Baltimore - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Shrimpcargot

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
My husband could not stop eating this. Very tasty and simple. The only change i made was that I used already cooked shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This was so easy!! I made them for Valentines day and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by It's A Classic!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this recipe; I followed it to a "T" and it turned out amazing! We loved it and I will definitely make this again. I did omit the butter for olive oil, and I used light whipping cream... So may be not to a "T" but almost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Great Dish,I added 1lb of tiger shrimp and a1 lB of Rockfish both chopped to the mix. It was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenford Hynson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Chicken Breasts II

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
We really liked this with a few changes. I butterflied the chicken breasts and shortened the cooking time to about 20 min covered and 15 uncovered. The ratio of topping/sauce to chicken was perfect this way. If I had left the breasts whole, it would have been too bland and a bit dry. I also seasoned the chicken with a garlic seasoning blend along with the pepper, and I mixed the melted butter with the breadcrumbs before sprinkling it on top. Definitely a keeper recipe for busy nights. It was so quick to put together. Next time, I might try adding a slice of ham or prosciutto on top along with the cheese. Switching it up with cream of mushroom soup as others suggested sounds great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
We really liked this with a few changes. I butterflied the chicken breasts and shortened the cooking time to about 20 min covered and 15 uncovered. The ratio of topping/sauce to chicken was perfect this way. If I had left the breasts whole, it would have been too bland and a bit dry. I also seasoned the chicken with a garlic seasoning blend along with the pepper, and I mixed the melted butter with the breadcrumbs before sprinkling it on top. Definitely a keeper recipe for busy nights. It was so quick to put together. Next time, I might try adding a slice of ham or prosciutto on top along with the cheese. Switching it up with cream of mushroom soup as others suggested sounds great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I have to say, being Cuban and growing up with my Mother making this dish, I was not impressed. It lacked serious flavor, and the recipe was missing the green olives; so I added them in as well as some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was excellent and easy to make. Its a great option to have in any recipe box! The potato added a great texture to the cakes, great idea to incorporate it in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I've made this recipe several times, and I think its a great recipe. I added mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEvins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Fluffy Gluten Free Cornbread

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This was dry, crumbly, and disappointing. Turned it into bread crumbs for chicken and fish coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Oven Brown Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is my go to recipe for brown rice. We love it. It turns out perfect every time. I use chicken or beef broth sometimes. I have also replaced butter with olive oil. Keeper. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Arkansas Green Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Uhrlaub

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I wasn't too crazy about this recipe. I cut the sugar back to 1/4 cup because I didn't want it overly sweet. I used red bell pepper because I didn't have a green one. This is an okay recipe, but it seemed rather bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delish! Will have to double this recipe because it went fast between just two of us. I have other versions of this type of soup that include meat and other veggies, but if you need a quick and fast heart warming soup made with regular cupboard items, this is full of flavor without the meat and extra additions. I thought the corn ingredient seemed a bit strange and would make it too sweet with the added sugar, but not so. It is actually adds a nice texture to the soup and my soup was still tomato tart. Use crushed tomatoes only (not sauce, or diced, or stewed, etc.). Alternatively, crush the diced, stewed, if that's all you have on hand. The Parmesan is a must! I can't speak for the powdery kind, but real Parmesan was wonderful. We used frozen tortellini and tossed in for about 8 minutes, just long enough for them to thaw in the soup but not get mushy. Agree with others that more than 8 oz of tortellni will crowd this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I made this recipe and it was delicious. I followed the reviews and other's suggestions and Goya Sazon, being that my Mother and her family is from Cuba I also knew to toss in either green olives or capers. I used the capers. It turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Butter Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I just wound up not liking the flavor at all. I'm so disappointed. I think it's just my fickle tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Quick and easy, but mustard taste was too strong. Will make again, but with more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Pork Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I was so excited to make this for dinner tonight. Oh boy, was/am I disappointed. The lime and the vinegar are just too strong (I followed the recipe). It tasted like no Szechuan dish I have ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan St John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made this as written, and it was as others have said, (thick!!) orange spaghetti sauce. I didn't have problems with the milk curdling, but as it is, it is a base soup. Added some additional pureed tomatoes to bring back the redness and 2 cups of chicken broth to help thin it out a bit and give it more of a soup rather than spaghetti sauce consistency and flavor. Very enjoyable with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made this as written, and it was as others have said, (thick!!) orange spaghetti sauce. I didn't have problems with the milk curdling, but as it is, it is a base soup. Added some additional pureed tomatoes to bring back the redness and 2 cups of chicken broth to help thin it out a bit and give it more of a soup rather than spaghetti sauce consistency and flavor. Very enjoyable with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States