Saint Louis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I got this recipe when I was a child from an older southern lady at my church. She made these up in huge batches and kept them in the freezer for when guests came by. You never left that house without a sausage ball! I like to make them with hot sausage (I like Jimmy Dean) and just a little less cheese, maybe 12 oz. DO NOT cook the sausage! It takes a while to get it all incorporated, but start with room temp. sausage and just get in there with your hands. The heat from your hands helps everything to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Easy! My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Love this recipe, super easy. I never thought egg rolls would be this easy to make! I added a pinch of chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Salami

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is awesome! I followed the directions but used vsop brandy because I could not find an inexpensive cognac I liked. It is soo pretty, a real "grown up" chocolatey confection! Very easy to make, I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Too much oil. I actually had closer to 3 lbs of sweet potatoes (4 regular potatoes). I cut them into thick rings and followed the directions, although I used a little less cinnamon. The oil was completely overdone. I would suggest maybe just tossing the potato slices in a couple of tablespoons of oil in a mixing bowl, then baking at 10 min, stir, 10 min, stir, add sugar mix, 10 min schedule. A good mix of sweet and salt and pretty easy, I will make again with much less oil and maybe a little more salt. Oh yeah, since I don't keep fresh lime juice on hand, I skipped that bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thanksgiving Jell-O® Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My aunt makes this for family reunions I love it you would never believe there is cottage cheese in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Balinda Shaw-Barks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was bland and not great as is. Not our favorite recipe. We ended up ordering a pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Tomato Tortellini

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Amazing!!! Very simple as well! I added cut up pieces of boneless chicken breast which enhanced a already perfect dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmateurChefMomOf3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I like a little more salt and pepper on the meat before coating in flour, but this is really tasty. I sometimes make this with just the flour (skipping the eggs) for a quicker, lighter dish. "Lard" is a scary word. I just use vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wild Mushroom Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This tasted good, but it makes a ton (it really will serve 16), and it is very time consuming and very expensive. I live in Chicago, and I still had to go to four different stores to find all of the ingredients, and ended up spending nearly $50 (between the three types of mushrooms, hazelnuts, fresh herbs and challah), as well as over an hour in prep work (soaking, chopping, reconstituting...) It was not so much better than the standard sage stuffing I usually make that it was in any way worth the time or expense. My husband, who thought it tasted great, agreed that the cost/benefit ratio was just too skewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It's good if there is no sour cream in the house. Sort of bland, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Herbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
A great standard seasoning mixture, I used the entire recipe mixed with 1lb browned and drained beef, added 2 Tsp cornstarch (pre-mixed with 2 Tbsp cold water) and brought it to a boil and then simmered until thickened. Made for great soft tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherwood McGowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I will be using this recipe from now on when I make chicken breasts. I found garlic butter Ritz crackers at the store, and I love garlic, so used those and cut down the garlic salt and added a little bit of Italian seasoning. I also used an unsalted sweet butter and placed the pads around and between the chicken. Other than that, followed the recipe to a tee. I think the time that is required to cook the chicken will depend on how many breasts you have. I cooked at 375 for 40 minutes with 4 breasts and it turned out absolutely perfect. It was the moistest chicken I have ever made. I already have made this recipe 3 time within 2 weeks. Every time it turns out delicious and super moist. I am also thinking of trying it on chicken wings and pork. This is a very good recipe to substitute for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I absolutely love this apple crisp! There's never enough when it makes an appearance at any gathering. Good job Julie, and thanks for making it for me when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherwood McGowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Spaghetti Squash Hash Browns

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I just wanted to say that I have not tried this specific recipe, but I have made something similar and they are delicious. I add Mexican type spices to mine. I add cumin, coriander, chili powder, cayenne, onion powder or diced onion, as well as a bit of garlic and salt. I imagine they would be very good with some Asian seasoning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpower4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I make this often. It is super easy and filling. The tweaks I make to it is I use pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti Squash with Beef and Veggies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I thought this was really good. My family, however, was not impressed. My husband did not like the fact that I was passing off squash as spaghetti (he's a real meat and potatoes kind of guy) and my kids thought there was too much hamburger. I didn't tell them it was squash but they did ask me what kind of spaghetti it was. I could tell that they weren't sure what to do because they really like spaghetti and I TOLD them it was spaghetti, lol. I followed the recipe for the meat (swapping green pepper for red) but when I saw the massive amount of meat, I put half of it in a container to freeze and just used half the amount called for. It was STILL too meaty for my family. I used Italian diced tomatoes but I threw them in the food processor to pulse the chunks out. I also thought the addition of the cheddar cheese was strange given that the rest of the flavors were so Italian, so I swapped the cheddar for mozzarella and parmesan. I honestly really liked the beef and tomato topping, I think it would make a good spaghetti sauce on its own or topping other vegetables like zucchini or stuffed peppers. I did follow another reviewer's advice and squeezed some water out of my cooked squash before using it in the casserole and it was still a little wet, but nothing that a little wadded up paper towel couldn't handle. I have a bunch of great leftovers for my lunch but I probably won't make this again due to the reception my family gave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is a really good and easy soup, but as written, the consistency is way too thick. I even cut the corn starch in half and it was still too thick. I would suggest starting with 1/8 c. cornstarch and 1/2 c. of potato flakes. You can add more flakes slowly as the mixture thickens until you get to a consistency you like. I would have much preferred a more "cream soup-y" consistency and what I got was very "mashed potato-y". I was concerned about the 1/2 tsp. basil, but it ended up being a very mellow flavor and not overpowering. I think nest time I might add just a tiny bit of bacon grease with the butter when sautéing the onions to give it a little more bacon flavor. Otherwise, really great. I really like doing the baked potatoes in advance and cutting the chunks up in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy P.

Jamaican Beef Patties

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I just got back from Jamaica last week. After having the meat patties there I HAD to try them when I got home! This recipe was great! Totally hit the spot. other than adding a little cheese & using spicy curry I didn't change a thing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made this for a football game and it was gone by halftime! Cooked as directed but with double the amount of spices. Saved the juices and left the pork in the crock pot with tongs so people could help themselves during the game. Served with shredded monterey jack, salsa verde, and sour cream. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States