Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Okay, will not be one I go to. Not sure if it was peaches to cobbler ratio or not. Maybe my 8 peaches larger then what recipe calls for. It was edible, but not impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have tried many different carrot cake recipe and this one trumps them all!! Thank You for sharing! I have a deep 9X13 cake pan and I used 1 1/2 of recipe and it turned out perfect!! Absolutely the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great taste and very easy to make! I add a little vanilla to the batter and use coconut oil on the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheSheeve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe made the absolute best pancakes ever! Truly fluffy and golden and delicious. The only small change I made was to reduce white sugar to 1 TBSP and add in a TBSP of powdered sugar. (The best pancakes I have ever had were in a little restaurant in Kauai and one of the "secrets" they shared was the incorporation of powdered sugar into their batter so I wanted to try it. these pancakes truly rivaled those, they were so good!) I will make this recipe again and again, it is a keeper!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Perfect Cinnamon Roll Icing

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Just tried this icing recipe for the first time this morning and it is wonderful! The only minor change I made was to add a bit more vanilla because we like a heavy vanilla flavor. This whipped up so nice and creamy, light but thick at the same time. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and made sure my butter and cream cheese were softened but not at all melted. (If your butter is melted at all you will get a thinner consistency of icing) I let the mixer beat on power 6 for a few minutes and the icing came out just perfect. Used it to frost a 13x9 pan of cinnamon rolls that I made using 1/3 of the dough from Grandma VanDoren's white bread recipe with filling made from Clone of a Cinnabon recipe (both on this site) Delicious!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe several time with success...it is moist and flavorful. I have recently started using almond milk as a milk replacement with everything for good health and this has also worked well (using about an additional 1/4th cup). Remember, overall scratch cakes are heavier and more dense than a box cake. I think lots of people try scratch expecting a box cake result...will not happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Yes, I tried this recipe and I had high hopes for it. I was vaguely disappointed. My family told me I didn't have to save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Easy Sriracha Noodles

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These are like a kicked up Asian-y version of buttered noodles, and we LOVED them! I did adjust it a bit to suit our tastes, but I still used all ingredients called for...I added more butter than called for (3 Tbsps.), only used 2 Tbsps. sriracha sauce, added a bit of salt, to taste and reduced the dried basil to 1/2 tsp., due to personal preference. This would be a great side to any meat or fish. I served them as a side for buffalo chicken wings, and they were a big hit. Next time, I wanna use sesame oil in place of the peanut oil to add extra flavor. I could totally see college kids making this, lol. I will def be making these again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Paleo Coconut Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong but these did not come out as cookies more like balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Vegan Pesto Classico

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This recipe is perfect! I do not like pine nuts, so I used walnuts and it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This recipe was great!! Husband loved it. There wasn't a slice left after dinner. I mixed the brown sugar and ketchup together and spread on top, then baked per instructions. Loved It!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Craisin®, Almond, and Feta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was good! I liked the variety of flavors and textures in this. Do not leave out the cranberries, as it added a nice sweetness to break up all the savory going on. The toasted nuts was a great addition too. I would make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Savino's Herb and Olive Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was good, but it needed something more... I cut the recipe down and still used more herbs and onion than called for in the original recipe, so keep that in mind. This would've been nice w/ a splash of lemon juice added or a nice drizzle of evoo at the end, or both! All in all, it was good for something different. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Sriracha Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Made this for my little guy for breakfast this morning (he LOVES all things spicy), and he LOVED them! We didn't measure the sriracha, I just let him squirt some in (it was maybe 1-2 tsps.). He said these tasted really good and were just a bit spicy. He also said that he would like to have these for breakfast again and it was 5 stars from him, lol. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Carrie C.

Spaghetti with Broccoli Florets and Traditional Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe was great for a quick weeknight meal. I used steamed broccoli in this dish. The sauce to me is a little bland. I definitely will doctor it up in the future. Such a nice simple weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Carrie C.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed this soup. It came together so easily and I loved that it was meat free. I had never had collard greens. They were interesting but not sure I would use them again in this. I would prefer using spinach. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Turned out wonderfully. Used beef broth, as suggested, and cooked for 4 1/2 hours on low for 1 lb. Waited until the last 2 hours to add the potatoes (didn't use carrots) and a small can of mushrooms. Beef was fall-apart tender. Great quick and easy recipe for a cheap cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

California Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was good! I did reduce the butter and cornstarch by 1/2, as it seemed a bit too much for me, and that worked fine. It was the perfect thickness for us. This had a subtle, but nice flavor. This is not gonna replace our favorite clam chowder, but we all enjoyed it, and I would make it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
very good and easy. added some peanuts for extra crunch. Could use a little kick too for those who like it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States