Saint Louis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sunshine Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I'm giving this a 2 because of the the inconvenience. This baking/basting business is for the birds. If you follow the instructions and use skin on, bone in thighs, you lose all the sauce when you take off the skin. You baste and baste and then you take off the flavor. The chicken was juicy and had decent flavor (it tasted like chicken), but most of the sauce was lost either when removing the skin or burned to the bottom of the glass pan. It felt like it took FOREVER because I was just sitting next to the oven waiting to baste again in 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole III

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I liked this recipe but found it a little salty. I have been eating/making tater tot casserole since I was a child and always loved it, but my mom made it with no seasonings and my husband found it bland when I started making it for him. I like that this recipe uses only 1/2 lb of hamburger. My mom's old recipe used a full pound and that is too much. The garlic salt adds great flavor, but next time I will use 1/2 the garlic salt and 1/2 garlic powder to cut the saltiness. I didn't see a need for the milk, I think it would make it too watery, so I left it out. I included a good handful of shredded cheddar cheese and about a tablespoon of sour cream for extra flavor. I also used only 1/2 can beans and I used yellow wax beans (chopped up) so the kids wouldn't notice the vegetables. The color blends right in and they didn't even know they were eating beans in their casserole. Thanks for the update to my old family recipe. Kids really like this and it's great for the meat and potatoes husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Hands down the best banana bread I've ever made! I didn't have enough sour cream so I substituted half plain greek yogurt and half sour cream. Scaled it down to 3/4 and made in two 9x5 loaf pans. Cooked at 325 for an hour and ten minutes. Don't overcook this - I took it out when my knife had moist crumbs attached but not batter. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Bean Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Really unappetizing looking but very tasty. I added 1 finely diced jalapeno per another similar recipe and way more than 5 dashes of hot sauce, and it was really mild. I left the parsley out completely. I like that this recipe includes some cheese in the dip and some on the top. Next time I will cut this in half as my parties are usually for smaller groups. I only used 1 1/2 can of black refried beans and it was totally beany enough. I may even cut to one can next time and see how that goes. Oh, and I used the whole package of taco seasoning. Good stuff, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grain-Free Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Fabulous and I will definitely make again! Used a butter and egg mixture for dipping instead of all butter - can't wait to eat these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Delicious!!!! Made with yellow onion and tasted just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Good taste overall, a little bland. My real complaint is that I could taste and feel the grit of the flour in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dilled Shrimp Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I make this recipe for a lot of pot lucks and it is always a hit! My family loves seafood, so I usually use tail off shrimp and soak the shrimp in white wine and lemon juice to cure it. I have made it with chicken and it is also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Smoot-Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
The center of the cakes turned a different color and the taste was bland and the cake was too oily. If I could do over I would get rid of the baking soda, and replace some of the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Busy Day Barbeque Brisket

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
SO delicious! A bit too much on the spicy side though... Next time I'll take out the cumin and cayenne pepper I think. But really a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Wazzu Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This makes a TON of chili with a lot of meat. I'm not used to such a meaty chili but my husband likes it. I swapped the 1 lb pork with 1 lb lean ground turkey and followed the submitter's suggestion to liberally season the meat while cooking. To make clean up easier, I drained the meat out of the pan with a spoon into a paper towel lined bowl, then I used the leftover fat and seasonings in the pan to cook the veggies. I have small kids so I used 1 fresh jalapeno and about 1/4 c. diced pickled jalapeno. It was still pretty spicy with the cayenne and jalapeno, so I may cut more next time for the kiddos. I cut the beans to 2 cans instead of 3. Otherwise followed all directions. It does have a beer aftertaste that I am not totally sold on. Next time I may cut the beer in half and add beef broth to make up the lost liquid. I would also probably add a little more tomato sauce and maybe 1 1/2 lb. meat instead of 2 to get a little more "soup" and a little less meat. Overall a good chili with good flavor, nothing bland about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pico de Tuna

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
One of my favorites. I also add garlic, avocado and lime juice. I then use regular saltine crackers. I delicious, light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Salad in Seconds

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
It's kind of silly how easy this is, but a great idea doesn't have to be complicated. I made this for my daughter's kid birthday party. I used one big bag frozen strawberries and a small bag each of blackberries and raspberries, then I addd in some fresh green and red grapes so all the fruit wouldn't be frozen. Used low fat strawberry yogurt. The kids ate it up. It tasted like a smoothie. So easy it's crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Cream Cheese Rollups

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I left out the mayo. This is also good with a small amount of thin sliced sandwich salami chopped up and added in the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Taco Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I prefer these with a smaller amount of onion, but it is a taste issue, and I don't care for black olives so I left these out. I like the addition of the sour cream to make it easier to spread but I think the ratio is a little high. I also prefer less taco seasoning. I added adds about 2 c. finely shredded cheddar cheese and served with picante sauce for dipping (salsa is too watery and hard to get on the rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Apple Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Really a very delicious base recipe. I made it to spec, and thought that while it was sweet, it was very bland. I added smoked provolone and turkey bacon to the sandwich, but burger still needs a little more oomph. Will be making again, but will experiment with spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Italian Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is my regular recipe except the cheese and the olives. Sometimes simple is just the best, and I've never found a home made dressing that has just the right flavor for this. Wish bone really is the best for pasta salad. I always make this a day ahead to let the pasta and the veggies absorb the dressing, then add another big squirt right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tomato and Cream Cheese Dip - Get Crocked

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Half batch is plenty. It was a little bland so I added about 4 ounces of velveeta to give more flavor. Try making this ahead a day, it tasted better as leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Rice Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I used the basic concept of this recipe but used leftover chicken breasts and leftover uncle ben's chicken flavored wild rice blend for the rice (rinsed to remove the extra seasonings). Half this recipe was more than enough for my family of 4. Since I had leftover chicken, I decided to keep the celery and onion and just sautéed them in some butter with salt and pepper until they were soft. I added the butter and flour to the onions and celery and just proceeded with the cheese sauce in the same pan, then added the chicken and rice. I think either the rice ratio is a little off or my leftover rice "blend" with wild rice, white rice, and orzo, just didn't pick up the cheese sauce like straight rice would. I would not double the rice, but maybe just add another 1/4 c each time until I got the right ratio. I left out the mushrooms due to taste preference of my family. I thought it looked a little boring without a topping so I crushed up some ritz crackers to add a topping. This was really cheesy and delicious, a nice change from a canned cream soup based casserole. It was so easy too! It will go in the rotation AND I will tinker to make different casseroles with the same basic concept. Update: The leftovers were fine with the ratio of rice to sauce. I bet it would have been dry with more rice. If I add more rice, I would only add 1/4 c. TOTAL to avoid the leftovers being dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I have made this twice now and I really like it. I used all ingredients except for the red pepper. It was too vague for me (cayenne pepper, paprika, red pepper, chili pepper, what?) AND because after I mixed up the other ingredients I decided it didn't need it. I made it in the exact proportions the recipe called for and let it sit overnight, and I decided it needed about another teaspoon of horseradish for my taste. It was a little thin but tasty. I will make again but I will try some kind of thickener to make it a stiffer sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States