Baltimore - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made this as written, and it was as others have said, (thick!!) orange spaghetti sauce. I didn't have problems with the milk curdling, but as it is, it is a base soup. Added some additional pureed tomatoes to bring back the redness and 2 cups of chicken broth to help thin it out a bit and give it more of a soup rather than spaghetti sauce consistency and flavor. Very enjoyable with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made this as written, and it was as others have said, (thick!!) orange spaghetti sauce. I didn't have problems with the milk curdling, but as it is, it is a base soup. Added some additional pureed tomatoes to bring back the redness and 2 cups of chicken broth to help thin it out a bit and give it more of a soup rather than spaghetti sauce consistency and flavor. Very enjoyable with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Manicotti Alla Romana

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was very tasty!!! The changes that I made was that I subbed ground beef with ground turkey and added turkey italian sausage. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Napa Cabbage Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Very good. I forgot to add the green onions, and used a combination of baby bok choy, green cabbage, and purple cabbage - was very attractive with the purple. Will plan to dial back on the sugar in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Simply delicious! This was my first time making a sweet potato pie by myself (I usually make with my grandmother) and it came out PERFECT! I followed the instructions for the most part. The only variations that I made was using 1/2 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and 1 tsp of Lemon juice. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Parmesan Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was very good. I browned the breasts as shown in the video. I would only tweak things a little next time. I would slice the breasts in half or pound them thinner because the best bites were the ones that had a fairly even balance of topping to chicken breast. I also had large croutons so I broke them up some before adding them to the dish, and I think it would be even better if I crushed them more next time - not completely crushed into bread crumbs, but crumbly with some chunks so it's easier to get them spread evenly over the breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was a wonderful recipe! I followed Chef John's steps and recommendations, and this turned out so delicious! We did up the amount of red curry paste, as we like things spicy, but that was the only difference. I had never made Thai food before, but this was so simple and satisfying that I may have found a new avenue to explore. We have been on a real soup kick, and this will be added to the regular rotation. Awesome! Thank you, Chef John, for yet another easy and delicious recipe! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Fruity Cookie Press Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I used butter and sugar-free jello. With only 3 cups of flour, it went through the press fine. I think I will divide it in two and use a different box of jello on each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Gelatin with Mandarin Oranges

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I think a bit less vanilla would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I liked the flavor, but it was too solid for my cookie press. I used another recipe and the press worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fig and Brie Crostini

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was great and simple to make. I made it Christmas Eve and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brunch on the Bayou

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was awesome. I made it for Christmas brunch and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tyler's Raspberry Thumbprints with White Chocolate Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Good start to a terrific cookie. After reading all of the reviews, and having many people say they tasted bland I made the following changes: Omitted the chopped white chocolate chips, added 1 t. almond extract to the dough, chilled dough before placing on Silpat lined cookie sheets. Baked for 12 minutes. Delicious. They turned out very nicely. It sounds from the reviews that the almond extract was really needed. The other changes were just my preferences. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These may be the best cookies I have every made. I followed the recipe exactly, and added trader joe's peanut butter chips instead of chocolate. The combination of the chocolate, cinnamon and salt was divine. Like other reviewers I baked them 10 minutes and then let them set on the cookie sheet. Even though they don't seem done at first, they are. Crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside, PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Succulent Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Best pork chops I've made in a while. I marinated them in plastic bag with olive oil, spices listed and added some fresh rosemary. Also took suggestion and added some red wine vinegar. Marinated them several hours. I used my new digital meat probe to verify that they were the correct temperature. They were done after 7 mins on the first side and 6 mins on the second side. They were very juicy and tender. I will make this again. After removing the pork chops, I put some mushrooms in the pan, added red wine, and cooked until they were done. Yummy. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have never made a rib roast before, and was a little worried about ruining a good piece of meat. The reviews sold me on this recipe and it did not disappoint! Follow the directions and the meat will be perfect! I did splurge and buy a digital thermometer / probe (one that has an external display)-- I would highly recommend that you do that. It beeped when the meat temperature got to 145 and 10 minutes later, the knife just slid through the beautiful medium rare beef! I did put the rub on the night before and put it in a zip lock bag in the refrigerator. I used Rosemary, Montreal steak spice and garlic. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I think it will be a Christmas tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have never made a rib roast before, and was a little worried about ruining a good piece of meat. The reviews sold me on this recipe and it did not disappoint! Follow the directions and the meat will be perfect! I did splurge and buy a digital thermometer / probe (one that has an external display)-- I would highly recommend that you do that. It beeped when the meat temperature got to 145 and 10 minutes later, the knife just slid through the beautiful medium rare beef! I did put the rub on the night before and put it in a zip lock bag in the refrigerator. I used Rosemary, Montreal steak spice and garlic. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I think it will be a Christmas tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Succulent Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Best pork chops I've made in a while. I marinated them in plastic bag with olive oil, spices listed and added some fresh rosemary. Also took suggestion and added some red wine vinegar. Marinated them several hours. I used my new digital meat probe to verify that they were the correct temperature. They were done after 7 mins on the first side and 6 mins on the second side. They were very juicy and tender. I will make this again. After removing the pork chops, I put some mushrooms in the pan, added red wine, and cooked until they were done. Yummy. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
If you want a sturdy whipped frosting just add 2 TBS of instant pudding vanilla powder I just add the powder after mixing all the ingredents . I also uset 1/4 of Truvia baking mix instead of sugar . Every one loved it and I think this was the best creamcheese frosting I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States