Johnstown, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Three Cheese Chicken Penne Pasta Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious! I sauteed a pack of quartered mushrooms, some garlic powder, and an onion in a small amount of olive oil and added it to the sauce; this was an amazing dish that will be on our table a lot in the coming years :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Turkey Pot Pie I

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I loved this. I didn't have carrots or celery so I subbed them for a can of peas which i added after the pitatos were cooked and celery salt. no pie crust either so I put it in a baking pan and rolled a can of Cresent rolls on top. It was delicious and everyone in my family loved it including my picky 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrippin1
Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Jelly

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Very good. I make a batch every year from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Naan

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Incredibly good! I've made this recipe a few times and have gotten better results using 3 TBS plain yogurt instead of milk. It makes excellent naan either way. My 9 yr old son asked me to just make naan for dinner (nothing else). The recipe as is makes a lot. Any leftovers freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gina's Lemon Pepper Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
The Earth moved at the dinner table tonight....my entire family loved this chicken!! (This never happens!!) Thank you for sharing a healthy, easy, & delicious recipe :) The only change I made was to sear the chicken in some olive oil & white wine before baking as suggested by some other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Polish Noodles (Cottage Cheese and Noodles)

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
When I was a little girl, my (full-blooded Italian!) aunt introduced me to spaghetti w/ cottage cheese. I think that's all she put in it too; literally, pasta & cottage cheese (with a splash of the pasta water.) Years later, when I had a child of my own, I started making this for her (now adding butter/onion to give it more flavor.) Both ways -- just pasta/cottage cheese -- and then with the butter/onion -- were awesome (...but anything with some butta' is betta', ya know??) I forgot ALL about this "dish" then til recently when I was trying to use up leftover sour cream from Thanksgiving. And after doing a "google search" for ingredients, I fell upon this recipe ... making it yet again (now for TWO kids) :) - & with the sour cream this time, too. Wow! Loved it even MORE (and didn't think that was possible?!) I mean, you can't go wrong with the simple, basic versions -- but that blob of sour cream really adds somethin'. It helped everything come together as a 'sauce' almost, instead of just cheese curds & noodles. (I think this is what kept the picky-eatin' kid from realizing this was anything BUT "white mac 'n cheese." I know, I know ... it was a stretch, but he's 5 so he bought it). Yes! Win-win! Try it! I'm serious! It's not just for "cottage cheese-eaters." When warmed up ... and with the other ingredients ... the C.C. loses the texture/viscosity & appearance that some people can't seem to get into. I can see why "Lazy Man's Pierogies" are a great title for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMarcyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Baked Cod

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is great. I followed the other reviewer's advice and added some crushed red papper, and the little bit of heat was a nice touch. Next time I will add more cheese over the top of the dish. It melted nicely with the rice and tomatoes. This is a very comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I followed the advice of other reviewers and tripled the soy sauce and oyster sauce, used chicken broth in place of the water, and cut way down on the pepper. I also added a generous tablespoon of sriracha sauce, so it was nice and spicy. It was a little salty but still really tasty. And so easy - I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Perfect for summer snacking!! So easy & quick, a great way to use up some ripe red tomatoes. A new favorite salsa recipe in our house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Tuscan Flank Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Tried this for the first time tonight. It was awesome! Didn't have rosemary, so I used summer savory. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2dachs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Turned out wonderfully. Used beef broth, as suggested, and cooked for 4 1/2 hours on low for 1 lb. Waited until the last 2 hours to add the potatoes (didn't use carrots) and a small can of mushrooms. Beef was fall-apart tender. Great quick and easy recipe for a cheap cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I thought this would be like any other baked chicken recipe, but it was so much better! We will be enjoying this dish frequently :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Lime-Marinated Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Perfect recipe fir mahi mahi! Such a mild fish, this was just the right flavor to add to it. I made it just as the recipe stated, & it was delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Creamy Kohlrabi Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very good! I took the advice on another reviewer and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top. Souper Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Asian Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
My family raved about this one. For 6 chicken breasts, I doubled the recipe. For the ginger, I used 3 Tbsp of jarred minced ginger and 2 tsp of jarred minced garlic. I didn't cook anything; I just mixed the ingredients well and poured over the chicken in a ziplock bag and let sit for about 20 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made a half batch today and loved it! This is so much better than those frosting recipes made with tons of powdered sugar. This recipe closely resembles the frosting on my favorite bakery's cakes. Followed the directions carefully, except added a small amount of whipping cream for extra fluffiness. It didn't turn runny or soupy during the process at all. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Love Love Love it! just twicked it a little. Increased butter to 1/2 cup and used 1 cup bread crumbs and 1 cup real grated parmesan. served with steamed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Easy Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Love Love Love it! just twicked it a little. Increased butter to 1/2 cup and used 1 cup bread crumbs and 1 cup real grated parmesan. served with steamed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Perfect! Moist & love the streusel topping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Spinach, Egg, and Pancetta with Linguine

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Read the reviews before you make this, and it will be fabulous. I followed the recommendations of others and used half the pasta, double the spinach and pancetta and added some minced garlic along with the spinach. I also beat the eggs and added them to the hot pasta in the skillet and let them cook in the pasta. Very much like a carbonara, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States