Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Dad's Creamy Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I'm sorry, I followed the recipe exact. After I covered the salad with plastic wrap and let it sit, I came back and the bowl was filled with liquid. The salt had continued to pull liquid from the cucumbers and onions which made this thin slurry that made having dressing impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bronco Burger

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My oldest son made this whole recipe on his own. We had to make a couple changes due to what we had on hand. We use diced mild green chilies instead of fresh jalapenos (about two tablespoons), used Frank's instead of Tabasco and chili-cheese Fritos. Not bad. We might play with the recipe to make it a little different next time but definitely tasty! We were very proud of him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Crab Pizza

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I would now recommend real crab over imitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Biscuit Loaf

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is my go-to bread accompaniment to pasta dishes. They are a nice change to garlic bread, etc., especially when I am serving guests. They always get rave reviews and they are so easy to make. I just made them again last night, serving 14 people, so I bought two big cans of jumbo biscuits. I doubled the butter/herb ingredients and increased the size of the pan. I baked as directed, but the biscuits in the middle were a little doughy and the most popular of the pan! Next time, I'm going to underbake them just a little -- heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This chicken was very good, it was moist and flavorful, also made the sauce with just a bit of fresh dill. We had this with Naan and a tomato, olive salad. Thanks for this great recipe. I marinated the chicken for about 4 hrs, I would not go any longer than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I halved the recipe as I only have 1 loaf pan. I replaced the oil with applesauce and grated an entire small to medium size zucchini and threw it in the bowl. I baked for 55 minutes. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Cheese Tortellini Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Simple and delicious...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Creamy, Lemony Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Loved it! The name is a bit misleading, as there is nothing 'lemony' about this, IMO. We really enjoyed the sweetness from the slaw dressing and miracle whip. This was a great change from the usual, and one I will be making again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Grandma's Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
***NOTE Video...if you watch the video for this recipe,"Recipes in Motion", the presenter only adds one, that's, "1", can of creamed corn...This is basically my Grammy's recipe, but with a pinch of salt, and tsp of vanilla added,...3 eggs instead of 5, and heavy cream or even Half n Half in a pinch, instead of milk...IF you make it with ONE can of both corn and creamed corn, it will be much more "cake like" in consistency...NOT DRY, but "SET"...This is a fantastic recipe, So I gave it 5 stars because in my opinion, it would be wrong of me to bring down the overall rating of this recipe, when I didn't even try it, BUT, it is also JUST MY OPINION that if you use regular milk, and 2 cans of creamed corn, as written, it will be soupy....I could be wrong, but just wanted to give y'all a heads up...WATCH THE VIDEO...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missability

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA

Icing In The Cake Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deluxe Waffles

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I am on the hunt for the perfect waffle recipe and I thought I would give this a try. I made exactly as the recipe stated, but, I added 1 tsp. of vanilla. I think the addition of the folded egg whites made for a light waffle which I liked very much. I also think the flavor was very good. The only problem I had was the waffle was not crispy. I think to be a great waffle you have to have a crispy outside. Good, but, not great. Probably won't make again...guess I am still on the hunt for the elusive perfect waffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Myrrhmaid

Brown Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious cookies! As someone else said, they do taste like blondies. Such a nice texture and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myrrhmaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hoot-n Holler Baby Back Pork Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Added a little liquid smoke to the pot when boiling meat but by far, this recipe will knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Okay, will not be one I go to. Not sure if it was peaches to cobbler ratio or not. Maybe my 8 peaches larger then what recipe calls for. It was edible, but not impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have tried many different carrot cake recipe and this one trumps them all!! Thank You for sharing! I have a deep 9X13 cake pan and I used 1 1/2 of recipe and it turned out perfect!! Absolutely the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great taste and very easy to make! I add a little vanilla to the batter and use coconut oil on the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheSheeve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe made the absolute best pancakes ever! Truly fluffy and golden and delicious. The only small change I made was to reduce white sugar to 1 TBSP and add in a TBSP of powdered sugar. (The best pancakes I have ever had were in a little restaurant in Kauai and one of the "secrets" they shared was the incorporation of powdered sugar into their batter so I wanted to try it. these pancakes truly rivaled those, they were so good!) I will make this recipe again and again, it is a keeper!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Perfect Cinnamon Roll Icing

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Just tried this icing recipe for the first time this morning and it is wonderful! The only minor change I made was to add a bit more vanilla because we like a heavy vanilla flavor. This whipped up so nice and creamy, light but thick at the same time. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and made sure my butter and cream cheese were softened but not at all melted. (If your butter is melted at all you will get a thinner consistency of icing) I let the mixer beat on power 6 for a few minutes and the icing came out just perfect. Used it to frost a 13x9 pan of cinnamon rolls that I made using 1/3 of the dough from Grandma VanDoren's white bread recipe with filling made from Clone of a Cinnabon recipe (both on this site) Delicious!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe several time with success...it is moist and flavorful. I have recently started using almond milk as a milk replacement with everything for good health and this has also worked well (using about an additional 1/4th cup). Remember, overall scratch cakes are heavier and more dense than a box cake. I think lots of people try scratch expecting a box cake result...will not happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States