Johnstown, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sensational Slow Cooked Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This will now be my go to recipe for brisket. Very good! I was worried about the amount of Worcestershire in the recipe, but I stuck to what it called for and it came out great. I would recommend this recipe to anyone and would not change a thing. The hardest part about making this recipe is smelling it all day and not digging into it before it is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layali Libnan (Lebanese nights)

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I likekillluimlmk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Made these for the first time this morning! They are awesome, light and fluffy! The added touch of fresh-picked blueberries was a special treat, too. Why buy a mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2dachs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Perfect! After trying many, many banana bread recipes over the years, this is my new go-to! I subbed out the sour cream with nonfat greek yogurt and it was awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Perfect!!!!!! Really love the texture and the crunchier topping. Will make this my number one muffin recipe. Followed directions with no additions or omissions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Holy moly this was amazing!! I threw in some broccoli & kept the soup in my slow cooker til the fam got home! A new favorite for us!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Three Cheese Chicken Penne Pasta Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious! I sauteed a pack of quartered mushrooms, some garlic powder, and an onion in a small amount of olive oil and added it to the sauce; this was an amazing dish that will be on our table a lot in the coming years :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Turkey Pot Pie I

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I loved this. I didn't have carrots or celery so I subbed them for a can of peas which i added after the pitatos were cooked and celery salt. no pie crust either so I put it in a baking pan and rolled a can of Cresent rolls on top. It was delicious and everyone in my family loved it including my picky 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Rene Rippin
Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Jelly

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Very good. I make a batch every year from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Naan

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Incredibly good! I've made this recipe a few times and have gotten better results using 3 TBS plain yogurt instead of milk. It makes excellent naan either way. My 9 yr old son asked me to just make naan for dinner (nothing else). The recipe as is makes a lot. Any leftovers freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gina's Lemon Pepper Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
The Earth moved at the dinner table tonight....my entire family loved this chicken!! (This never happens!!) Thank you for sharing a healthy, easy, & delicious recipe :) The only change I made was to sear the chicken in some olive oil & white wine before baking as suggested by some other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Polish Noodles (Cottage Cheese and Noodles)

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
When I was a little girl, my (full-blooded Italian!) aunt introduced me to spaghetti w/ cottage cheese. I think that's all she put in it too; literally, pasta & cottage cheese (with a splash of the pasta water.) Years later, when I had a child of my own, I started making this for her (now adding butter/onion to give it more flavor.) Both ways -- just pasta/cottage cheese -- and then with the butter/onion -- were awesome (...but anything with some butta' is betta', ya know??) I forgot ALL about this "dish" then til recently when I was trying to use up leftover sour cream from Thanksgiving. And after doing a "google search" for ingredients, I fell upon this recipe ... making it yet again (now for TWO kids) :) - & with the sour cream this time, too. Wow! Loved it even MORE (and didn't think that was possible?!) I mean, you can't go wrong with the simple, basic versions -- but that blob of sour cream really adds somethin'. It helped everything come together as a 'sauce' almost, instead of just cheese curds & noodles. (I think this is what kept the picky-eatin' kid from realizing this was anything BUT "white mac 'n cheese." I know, I know ... it was a stretch, but he's 5 so he bought it). Yes! Win-win! Try it! I'm serious! It's not just for "cottage cheese-eaters." When warmed up ... and with the other ingredients ... the C.C. loses the texture/viscosity & appearance that some people can't seem to get into. I can see why "Lazy Man's Pierogies" are a great title for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMarcyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Baked Cod

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is great. I followed the other reviewer's advice and added some crushed red papper, and the little bit of heat was a nice touch. Next time I will add more cheese over the top of the dish. It melted nicely with the rice and tomatoes. This is a very comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I followed the advice of other reviewers and tripled the soy sauce and oyster sauce, used chicken broth in place of the water, and cut way down on the pepper. I also added a generous tablespoon of sriracha sauce, so it was nice and spicy. It was a little salty but still really tasty. And so easy - I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Perfect for summer snacking!! So easy & quick, a great way to use up some ripe red tomatoes. A new favorite salsa recipe in our house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Tuscan Flank Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Tried this for the first time tonight. It was awesome! Didn't have rosemary, so I used summer savory. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2dachs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Turned out wonderfully. Used beef broth, as suggested, and cooked for 4 1/2 hours on low for 1 lb. Waited until the last 2 hours to add the potatoes (didn't use carrots) and a small can of mushrooms. Beef was fall-apart tender. Great quick and easy recipe for a cheap cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I thought this would be like any other baked chicken recipe, but it was so much better! We will be enjoying this dish frequently :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Lime-Marinated Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Perfect recipe fir mahi mahi! Such a mild fish, this was just the right flavor to add to it. I made it just as the recipe stated, & it was delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Creamy Kohlrabi Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very good! I took the advice on another reviewer and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top. Souper Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States