Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Oh. My. GOSH! This is the best pot roast I've ever had (sorry, mom). The only pain is that you have to cook the onions and sauce before hand which makes it hard to do on a weeknight. I made the sauce the night before and kept it in a separate container in the fridge. In the morning, I poured the sauce over it and then put tiny Yukon Gold potatoes on top (I have a small crock pot). I put it on low for about 3 1/2 hours and when I got home, I turned it on high for another 4 hours. Remember, mine was cold from being in the fridge. It was perfect. The meat is crazy tender and the potatoes were soft without being mushy. Will definitely make again - hopefully I don't lose is recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Followed recipe for the most part, but added nutmeg and maybe 1T 1/2 and 1/2 thinking it would be more creamy, but still disappointed in the creaminess of it. May try it again, changing some things up and give it one more shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

Japanese Beef Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was a great recipe! I did add some garlic and a little red pepper to spice it up a bit. This will become part of our monthly rotation. Easy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Mixed Berry Trifle

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I scaled this down to 4 servings and made them into "mini" trifles. They turned out so cute, and they are delicious! I have never heard of cream sherry before, so I used a bit of regular sherry. I also had a small bit of strawberry sauce left in my fridge that I just tossed in with the berries to use it up. Nice summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Spicy Cornbread Mini-Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I didn't have great success with this recipe, but I'm rating four stars anyway as I think some of the issues I had were mine = ) ...so consider this review just sharing my experience. The garlic was way too strong. I use granulated garlic, which I thought was the same as garlic powder, but maybe not; maybe this was the problem. Also, the cheese that was exposed on top of the muffins kinda burned by the time the muffins started to brown. Again, that could be me: my oven. But I really had a problem with the instructions. The description, the blurb at the top, says 'makes 3 dozen mini', as does the serving size. The ingredients say, for 1 T butter and 3 T cornmeal, used to prep the pans, 'divided'. Then Step 4 says 'brush 18 mini muffin cups'. I noticed that there were no instructions to use two pans, or bake one pan two times, but I, not being much of a baker, thot that the 1 cup flour would not yield enough to make 36, so I just prepped the pan for the 18. I ended up making 48. Granted, mini muffin tins may vary in size, but given the inconsistencies in the instructions, I think there was a failure in editing or proofreading. Not from the submitter, but from AR. This was kind of a mess as I like to mix the wet and dry ingredients and get them into the oven as soon as possible, because this is when the leavening starts working. More experienced bakers probably would have known better, but not me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Sour Cream Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
My boyfriend loves cheesecake and asked me to make this for him for his birthday. It was awesome! I hate cheesecake but I thought this tasted fantastic. I don't have a spring-form pan so instead I lined a round 9 inch pan with parchment on the bottom and sides and placed it in a bigger pan in a water bath. I also let it sit in the oven (with the oven off) for 30 minutes while making the topping instead of taking it out and putting it back in. Turned out great. Thanks for a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is a keeper. The taste is good. the texture is fluffy. I made the topping and had leftovers. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Just what I was looking for - made it last night with one cuke- hubby doesn't like them Ate the whole batch for lunch today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Bacon Jam

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I won first place at the bacon competition at the fair so that makes it a 5 star recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA

Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made this for 40 people. Quick, easy and tasty. I did add some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo

Easy Raspberry Lemonade

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've made this three times now, and each time it was gone almost immediately. My only change--double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Bacon Roll Ups II

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
easy and sooooooooo good - I suggest cutting the crust off the bread as it looks and cooks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

Blueberry-Almond Energy Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
very good recipe and so healthy---------I tried even harder to make it more healthy by subbing agave for the maple syrup and cut up prunes for the blueberries (that I did not have). I, also, added 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce and baked in mini-muffin pans as suggested. My picky husband liked them a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

Easy Tilapia

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made this recipe almost exactly as described, except for the tomatoes. I didn't have any and it didn't sound good. I used brussel sprouts halved instead of asparagus. It was so good. I am giving only 4 stars because the amount of tilapia must be off. The rest of the ingredients are too much for only 6 ounces of fish. I used a whole pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

"Fowl" Weather Broccoli Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. This is comfort food for me. I like the idea of subbing Cheddar cheese soup, I would have not thought of that. I know I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Caprese Salad with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Nothing screams summer to me more than a nice caprese salad! I cut back the balsamic to about 1/4 cup and just added about 1 tablespoon of honey. Even after reduced slightly, it was more than enough for a light drizzle. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Carrie C.

Layin' the Chocolate Smack Down

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was very good. It came together very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Shortbread Crust

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This gets 4 stars for how it is "as is." I made 1/2 a recipe to get 1 pie crust. It was really sticky & while I could get it pressed in the pie plate, it was WAY too sticky to roll pieces to make a decorative top. I had to add more flour to be able to work with it. However, the taste was great. I will make again with more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I am an Allrecipes 5 Star frequent flyer. I put alot of trust in the ones with 100s-- or like this one 1000s-- of 5 star reviews, but this is the first that really let me down. I made this exactly as written. Awful. In fact, I don't feel well a few hours after eating it. I'm finding the aftertaste very unappealing. The flavors just don't agree with me (or my boyfriend) at all. I don't know why this is rated so high. I think it's the vinegar, it was a strange tang and it made the bread soggy. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Cane Child

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth

Campanelle with Cabbage and Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
We had to make a lot of adjustments to make this work for us, but it turned out delicious! I made the marinade as stated but added salt to the chops. Before i baked the pork I seasoned it with essence. I halved the pasta as someone else suggested. For the sauce I doubled the garlic, added half of an onion sliced, and also added about 1/2 c more wine. When the pork was done I also added those pan juices to the sauce. I omitted the butter mainly because I forgot. Oh well, it didn't need it and neither did we! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States