Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Loved them…as suggested I used Jimmy Dean hot sausage instead of ground beef. I also used a variety of beans…black, pinto, navy and red kidney instead of pork n beans. Other than those alterations..followed the recipe. Thank you! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

Crispy Herb Baked Chicken

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
The title is misleading - I had to double check to see if I missed anything. There are no "herbs" in this recipe (unless the author thinks garlic is an herb). It could be called Crispy Garlic Chicken. It was a little bland so I had to doctor it up a bit with - you guessed it - some actual herbs (rosemary and thyme).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Very good. Marinade adds a good flavor while not overwhelming. Easy to make and with ingredients one should have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102

Onion and Mushroom Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Eight oz. of mushrooms for 5 eggs? A whole onion? Even more startling, 1-1/2 TABLESPOONS of Italian seasoning? For 5 eggs? Especially regarding the seasoning, one could reasonably assume this has to be a typo! That said, if I were to rate this recipe according to these measurements, I would assign it one star, and according to AR’s guidelines, that means inedible. If I were to rate this, however, on more sensible measurements, I would rate this 5 stars. Not only did I not use 1-1/2 T. of Italian seasoning, I used none at all – because I don’t use “Italian” seasoning. But if I was to use it, I’d use a more reasonable 1/4-1/2 tsp. – “to taste” if you will. Besides, garlic and herb Boursin has quite a lot of flavor on its own and because of it you’d be pushing it with extra seasoning. I did, however, add some chopped fresh chives to compensate for omitting the “Italian” seasoning. As for the mushrooms and onions, I added what looked right to me, and it was far less than what the recipe directed. The Boursin added a pleasant, subtle, herby creaminess, and while the mozzarella didn’t contribute much flavor, it added a decadent gooiness. So in the final analysis, made as directed with at least one possible typo (the amount of Italian seasoning) this would be 1-star inedible. With more conservative amounts of everything, we loved it, 5 stars. In fairness, I’ll rate it midway in between at 3 stars, which assumes the reader takes into account these considerations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Delicious and perfect for a sweet, healthy pancake breakfast. For the tablespoon of sweetener, I used 100% pure honey. I sprinkled with some powdered sugar and fresh blueberries, and served with butter and maple syrup. I will definitely make these again and try different fruit substitutions, like banana and walnuts, and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Made these exactly as stated. I used cupcake liners successfully, filling the muffin cup to the top. I was worried but they domed nicely and came out of the pan very easily. These are very rich so I don't know that I would make them often but they are a great treat! I thought all the topping made them excessively sweet but Hubs ate 2 of them right away and loved them (he eats to live, so he doesn't often overindulge). They are even better the next day but I have to agree with those that added cinnamon to the batter, I will add it next time. Great way to use up a couple apples and makes the house smell heavenly! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Swiss Enchiladas

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
We liked this. We just used corn tortillas instead of flour. Wife doesn't care them thar flour things. Don't skimp on the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Ratatouille

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This was a waste of good vegetables. I'll go a different way on the next round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Soul Smothered Chicken

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Want to impress your friends? Throw this down and they'll swear you were raised in the South! We had a soul food cook off at work and us white guys took home the gold. Never had so many sisters coming to me for tips in my life. Don't be afraid to tweak this one to your tastes. This is very durable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Very, very good. I'd cut back on the Thyme just a bit but other than that I wouldn't change anything. Keep the bottle handy. For regular product quality checks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Everyone in the family loves this. I don't. I just don't care for salmon. But when I put this out, nothing but raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Pasta Hot! Hot! Hot!

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Thought I was the only one doing this! Great quick easy meal when you don't want to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Nana's Mashed Turnip

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
We've totally given up on regular mashed potatoes. Go this way with or without the sugar and you won't go back. Way better for you too! Thought it would have a funky taste, nope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This was great. We use this as a go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This was good. It needs a little more garlic for me and less or no sun dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Thought this was bland. Better off seasoning it like it was Thanksgiving day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Sandy's Homemade Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Absolutely LOVED this! I doubled the recipe & used 2 bags of frozen broccoli plus a total of 4 carrots. I put the carrots, onions, & celery thru the food processor. Followed the directions to a "t" except I turned off the heat when I stirred in the cheese. The soup was plenty hot enough for the cheese to melt without the extra 5 min. Easy peasy & absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This pie is what the man of the house requests at Thanksgiving and his birthday and I am NOT a baker! I cheat and buy ready made pie crusts. I also have a handy little doohickey that peels and cores the Granny Smith apples I use. I really hate peeling and coring by hand which seems to take forever. Like others have mentioned I add cinnamon, vanilla extract and sometimes nutmeg. I add most of the syrup into the bottom crust with the apples then pour the rest over the latticed top crust and with sprinkle cinnamon & sugar. This recipe makes a very pretty pie that I would be confident serving to guests as well as family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Beignets

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Loved it! Tastes like I'm back in New Orleans. I had the beignets at Cafe Du Monde, and I thought these were ALMOST as good. However, my husband (who didn't wake up earlier enough to go to Cafe Du Monde) tried beignets at another restaurant on our last day in NOLA, and these were MUCH better. So to him, I'm an even better cook ;-) Followed the recipe exactly, no problems. I think the cooking temp is the biggest factor in the success of the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Moreland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stryker, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raevynsfire

Perfect Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is a family favorite. I have the kids cook it occasionally by themselves and they do great. (They are teenagers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raevynsfire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States