Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pineapple Coconut Cake

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made the icing first. It turned out a hot mess because it was just pure butter with pineapple flavoring (from the juice). Luckily I was able to whip it into shape by adding MORE confectioners sugar (1 1/2 c), whipped w/ hand mixer 1cup of heavy whipping cream. I did not make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismajestic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
We had this for breakfast on Memorial Day. I used leftover hamburger buns and hot dog buns for the bread. Followed the rest of the recipe as directed. It is very delicious and our entire family loved it. I highly suggest that you start blueberry syrup when you take cover off for last 25-30 min of baking. Gives you plenty of time for the blueberries to burst. Oh n don't forget the butter at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Garlic Pasta by Tammy

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Mmm good so much better than the boxed pasta mixes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Doerr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown Casserole II

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The original version is good. However, I prefer the suggestions others have made. I use cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken and I omitted the cornflakes. Not a fan of cornflakes on my hash browns. Instead I sprinkle shredded Parmesan on top. I personally made the following substitutions and additions. I used a pkg of pizza shredded cheese; it is mozzarella, cheddar, Parmesan and cream cheese. I used Obrien shredded hash browns; it comes already thawed, and with onions, green and red bell peppers already in it. I omit the salt. And I add breakfast meat, usually bacon, sausage and diced ham; or one of the three depending on what I have available. Sometimes I add red pepper flakes or diced jalapeños if I want it spicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Tortellini Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Loved this salad and it is so easy--not a lot of chopping. Used baby spinach and mixed it in while the tortellini was hot and it wilted nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This was very good. You can add what ingredients you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell

Awesome Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This was a HUGE hit at my daughters graduation party. I used an entire bottle of Olive Garden Italian Salad Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Best Brownies

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
My family loved these brownies! They weren't too sweet and kept that moist, fudgy texture and flavor for a few days. I will make these again and again. Thanks for the simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory Dutton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Photo by WOODS2104

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Loved it! Definitely need to prep everything before starting and pull those shrimp off as soon as they are done. I subbed olive juice for caper brine and tasted awesome. Added angel hair pasta to the sauce with a little of the pasta cooking water and then threw the shrimp back in. I doubled the recipe for 4 adults and had just enough leftovers for my lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
These were wonderful. Made them as stated. Will surely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer-Braised Brats

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Used a sweet onion and Labatts. Cranberry relish was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Ray's Tropical Island Chicken

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made a double batch of marinade for 8 thighs, as there just wasn't enough to cover the chicken. Good flavor, the lime really came through, and very juicy chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Country Style Ribs

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
We grilled over fairly low heat for almost two hours and the ribs were fall-off-the-bone tender with nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This is almost identical to Mimi Hiller's Sticky Chicken, which she created in the mid 1980's. Her recipe was for one bird. She did use a roasting chicken, about 3 pounds. Her amount of cayenne pepper was 1 1/2 teaspoons (for two birds). Instead of quartered onions, she used chopped. She cooked chicken breast side down. She basted occasionally with the pan juices. She cooked until internal temperature was 155 degrees--Now the safe minimum is 165 degrees, for about five hours. Is this her recipe in disguise? You claim it as your own, but to me it looks like hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pzzlvr123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian-American Slaw With Peanuts and Jalapenos

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I thought i would really like this, was just ok. I think I was wanting something lighter, more refreshing or zesty tasting. I tried to add some white vinegar to add zip but still couldn't get the taste i wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Best meatloaf I ever made. Moist and good tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Baked Ziti

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Everybody loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Fabulous drink! I let the fruit and rum sit for about 5 hours. Very simple to make. Everyone at my party loved it....when it was all gone i made more but it doesn't taste the same when you don't let the fruit and rum sit a while. I will absolutely use this again and try to play up the fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pollo Fajitas

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
No flavor at all and chicken thighs smh...should of been a give away. I guess I'll have to keep searching for the right recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Avocado Salad

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
My family & I love this. Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States