Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
One of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceeleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made it yesterday for a dinner with friends and it turned out great! I even forgot to put the water in it, but served with cream on top and vanilla ice cream it was delicious. Great and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceeleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Frosting

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Sweet frosting that hardens. Worked well on soft sugar cookies IV from this site since those cookies aren't overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

Vegan Gluten-Free Lactation Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Really good but more like dough than a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chia Seed Jam

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kim's Potato Kugel for Passover

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Requested year after year. The key is to use the right potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cassidy's First Birthday Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Maybe not good for a baby because it was so much chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken and Spinach Risotto

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
My toddler liked that the rice chunks were easy to pick up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Baked Steel Cut Oatmeal

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is not sweet at all. Great for toddlers. Add sugar if making for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I usually dump it all in and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jean

Easy Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I doubled the apples and used about one third less sugar. I used a vanilla cake mix and put in two nine inch pie pans. Baked for forty minutes. Held together after cooling. Was able to slice and remove like pie. Used honey gold apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have debated whether to rate this 3 or 4 stars, and finally settled on 3 because as written it is rather bland. I added chopped onion and garlic to the beef as it browned, I used beef broth in place of the water, and I added crushed red pepper flakes. This helped, and it was a hearty and decent soup, but I feel it needs even more than these changes to make it great. Some red wine, maybe a potato or some pasta, and some additional spices would amp it up. I do think it is a great base recipe and it is easily adaptable- it just needs the addition of some pantry staples to make it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry White Chocolate Buttercream Cupcakes

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Yumm! I didn't have any oregano (weird, huh!) or onion powder. I only had onion salt so I used that in the amount stated for onion powder and decreased the salt amount by 3 teaspoons (I had quadroopled the recipe). I then added diced onions to the ground beef. Solved the onion powder problem! I cooked up 4 pounds of ground beef and added a tablespoon of white whole wheat flour then the taco seasoning with about 3/4 cup or so of water. I did decrease the crushed pepper to suit kid tastes but it was delicious! I popped the leftover seasoned beef into the freezer until the next taco night! 2 meals -one time cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lighter Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Delicious. Don't miss the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

Baked Ziti with Sausage

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Huge portions. Great recipe. Versatile: used what I had, which was black bean burgers instead of sausage and rotini instead of ziti. Excellent. I will make it again for sure and can't wait to try with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

Jewish Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent, moist cake. I will definitely make it again. If I were using a pan where I was going to flip the cake at the end, I would start with apples. I liked having them on top. I used 9 very small Gala apples and followed Janyce's recommendations. (Apples mixed in unmeasured sugar and cinnamon, add juice from apples, more apples, 3 layers of each, 1 tbsp vanilla, order of ingredients.) The batter is very thick and delicious. Cake was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent. I added about 3/4 cups of mini chocolate chips to the banana mixture. Cant imagine a better recipe. Love, love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Pittsburgh Steeler Super Bowl® Sampler

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was a quick meal for supper, this would be good on a winters day in a roaster pan for a tailgate party. I used ball park franks and andouille sausage, it's what i had on hand & worked great, I just grilled them first then added to my pot of noodles, cabbage, and small red potatoes that i par boiled first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I followed the advice of other reviewers and tripled the soy sauce and oyster sauce, used chicken broth in place of the water, and cut way down on the pepper. I also added a generous tablespoon of sriracha sauce, so it was nice and spicy. It was a little salty but still really tasty. And so easy - I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States