Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Oven Fries

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This will be my go-to fry recipe from now on. I did use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and baked for a total of 45 minutes at 450 because my husband likes the fries nice and brown. I sprayed the cookie sheet before spreading the fries to reduce sticking, and had no problems. I turned them after 15 minutes and again after 30 minutes. This recipe could have so many variations. As others have suggested, I will try sprinkling them with Parmesan cheese after baking, or using onions or garlic or other seasoning to spice it up a bit. Thanks for a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I found and made this recipe for hamburger buns just this past Monday. While I'm no expert, I've tried my hand at making lots of breads, rolls and buns over the years. I've always been disappointed with the buns I've made. Too puffy, too dense, etc. Well, I shall look no more! Hands down, this is THE BEST recipe I've tried. Chef John's hamburger buns are gorgeous to look at, they have a wonderful taste, and they are the perfect texture. 2 days later, the leftovers are still very tasty. These are well worth the effort. I've found my perfect recipe for hamburger buns!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jane

Paleo Coconut Crepes

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Great!! I made them thin and they were sort of falling apart when id flip them on the pan. So I made the last one thick like a pancake and it turned out awesome! Yummy with cottage cheese sprinkled with stevia and strawberries on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yogurt Crunch Parfaits from DOLE®

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I scaled this back to one serving as my "treat" tonight after dinner. I used Walmart frozen pineapple, vanilla greek yogurt and "light" whipped topping. This was heaven. Absolute heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbeque Chicken Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
For me, this recipe was part of a "Pantry Challenge". I basically plugged a few ingredients in that I had on hand and this was one of the first recipes that popped up. I did scale this recipe back by half. I cannot find jicama anywhere in the area I live, so I just omitted it. I also did not add the jalapeno pepper because I was feeding two kids. To make this a little......cheaper, I did skip the step of cooking the chicken in the barbeque sauce only because I didn't want to overuse the little bit that I had in case I needed it for another recipe. I just cooked the chicken with some spices in my slow cooker for most of the day, cooled it and then pieced it out for the salad. Very interesting take on pasta salad, my two kids especially liked it. NO leftovers. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
It is my 3rd time making this quick bread. Very easy to make and tasty. I added about 1/2 cup of golden raisins to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Saint Paddy's Irish Sandwich

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! I did use 'Braised Corned Beef Brisket' recipe from here for the corned beef and I also used our favorite vinegar slaw. Loved the use of the toasted sourdough and the addition of the spicy brown mustard. I followed others and added some swiss...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Corned Beef Special Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Simple and DELICIOUS! I used 'Braised Corned Beef Brisked' from this site for the corned beef. Perfect just as is...a definite keeper~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!!! Thanks, SHORECOOK, for sharing another GREAT recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Brownie Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
WOW! This stuff is SOOOO good. I halved the recipe for a 8 inch round pan of brownies and it was the perfect amount. I used Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips. I could eat a bowl of this stuff without brownies it was that good. It reminded me of the frosting on Wegman's chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Good, good, good! I cooked mine on stove top for around 2 hours and added rice directly to the pot, which took care of the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies

Garlic Onion Chicken Fajitas with Lime

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was a different taste than I would normally expect from fajitas, but, they were very good! The citrus gave the vegetables and chicken a bright, fresh flavor. I used one large fresh clove of garlic and a couple of tablespoons minced fresh cilantro instead of dried. I used a green bell pepper, a red bell pepper, and a red onion. I think I may even try pounding out the whole chicken breast, marinating it, and grilling it before adding to the vegetables next time. I served with lettuce, tomato, cheese, sour cream, & salsa. Very tasty and I will make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I really loved this recipe. Great flavor; you could even add some chunk pineapples to the crock pot; they'd go perfect with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pancakes I

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
very tasty, I read what other people said and I did add some vanilla, also kid friendly my 9 year old neice made these by herself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katigurl2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was a really tasty recipe! My family gave it two thumbs up! Only thing I did differently is I used a can of zesty jalapeno diced tomatoes. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Great quick family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Perfect!!!!!! Really love the texture and the crunchier topping. Will make this my number one muffin recipe. Followed directions with no additions or omissions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I used olive oil and added rosemary but otherwise stuck to the recipe, and we loved it. Maybe not as crisp as I would like, but if I'd been patient and broiled them for a few minutes that would have solved the problem. But we couldn't wait to eat, and these fries were very tasty! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane's Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made this for my sons' annual St. Paddy's Day party yesterday and ALL LOVED IT! Only things I did different were used red skin potatoes and left the skins on, and used 1 pkg (14 slices) turkey bacon, because I doubled potatoes, cabbage, and onion. This was DELICIOUS! Super easy! This will be made often It might become a Lenten Friday main dish, sans bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
What a surprise! When I read the recipe, I figured it would be good, but just another butter garlic sauce. WRONG! The caper brine really added a different dimension to the flavor. DO NOT SKIP IT!I did not have parsley. I added one finely sliced green onion with the garlic, and it blended perfectly! This would be fantastic with linguine.I may try a tbs. of dry white wine next time. I cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Authentic Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Very easy and very good! This takes very little effort for great results. Since my husband doesn't like overly spicy dishes, I opted out of the jalepeno and added mild chili peppers instead. I left his "as-is" and topped mine with a couple of sliced jalepeno from a can. Overall, very tasty and a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Steve's Roasted Chicken Soft Tacos

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Easy to prepare, very simple, and tastes great - perfect for a quick weeknight meal! Plus it's a great way to use up leftover chicken. For the seasoning, I used McCormick's Perfect Pinch Fiesta Citrus salt free seasoning blend along with a pinch of cayenne and a little fresh squeezed lime juice. Perfect served with shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, a little sour cream, sliced avocado and sliced black olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States