Atlanta - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Natb

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Came out perfect! I used both brown and white sugar, added some vanilla extract and used 2 eggs along with butter instead of shortening. Can't wait to have it with my coffee in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Best soup I've ever made! I added spinach, mushrooms & white kidney beans. I substituted tomatoes with a regular can of diced tomatoes, and still used a small can of can of sauce. And I used hot Italian sausage to give it some kick and It was simply amazing! Tons of left overs. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AOMOM5

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very easy, very good & makes a lot- plenty of leftovers. I used other reviewers' suggestions and added a can of green chilIs, used refried beans instead of pinto, and poured half a can of enchilada sauce on bottom of casserole and the other half on top before adding Mexican cheeses. I threw the frozen chicken in the crock pot with some of the salsa in the morning- very easy to shred/cut up when I got home that afternoon. My young son tasted it and said "Mom, you've outdone yourself!" Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Real Strawberry Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Why would anyone want to add strawberry extract to anything?! Thank goodness this recipe doesn't need it. It was full of strawberry flavor. We made it last night and followed the recipe to the letter. No additives are needed. No red food coloring, no nonsensical strawberry extract. Nothing. It's the perfect easy recipe. Many thanks for sharing Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Mexican Cornbread I

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
i always serve w/ SOUTHWEST MEATLOAF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

Bread Machine Focaccia

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Would have given this a 5 star rating, but the bread had a hard crust, which is not very focaccia-like. Possibly it should be baked at a lower temp, or given more of a chance to raise in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer-Boiled Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Excellent... easy... melt in your mouth shrimp. Don't overcook. Let them JUST turn pink and then turn it off and let them sit. They will be perfectly cooked after sitting for 30 minutes. Boyfriend said these were the BEST boiled shrimp he'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is so good! My whole family loved it! I made as written and it tuned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summery Corn Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used light red kidney beans in this with fresh corn. Tasted good but could be better will add tomatoes and cucumbers next time. When I want a Mexican flare I will use black beans and other seasonings. Good all round recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Fish Tacos with Fresh Lime Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made as written, love the taco seasoning on the fish! Sauce was just ok, I will play around with it next time to jazz it up a bit. A keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deb's Scallops Florentine

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Outstanding! I used a little bacon to flash fry my seas scallops and then baked them like others suggested. I also lightened up the cream with regular milk. Fresh spinach too. Other than that I pretty much followed the directions. Everyone loved it on out beach trip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMESWHO
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Milkshake

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
holy this is the bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Spicy Unstuffed Cabbage

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Spicy Unstuffed Cabbage Haiku: "Halved the recipe, used all ground beef, no sausage. This sure makes alot!" So the submitter of the recipe is right; even in half, this makes a ton! As it resembled a cabbage roll's guts, I made rice alongside it for serving, but found that the leftovers the next day that had been mixed up w/ the rice, were far superior. Wasn't too thrilled w/ the heavy vinegar taste, and felt that it could've benefited from the addition of minced garlic, so when I make this again (which I will as we really did like it alot), I would serve it mixed w/, instead of on top of, rice, reduce the vinegar, and add garlic, and probably make a full batch, as I imagine extras would freeze nicely for a reheated casserole later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Lucky's Quickie Chickie

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Lucky's Quickie Chickie Haiku: "Needed way more sauce. Barely covered the chicken. (Didn't change a thing.)" A nice and flavorful chicken, but would've greatly benefited from doubling, or tripling the honey and balsamic vinegar. I loved the basil and the simple and quick instructions, but wouldn't make again without heavily increasing (or marinating with) the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

PB-n-J Cups

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
PB'n'J Cups Haiku: "Something 'off' bout these. Melt too quick & quite messy. Followed recipe." I didn't deviate one bit from the recipe, as it was easy and fun for my daughter to help out w/. We didn't let our impatience get the best of us, and allowed them to fully freeze, but even taking them out hours later and eating them by hand resulted in goopy, melty peanut butter all over us, which, while good-tasting, didn't quite jive with the strawberry part on top. Even though the instructions were simple, the end result wasn't anything that I think we'll do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Pasta with Spinach and Chickpeas

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Pasta with Spinach & Chick Peas Haiku: "Gotta switch pasta. Can't decide, use fork or spoon? Taste was pretty good!" I followed the recipe, using spaghetti instead of linguine (close enough) but we were ultimately discouraged at not being able to both twirl the noodles and stab/scoop chick peas at the same time. If I make this again, I would use a smaller noodle, and let the tomatoes and chick peas simmer longer b/c our chick peas stayed more like pebbles than we'd have liked for the mere handful of minutes that it simmered in the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Homestyle Chicken and Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Homestyle Chicken & Biscuits Haiku: "Forgot to add milk. Glad I started biscuits first, made sure they were done!." Other than some garlic powder and dried parsley added to the soup/cheese/chicken/vegg mixture, I kept everything the same, but also took advice of many reviews saying to do the biscuits partially separate b4 finishing their baking time on top of everything. This was an easy and comforting dish, and one that I'll look forward to making again in the fall, although it could benefit from the additional of some sauteed onions, additional spices, and peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Easy Kielbasa Skillet Dinner

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Easy Kielbasa Skillet Dinner Haiku: "So easy to make! Added a minced garlic clove. (And swapped potatoes.)" The submitted of the recipe made one suggestion that totally jives w/ our taste - heavily-crisping the kielbasa first. Luna also mentioned replacing veggies, so instead of potatoes, I used a large bag of frozen broccoli/cauliflower for a low-carb alternative. The kielbasa is what MAKES this dish flavorful, so I would definitely not use a turkey/chicken or low-fat alternative unless planning on drastically increasing seasoning, which would defeat the purpose of this stupid-easy, excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Cuddle Up Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Cuddle Up Chili Haiku: "Pretty good chili. Glad I halved recipe. It still made a ton!" I kept the 1 lb. of ground beef, but halved everything else, along with using some garden jalapenos instead of canned, and we liked it, but found that there were too many competing flavors in its ingredient list. No question, it was a tasty chili, but one that I would make some adjustments to when making again, such as reducing, if not eliminating, some of the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Comida China

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Comida Chicken Haiku: "This meal surprised me. Didn't change one single thing. Ended up awesome!" I boldly bought oyster sauce, a condiment that I've never had around b4, in anticipation of trying out this recipe, and I'm delighted that I did, b/c we ended up absolutely loving this meal! I can only imagine that swapping out a variety of vegetables would yield just as delicious results, so no question, we plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States