing. More cheese is ALWAYS better. I also baked it covered for 30 minutes and uncovered for 20-30 minutes. ( I want my chicken well done! :) ) Enjoy time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This marinade is quite good! You can substitute any Italian dressing (like Wishbone) for the oil and vinegar, if you like. It does well on meats and vegetables. The longer you marinate, the more flavorful the food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We have a new Christmas morning tradition with this recipe. I did exactly like printed. It would be good with a scoop of ice cream for dessert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes I

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've been making these sloppy Joes for over 50 years. They were included in a Campbell's Soup ad and with the three or four others, were called "Soup-er Burgers" Every one was delicious but I believe this was my favorite. Now, my great grandchildren enjoy them as much as their grandparents did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

Tater Tot Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family loved this. After reading other reviews...I added chopped onion when browning the meat, changed the cream of celery soup to another cream of mushroom(that is what I had on hand), and I have no idea how much tater tots I used because I had a huge bag from Sam's Club and so I just covered the top. I didn't stir the tots into it so they were still crunchy which we all loved the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
It was delish!! I did read the reviews & changed it a pinch: .1-cup white sugar, 1/2-cup brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon....and.... dipped the apples in (BEFORE ADDING BUTTER) that mixture first b4 wrapping in the crescent dough. AND I added a little less soda & a little Moscato wine.... snicker!! But it was DELISH!!!!!!!! Thank you for this recipe!!! Sincerely, Donna Collins, Panama City, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States