Gettysburg, Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Big Soft Sugar Cookie Cakes

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
When I was a kid at home my mother made warm chocolate pudding and poured over this type of cookie. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gene's Long Island Iced Tea

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I liked it very much. It doesn't have the citrus flavor but I liked it just as listed. I call this one Gene's Special Tea. I also plant to add peach schnapps one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Peachy Keen Long Island Iced Tea

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I'm a long Island Iced tea drinker who loves to try new things. This was very smooth and delicious. I've frequently asked bartenders to add peach schnapps, especially in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this cookie dough last evening. I left it in fridge for at least 2 hours while I made a batch of chocolate chip cookies (they turned out great, thanks Nestle). I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was very wet. I had to add alot of flour to be able to roll out the dough. After rolling the first batch, I used powdered sugar to roll out the rest because there was too much of a flour taste. I was very disapointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crescent-Wrapped Brie

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Made this for a dinner party last night and everyone raved about it. The only thing I did different was to add some seedless red raspberry jam inside the dough and the drizzled on top after baking. will be making this for the holiday's. It is sooo easy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELL22677

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this yesterday using okra instead of peas. it was sooooooo good. Not only was it satisfying but the aroma while cooking made it seem festive. We finished feeling like we had just had thanksgiving diner again. I will freeze the next turkey carcus so I can make it on a cold winter day when we need a little comfort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Caramel Crunch Apple Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie was amazing! I didn't have the liquid issue some of the other reviewers had. I used a mix of granny smith and mcintosh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HayLo09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is an excellent cold weather soup. It's flavorable and filling. We served it corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Hurricane I

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Fantastic drink. I make Yellow Birds the same way except I substitute Galliano for Amaretto. It's a nice way to enjoy the sunset from your sunroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is my new chicken marinade. The leftover chicken I used for chicken salad...awesome! I'm in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wings In Cola

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I want to start out by saying I don't like wings. A lot of work for just a bit of meat. However the local grocer was having a sale on wings, so I bought them. I found this recipe and figured what the heck. I used Dr. Pepper and have to say they are delicious. I will recommend that you use a disposable foil pan, actually my wife recommends that after seeing the Pyrex dish I made it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All Protein Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Did not form a loaf at all, and I used over a cup of crushed pork skins. Its close to a loosemeat than meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this for a party at work and everyone wanted the recipe. It was so easy to make and travels well..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELL22677

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Onion Matzo Kugel

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I prepared this dish for our community passover celebration for 116 people. I added more pepper and garlic than called for. It was served plain or with chicken gravy. There were many good raves and requests for the recipe. excellant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Lobster Colorado

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. So easy to do. I wrapped a couple of pieces of bacon on my filets just to they were covered. The steaks came out so tender and flavorful, you almost didn't need a knife to cut it. I substitued crab meat which I added at the very end. Just long enough under the broiler to turn it a slightly golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary
Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimpcargot

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was wonderful. If you like mushrooms, shrimp and cheese, you'll like this recipe. I used frozen, raw shrimp. Thawed them out but did not pre cooked. Baked them on top of the mushrooms just until they were pink. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary
Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is the only bread machine pizza I make. Bought a case of cheap beer just to have on hand for this. However I add garlic powder to the flour. Plus(since I'm an east coaster) I have to have a thinner crust, so I use a fork to prick the bread. This stops it from raising too much. Oh one more thing if you use olive oil on the pan, the crust will brown without having to transfer it directly to the rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Potato Tacos

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I tried this twice. First time.. way too boring. The second time I doubled cheese, onion, and sour cream and used real potatoes(that need to be eaten). I also added taco seasoning(the plus) and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Did not like this at all. Never thickened and so it was just a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Cream Cookie Mix

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
These cookies were so good I wanted to run off to Massachusetts and marry them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 67) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States