Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Marinated Cucumber, Onion, and Tomato Salad

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Wow...really good. I added some fresh minced garlic and some basil, about a tablespoon each. The balance of the seasonings, oil and vinegar is perfect. Also, I used 6 plum tomatoes, two regular cucumbers and one medium red onion. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gweb8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
We call this Crack! One piece and you are addicted! :-) I prefer club crackers, more butter taste! We also switch up the toppings, using semi sweet, or dark chocolate, white chocolate, or even butterscotch chips...really anything that will melt and can be spread will work! Also any nut or coconut, or toffee crushed will work. The possibilities are endless! Made for candy bar at wedding, using colored coconut and white chocolate and sprinkles to match wedding colors! I may need an intervention! :-) BE SURE TO USE COOKIE PAN WITH SIDES, OR YOU WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THE OVEN! Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Stuffing

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made a couple changes ( I know I hate me too sometimes :-) Used 1/2 brown sugar, and added dried cranberries and chopped pecans, it puts this recipe OVER THE TOP! Soooo good with ham! :-) :-) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Ok again, super weird idea, but SOOOOO GOOD! My fiancee is still raving! I have made stratta for years, but never thought to use leftover pizza, in place of bread and cheese...I love that you did, and that I am crazy enough to try anything once!! I will be making this again and again! (More toppings on the pizza the better! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Watermelon Feta Salad

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Weird combos excite me! And this truly is odd, but I loved it! We always have leftover watermelon...only 2 of us...anyway was searching for something to do with the rest of it and found this! Such a great summer time salad...for those hot nights, served with leftover cold grilled chicken and it's a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Loved these! Only change I made was to start with everything *but dairy* already in the crock pot + one 1/2 cup of water...cooking the potatoes in there saves even more time and stove top space on holidays (I also mash in the crockpot with a potato masher) Adding dairy, and mashing right before serving, the crockpot ensures everyone gets hot mashed potatoes & I only have one pot to wash (unless I go all out and use a crock-pot liner!) Soooooo easy! And yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole I

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Good change from plain corn...but not a favorite of mine. I am not a fan of canned corn, and used frozen for the can of regular, but still used the can of creamed corn...may try it again using all frozen or fresh corn...( I think it was the canned corn, that ruined it for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
OMG! Don't know why I ever bought cranberry sauce! THIS WAS FANTASTIC! :-) & soooo easy! Only change I made was to use 1/2 brown sugar & 1/2 white as others have suggested. I always tripple the recipe now and freeze a bit, so it is always on hand. Easy to adjust to your liking...another new Thanksgiving tradition! Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great flavor!... But so much work! That said...still better then having to fuss with the gravy on the big day...put it in my crock pot soon after I started my Bird...and only time I lifted the lid was to add a bit of fresh drippings when the bird was done. Hot, & ready to go, with out using up stove space or my time. I also did crockpot mashed potatoes, & between the 2, it gave me enough time to enjoy a glass of wine with my guests, instead of running around like a nut...in the home stretch! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
OMG...I have had and made many stuffings in my life, but this is truly Awesome! Thought it sounded good, was a bit worried it was kinda busy....too much going on and in....but I was wrong! Made it for Thanksgiving this year, and had RAVE REVIEWS! No one had ever had stuffing like this before, and all loved it! Savory/sweet yumminess! I also threw in a 1/2 bag of fresh cranberries...they turned.out to be little pops of heaven! Thanks for my new Thanksgiving tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wine Jelly

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Good recipe, I how ever also had a wine sauce, not jelly. Not sure what went wrong...maybe too high of alcohol content?!?? Just dont know..even tried fixing it per sure-gel directions from their web site...was afraid might end up with wine cement...but still just sauce. (All the better to dip my toast in! Ha!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

General Tsao's Chicken II

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great RECIPE! :-) I did not bread and deep fry the chicken, saving time and calories (non-stick, pan fried)... But was still great flavor from the sauce. I had never tried Chinese cooking before, but this was easy! (& Yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Easy Broccoli Bacon Salad

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Delicious! I used golden raisins and cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup and that was plenty sweet for us (I think I could've used even a bit less sugar and it would've been fine). I wasn't sure on using the raisins, but they tasted great in this salad. I made this earlier in the day and I suggest doing that so the flavors can blend a few hours in the fridge. I will be making this again for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Very good!!!! I added some onion powder to it. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Homemade Pie Crust

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I will never ever use another pie crust recipe again!!! I LOVE this one. It's so easy and quick! Thank you thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I sautéed the onions in olive oil and butter, then added a lemon pepper seasoning to it while the onions where cooking. For the potatoes I stuck them in the microwave and cooked them for 10 minutes, then ran them through the food processor. Mixed mushroom soup, milk , lemon pepper, grated cheddar cheese and sour cream together. Mixed it in with the potatoes and baked it at 350 for about 30 minutes or so. It was yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This will amaze you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Waltz - WL Events

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Awesome shrimp. Easy to do. Only thing I changed up was used lemon and lime juice. My wife loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTCH613

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Coleslaw Dressing

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Very good and creamy and easy to add to a bag of pre-shredded slaw. My husband ate four servings! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fgcosmi

Key Lime Cheesecake I

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was fantastic! I started to go down the rabbit hole of reading the reviews and all the changes everyone made but then decided to stick to the recipe and is. I did make two small tweaks. I added some lemon juice and extra lime zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fgcosmi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States