Saint Louis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Maple Apple Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Really a very delicious base recipe. I made it to spec, and thought that while it was sweet, it was very bland. I added smoked provolone and turkey bacon to the sandwich, but burger still needs a little more oomph. Will be making again, but will experiment with spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Italian Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is my regular recipe except the cheese and the olives. Sometimes simple is just the best, and I've never found a home made dressing that has just the right flavor for this. Wish bone really is the best for pasta salad. I always make this a day ahead to let the pasta and the veggies absorb the dressing, then add another big squirt right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tomato and Cream Cheese Dip - Get Crocked

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Half batch is plenty. It was a little bland so I added about 4 ounces of velveeta to give more flavor. Try making this ahead a day, it tasted better as leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Rice Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I used the basic concept of this recipe but used leftover chicken breasts and leftover uncle ben's chicken flavored wild rice blend for the rice (rinsed to remove the extra seasonings). Half this recipe was more than enough for my family of 4. Since I had leftover chicken, I decided to keep the celery and onion and just sautéed them in some butter with salt and pepper until they were soft. I added the butter and flour to the onions and celery and just proceeded with the cheese sauce in the same pan, then added the chicken and rice. I think either the rice ratio is a little off or my leftover rice "blend" with wild rice, white rice, and orzo, just didn't pick up the cheese sauce like straight rice would. I would not double the rice, but maybe just add another 1/4 c each time until I got the right ratio. I left out the mushrooms due to taste preference of my family. I thought it looked a little boring without a topping so I crushed up some ritz crackers to add a topping. This was really cheesy and delicious, a nice change from a canned cream soup based casserole. It was so easy too! It will go in the rotation AND I will tinker to make different casseroles with the same basic concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I have made this twice now and I really like it. I used all ingredients except for the red pepper. It was too vague for me (cayenne pepper, paprika, red pepper, chili pepper, what?) AND because after I mixed up the other ingredients I decided it didn't need it. I made it in the exact proportions the recipe called for and let it sit overnight, and I decided it needed about another teaspoon of horseradish for my taste. It was a little thin but tasty. I will make again but I will try some kind of thickener to make it a stiffer sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Balls III

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Easy and tasty though I found it made LOTS more than the noted 24 1-inch balls. More like 48 and I also had to double the amount of melted chocolate in order to cover all those balls. Mine didn't come out as smooth and pretty as some of the ones shown(maybe that's why some raters add shortening?), but that's most likely due to my lack of technique and they could be prettier with practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I got this recipe when I was a child from an older southern lady at my church. She made these up in huge batches and kept them in the freezer for when guests came by. You never left that house without a sausage ball! I like to make them with hot sausage (I like Jimmy Dean) and just a little less cheese, maybe 12 oz. DO NOT cook the sausage! It takes a while to get it all incorporated, but start with room temp. sausage and just get in there with your hands. The heat from your hands helps everything to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Easy! My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Love this recipe, super easy. I never thought egg rolls would be this easy to make! I added a pinch of chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Salami

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is awesome! I followed the directions but used vsop brandy because I could not find an inexpensive cognac I liked. It is soo pretty, a real "grown up" chocolatey confection! Very easy to make, I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Too much oil. I actually had closer to 3 lbs of sweet potatoes (4 regular potatoes). I cut them into thick rings and followed the directions, although I used a little less cinnamon. The oil was completely overdone. I would suggest maybe just tossing the potato slices in a couple of tablespoons of oil in a mixing bowl, then baking at 10 min, stir, 10 min, stir, add sugar mix, 10 min schedule. A good mix of sweet and salt and pretty easy, I will make again with much less oil and maybe a little more salt. Oh yeah, since I don't keep fresh lime juice on hand, I skipped that bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thanksgiving Jell-O® Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My aunt makes this for family reunions I love it you would never believe there is cottage cheese in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Balinda Shaw-Barks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was bland and not great as is. \
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Tomato Tortellini

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Amazing!!! Very simple as well! I added cut up pieces of boneless chicken breast which enhanced a already perfect dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmateurChefMomOf3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I like a little more salt and pepper on the meat before coating in flour, but this is really tasty. I sometimes make this with just the flour (skipping the eggs) for a quicker, lighter dish. "Lard" is a scary word. I just use vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
change bread crumbs to 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wild Mushroom Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This tasted good, but it makes a ton (it really will serve 16), and it is very time consuming and very expensive. I live in Chicago, and I still had to go to four different stores to find all of the ingredients, and ended up spending nearly $50 (between the three types of mushrooms, hazelnuts, fresh herbs and challah), as well as over an hour in prep work (soaking, chopping, reconstituting...) It was not so much better than the standard sage stuffing I usually make that it was in any way worth the time or expense. My husband, who thought it tasted great, agreed that the cost/benefit ratio was just too skewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It's good if there is no sour cream in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Herbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
A great standard seasoning mixture, I used the entire recipe mixed with 1lb browned and drained beef, added 2 Tsp cornstarch (pre-mixed with 2 Tbsp cold water) and brought it to a boil and then simmered until thickened. Made for great soft tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherwood McGowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I will be using this recipe from now on when I make chicken breasts. I found garlic butter Ritz crackers at the store, and I love garlic, so used those and cut down the garlic salt and added a little bit of Italian seasoning. I also used an unsalted sweet butter and placed the pads around and between the chicken. Other than that, followed the recipe to a tee. I think the time that is required to cook the chicken will depend on how many breasts you have. I cooked at 375 for 40 minutes with 4 breasts and it turned out absolutely perfect. It was the moistest chicken I have ever made. I already have made this recipe 3 time within 2 weeks. Every time it turns out delicious and super moist. I am also thinking of trying it on chicken wings and pork. This is a very good recipe to substitute for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States