Saint Louis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I used this recipe as a basis for my own dish, and it turned out very good. I used chicken thighs and sour cream instead of breasts and yogurt. I added some dry mustard instead of corriander and garum marsala. In other words, this recipe is very adaptable. It is spicy, but not overwhelming. The sauce goes excellently over rice and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The only drawback I encountered was the sherry. I prefer dryer sherries so naturally that is all I have in the house. I should have scaled back the amount b/c all we could taste was sherry. Next time I will either omit it or cut it back - otherwise the recipe was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It's good but I wouldn't say it's the perfect cheesecake. I've made it twice now and both times, it has really cracked. Not that I care if it cracks, but if you follow the recipe perfectly, it will crack. Now to me the flavor is the more important part of these cheesecake and it is in this area that I find this recipe lacking. I wish it was a more creamy texture. The second time I made the cheesecake I did cut back on the flour (used about 1/8 cup), and decreased eggs. I also added sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to the crust. These were good variations but still is just isn't quite as creamy of a cheesecake as I'd like. I'd say it almost reminds me more of a custard. I may try the recipe again and cut out an entire egg. Another note: it must cool all the way and be refrigerated for several hours! The first time I made it my S/O convinced me we should try it early (had been in over for about 5 hours but not in fridge for very long), the consistency was completely off! We were both disappointed. The next morning his son grabbed a piece and said how good it was, so we tried it again, it was a night and day difference! We vowed never to rush it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This recipe worked great, but I did make adjustments after reading other posters. First I used 29 ounces of peeled potatoes then boiled in 2.5 cups of water with 1 Tbsp of ham base instead of chicken broth. For the roux I followed the instructions but added 2 ounces grated Parmesan cheese which I added after the roux was complete. And because I didnt have any onions on hand I added onion powder, black pepper and nutmeg to taste. I didn't use the celery. I only had deli ham so I diced a fair amount up and combined all ingredients. It is very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpower4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe! I only added a dash of cinnamon because I'm pregnant and was craving cinnamon. I've made it previously as-is, and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza On The Grill I

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Once we tried it, we have made it at least once a week this summer. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna Nordstrom
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Really good, really simple. I used honey crisp apples so I cut down the sugar a little and I cooked in the crock pot so I didn't have to touch it. I tried it on low at first but after 4 hours, it was still crunchy so I cranked it up to high for another 2 hours. I probably shouldn't have gone so long but I had to leave the house so I wasn't watching it. Next time, I think 3 - 4 hours on high or 6 hours on low. Also, since I did in the crock pot, I didn't need as much water. I think I used about half a cup and still had too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This has been a hit at two different work parties! I doubled the recipe the second time. I omitted the green peppers and olive just out of person preference. I am sure it is amazing with it also. I served this with Town House Pita Chip - Mediterranean ones. They compliment this dip well. Everyone Loves it! I also used the original classico pizza sauce from Target and cheeses from Aldi. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn63129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jagerschnitzel

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was so delicious!!! I used a 1 lb. pork tenderloin and cut it into about 8 thick slices which I pounded thin. I did put a little garlic powder in the breading along with the salt and pepper. I separated the cooking a little due to time constraints. I browned the onion and fresh mushrooms, added the broth and simmered 20 min, then set that aside. When I was ready to cook, I fried the pork cutlets in 2 batches (they went in the oven at 300 after cooking), then wiped the pan out and re-added the mushroom broth to finish as directed. The pork was tender, crispy, and delicious and the sauce was very mushroomy, creamy, and flavorful. Next time I will probably make the sauce mushroom free since I'm the only one who would eat it (even though it was delicious). I served this with sautéed cabbage and egg noodles. Such a good recipe for fried pork chops, even if you don't make the sauce. Thanks for this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepperoncini Beef

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
So easy and delicious!!! If you are looking for the perfect lazy Sunday crock pot recipe - this is it! I took the others advice and added a quartered yellow onion. I also added a sprinkle of italian seasoning (not too much!), and a few shakes of Tony Chacherie's Instant Brown Gravy powder to thicken up the juice a bit. We put the shredded meat/pepperoncinis/onion mix on hoagie rolls, topped with provolone cheese and broiled the sandwich for a few minutes to crisp the bread edges and melt the cheese. **** to make this sandwich pop - we added a little horseradish sandwich sauce (use in place of mayo)*** and holy moly - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lestercancook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Chicken Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious! I used 2 cups of leftover smoked turkey and 1 can of vegetables instead of the chicken and frozen vegetables because it was what I had on hand and it was amazing. Both my 2 year old and 15 month old loved it and they can be pretty picky!!! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianalouise22
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We love this recipe! We have made it several times this summer and my 9-year-old picky-eater just requested I make this for her lunch when school starts. I omit the curry, and eyeball the measurements on everything else and it is fantastic every single time! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnie36

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fiesta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I liked this ok. The fakey flavor of the mexicorn threw it off a little for me, and it really needed something creamy to blend it together. My second try I mixed sour cream and salsa together as the dressing, but it was still missing something. I also think my choice of greens was unfortunate for this recipe. I used a mixed green blend with a lot of peppery arugula, and I think it overpowered everything else. I would add cheese and some crumbled tortilla chips. I might try this again with some milder greens and without the canned mexicorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These are so simple and taste great. I had to substitute tabasco for the chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Chili and Cheese Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This had no "wow" factor for us. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Too sweet for me personally. I prefer my sloppy joes to be more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Tabaka McRoberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ham Potato Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made a half batch of this for dinner last night and it was more than enough for my family. I have small children who are small eaters. I reduced the amount of onion by half and it was plenty, maybe even still too much. I also snuck in some steamed cauliflower, minced small, and no one noticed it was there. You could probably replace a quarter or more of the potatoes with cooked cauliflower because the color and texture are the same as the potatoes. I would be careful of the salt in this dish. I salted pretty heavily for the potatoes and had too much because of the salty ham. The amount of butter seemed high so I used about half in the potatoes and saved some aside to toss with crushed corn flakes and some more cheese to make a crumbly topping. I still felt like it was a little oily. I think I will leave the butter out next time and see if I miss it. My family liked this pretty well and my picky 5 year old finished her plate, so that's good enough for me. Update: Made this again with no butter and no added salt and neither were missed. It was better this time because I actually remembered to thaw the potatoes before mixing. It was much easier to mix and the potatoes cooked through this time with no crunch. Will ALWAYS replace some potato with cooked and chopped cauliflower, what an easy way to sneak in veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
It always drives me crazy when people change the recipe and give it a less than stellar review. This recipe is perfect just how it is. You wont find a better bread recipe. My family begs me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Tabaka McRoberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moussaka Cottage Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I browned and drained the meat before transferring it to a casserole dish to bake in the oven. I also made my own mashed potatoes rather than instant, and added a layer of mozzarella cheese. This dish was a first for our household and it was enjoyed. It has been added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rainbow Pasta Salad II

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Great basic pasta salad recipe. Your dressing choice obviously plays a big part in the flavor of this. Be mindful of that when selecting. I chose a restaurant's dressing that I really like that is sold in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States