Johnstown, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Perfect! Moist & love the streusel topping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach, Egg, and Pancetta with Linguine

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Read the reviews before you make this, and it will be fabulous. I followed the recommendations of others and used half the pasta, double the spinach and pancetta and added some minced garlic along with the spinach. I also beat the eggs and added them to the hot pasta in the skillet and let them cook in the pasta. Very much like a carbonara, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I just loved this recipe!! Just like another post, I thought this was like a strawberry shortcake taste. Mad another batch after the first and added 1 tsp vanilla and dusted the tops with sugar and they where awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

MeeMaw's 5-Star Cole Slaw Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Very good and very easy. Makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akppsu

Eggplant Bake

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made this for my mom because she LOVES eggplant and it was on sale for $1.79/lb. I made the following changes per other suggestions: I salted the cut eggplant and let it sweat for about 45 minutes, then dried very well on paper towels. In the eggs, I added about 1/3 cup Italian dressing, just to give the eggplant some added flavor. Dredged in seasoned breadcrumbs and baked 12 minutes per side. While eggplant baked, I sautéed the onions and about a tsp of minced garlic. I used a vidalia onion. Used a 9 x 13 glass baking dish and since I had a small eggplant, I had just 1 layer. I layered the eggplant, then the sautéed mixture, and finally 1/2 a container of halved cherry tomatoes. Sprinkled with grated parm, basil, oregano, salt, and freshly ground pepper. Baked at 350° for 20 minutes, covered. Removed foil, add 2 handfuls of shredded provolone and baked 5 minutes longer. Next time, I'll slice the eggplant thicker but that was my fault. I will also try this with zucchini and summer squash mixed with the eggplant. All in all, 2 thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Lamb Chops with Lemon Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The sauce is the star here - so easy and can be paired with lamb chops, pork chops, chicken breasts, a nice pork tenderloin.... so easy and so versatile. I made it with lamb chops, but I browned them in a skillet instead of broiling or grilling. The sauce was slow to thicken, so I added it to the pan juices after I had pulled out the chops - yum! It made the sauce even more tasty. I would have served this with mashed potatoes, but by the time I found this recipe, I had already put a couple of sweet potatoes in the oven. So I cooked a bag of baby carrots and served the chops and sauce on top of the carrots. It was awesome - this sauce would be good with anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Hummus

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Finally...an easy, inexpensive, healthy, and delicious recipe for an evening snack! I add extra lemon to mine, which makes it taste fresh and light. Love it with tortilla or pita chips! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've been cooking/baking for over 20 years, and until now, I've never made a pumpkin pie! I decided on this recipe and what a great decision...it was easy and SO good!!! Made a pretty presentation for the holiday crowd, too :) Making another one (or 2!) today for a get together! I should mention I replaced the Chinese spice with pumpkin pie spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Cabbage Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Excellent stew! I make this in the crock pot. Just brown the meat, put it in the crock pot and cover with the rest of the ingredients. Cook on low all day and it comes out great! Another great excuse to eat cabbage. Great as-is, but I've also added corn, peas, cauliflower, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Burgers

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent! They give the impression that they are difficult to make but they are very easy and quick. They also reheat very well. Great excuse to eat more cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynardo

Ribollita (Reboiled Italian Cabbage Soup)

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is so good and well worth the time. It isn't a hard recipe, just time-consuming. But the good news is that a lot of the time is passive so it's great for a multi-tasking day. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Muffin Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Pancakes turned out really delicious and a great recipe to use with the various box mixes - will definitely make again! I made the recipe as directed with the only modification being a splash of cooking oil instead of the required 2TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHEE122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Roll Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Very good recipe and so much less time consuming than stuffed cabbage rolls. I probably will never make cabbage rolls again due to the amount of time saved using this recipe and the similarity of the taste. I always chop up my cabbage rolls before I eat them anyway. I served with mashed potatoes. I definitely agree with other reviewers that the recipe as-is severely lacks seasoning. I added a few cloves of garlic, a teaspoon of pepper and at least triple the salt called for. Taste it after the first hour when you stir and adjust to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott K

To-Die-For Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Great recipe. I agree with other reviewers that the filling makes enough for 2 or 3 pies. I saved it to make chicken noodle soup the next day. I did make some changes to lighten it up that probably made it a 4-star; but I'm certain the recipe as written is a 5+ star. I used baked boneless chicken breast and omitted the butter (actually by accident!). I didn't even miss the butter, although I'm sure that would have made a huge difference. Next time I'll probably use half the butter called for. I recommend lining the edges of the crust with aluminum foil to avoid burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linguine with Fresh Sage-Caper Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I had lots of garden herbs to use up so used a mixture of basil, oregano, chives, parsley and sage. With pipette pasta, it made a great side dish with grilled london broil and a grilled vegetable salad. My husband said it was the best pasta he has had in ages, and said that if we had gotten this at a restaurant, we would go back just for that pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melitzanosalata Agioritiki (Athenian Eggplant Salad)

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was a great way to use up summer garden produce. I used Japanese eggplant, green and yellow peppers, sweet onion and yellow squash. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I saw all of the reviews stating how tangy it was...wow, so true! I like things with a little zest, but this actually hurt my throat. I even added some extra EVOO and some sugar to counter the tartness, but it was still too tart for my taste. I definitely should've cut back on the vinegar (&/or the pepper?). I think I will stick to my old stand-by recipe for a dressing and use this as a grilling marinade for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Lime Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I served this rice with jerk chicken thighs. It was very good but a little too sweet for me. I added extra lime juice to balance the sweetness of the coconut, but next time I will add some cayenne. As is, it was just the right accompaniment for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crescent Pizza Pockets

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
These are delicious! Like many reviewers, I folded them into squares and topped them with olive oil and Parmesan cheese. Although it seemed to take twice as long to assemble them as it did to eat them, we will definitely be having these again. Next time, I may try just using the crescent rolls as a crust in a jelly roll pan and make a regular pizza with them; seems like it would be less mess and less prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
You're going to want to add more noodles, don't do it! I made this recipe twice. The first time I added extra noodles because the proportions just didn't seem right to me. I made it a second time exactly as written and it was much, much better. The noodles absorb all the liquid. Do not add more noodles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States