Baltimore - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Beadanurse

Asian Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I only made the orange sauce part of this recipe as I prefer to make my chicken "naked" -- without breading. I didn't measure the orange juice, but used the juice of an orange, along the with zest from it too. The sauce was terrific with just the right of thickness and amount of orange flavor. So, this rating is just for the sauce portion of the recipe, which I found really nice. It will be my "go to" recipe for orange sauce. I sauteed my chicken, set it aside, then sauteed fresh ginger, garlic, 1 onion and 1/2 green pepper. Then tossed in a bag of frozen stir fry mix with broccoli & water chestnuts. Mixed it all together and served over a bed of rice. I'm looking forward to enjoying the leftovers today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Photo by islandgirlejfan

Teriyaki Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Just posting a few hints to those of you trying them. I had in the initial recipe that I sent to allrecipes that you need to have wet hands when you pad these out. Ground chicken is a much wetter consistency than beef or turkey. We have had these with toppings of cheddar cheese and bacon, extra pineapple slices, avocado and just tonight we tried the new Siracha Ketchup on the market. That was a winner! It doesn't hurt if you want to make a batch and freeze them....that's probably one of the easiest ways to handle them, however I've made them so much that I find it's just easier to keep my hands wet. Hope these hints help....enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Paleo Broccoli Rabe and Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Fast & easy! No changes aside from topping with some grated romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
1/2 mayo 1/2 sour cream double potatoes added splash of dill weed. New Red Potatoes come in a variety of sizes, I cooked mine longer pulling the smaller ones out after 20+ min and I had very hard potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Will try this agian with paprika as recommended by reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin with Omi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stracciatella Soup with Spinach and Tortellini

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
One of the easiest and yummiest recipes one can make for many to enjoy. Simple to make for one, or for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Pulsed oats and spices in the food processor to grind the oats up some and thoroughly mix. This is a good base recipe that urns out a crispy coating and could be used with any spice or herb combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Shrimp Etouffe

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
If you like spicy, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Hartman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
So I come home from work one night and my husband says he has dinner taken care of. The house smells amazing, but yet I was still a little worried because the husband is not a make dinner from scratch sort of guy. I was glad he found this recipe. It was the first of many we've made from Chef John. In fact we've made it so many times I don't even have to look at the recipe anymore. I've made it with wine and also with chicken stock and a little cider vinegar and we like it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Wonderful! Great way to combine the sweetness of the brown sugar that the hubby loves and the tang of the apple cider vinegar that I love in a good, barbeque sauce. We let this slow cook all day and loved the results. Made some homemade slaw to go with it and it was fantastic! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
What's not to love about this recipe? It's as good if not better than the pre-packaged stuff and you know exactly what you're putting into your and your families bodies. I've used this a few times in a couple different recipes with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
The sauce for these ribs is out of this world and SO easy! I don't always have a lot of luck with babyback ribs, so cooking them in the slow cooker is about as fail proof as it gets for me. Tender, succulent ribs, dripping in a sweet, tangy sauce = a definite Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I have a problem getting quick breads to cook all the way through before they burn on the top, but not this one. I followed the recipe and made no substitutions but did leave out the chocolate chips per the request of the hubster and this turned out amazing. There were no doughie spots at all. Shared this with friends and got great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
My husband asked for Pimento Cheese and since it is so expensive to buy pre-made I decided to find a recipe for it. I made no substitutions to this recipe but did add dried mustard and Worcestershire sauce as another reviewer suggested and found it to be pretty good. For me, only 4 stars is based on the jalapeno. While fresh jalapenos are good in this recipe, I think pickled would be better. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Basmati Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This was a pretty good rice recipe. I also thought the lemon was a little overpowering on it's own but I paired it with the Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs recipe from this site and the flavors are wonderful together. I got a late start on the rice so I only rinsed it a few times; if you have time soak it for about 30 minutes before you cook. It makes it less sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I can't express how good these chicken thighs are. I let the chicken marinate for about 24 hours. I also added the extra salt and cayenne to the top before baking and baked for about 40 minutes. I had no issues with the onions burning and the pan sauce was AMAZING and worth the extra few minutes. Served this with the Lemon Basmati rice recipe from this site and some veggies. Looking forward to the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amena's Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
These cookies are amazing! I only use semi-sweet chips instead of the blend, but that's the only change I make to this recipe. Ive made these a few times now and people always RAVE over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Noodles

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This was excellent. I used half a box of fettuccine noodles and added a splash of sesame oil. I didn't have the chile paste but added a heaping tablespoon of red pepper for heat. Restaurant quality. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
We aren't big fans of stroganoff but we both liked this. I always look through the reviews before I try a recipe. I took the advice of others and marinated in white wine, added garlic and worcestershire although I still added wine at the end. Very tasty, we want to try this with meatballs next. Thanks Donna for a simple but delicious addition to our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen & Bernie
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Garlic Chicken Livers

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I was amazed. My tried-and-true "recipe" for chicken livers had always involved sautéing onion slices in oil/butter, flouring the livers (liberally) and adding them to the onions, perhaps with a little milk ... to make "gravy." Jchasko's recipe was a revelation. With some trepidation, I tossed the naked livers into my heated (stainless-steel, non-treated) skillet. I fully expected them to stick tenaciously to the pan and be reduced to a bitter, scorched mess. Wow. They skittered around the pan, allowing me to move them about for uniform browning (no need for spatter shield). I did depart from Jchasko's directions a bit: I had no lemon; I added a coarsely chopped onion and a healthy shot of ground black pepper; and (because I was feeling lazy) substituted several dashes of garlic powder for the called-for six cloves of fresh garlic. Very tasty ... and incredibly easy! Next time I may even follow the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States