Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I am an Allrecipes 5 Star frequent flyer. I put alot of trust in the ones with 100s-- or like this one 1000s-- of 5 star reviews, but this is the first that really let me down. I made this exactly as written. Awful. In fact, I don't feel well a few hours after eating it. I'm finding the aftertaste very unappealing. The flavors just don't agree with me (or my boyfriend) at all. I don't know why this is rated so high. I think it's the vinegar, it was a strange tang and it made the bread soggy. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Cane Child

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth

Campanelle with Cabbage and Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
We had to make a lot of adjustments to make this work for us, but it turned out delicious! I made the marinade as stated but added salt to the chops. Before i baked the pork I seasoned it with essence. I halved the pasta as someone else suggested. For the sauce I doubled the garlic, added half of an onion sliced, and also added about 1/2 c more wine. When the pork was done I also added those pan juices to the sauce. I omitted the butter mainly because I forgot. Oh well, it didn't need it and neither did we! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH

Fiesta Chopped Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a great summery salad. Since I planned on eating it throughout the week for lunch, I kept the dressing separate, and omitted the avocado. I doubled the amount of peppers and zucchini, then added the mixture over a bed of baby arugula. Definitely one of my favorites, I'll be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Another extraordinary recipe from Chef John. Thank you!! Shrimp Étouffée is one of my very favorite dishes, and this is the first time I've made it, thanks to your easy instructions. It was VERY filling, so it was okay that we only had a pound and a half shrimp. That easily feeds 6 or more. I actually had good-quality shrimp (which was a surprise) rather than water-logged, which meant I should not have drained and patted them dry. There was hardly any shrimp broth at the bottom to add back in, so I would have liked to know how to make stock with the shells instead of throwing them away (will research for next time). This was YUMMY! And my family loved it! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Garlic Kale

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
So incredibly easy and really good! I sauteed the kale first, then added the garlic as suggested by others. If you massage the kale a little before adding to the skillet, it does make the leaves more tender and you don;t have to cook it very long at all. A sprinkle of Parmesan cheese is a wonderful addition at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102

Italian Drunken Noodles

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Ohhhhh, yeah. I am in awesome supper Nirvana after eating this. It was like ET phone home, even tho' I'm not home - in other words, this is pure comfort food, with familiar flavors and ingredients that made me a very happy camper. This, a tossed green salad and my favorite Zin made for a satisfying meal, and this was so easy to prepare given I had leftover linguine in the fridge. I pretty much followed the recipe, tho' I did not use the "Italian seasoning" - I really dislike the stuff. I deviated by using some fresh cherry tomatoes (this meal was just for me so it was impractical to open a can of tomatoes) and I gave it a good dusting of freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano right before sticking my fork in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Skillet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Pretty good! These have become my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Tangy Tuna Black Bean Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
A real surprise, these were wonderful, except for the excessive salt. Cut the garlic salt down to 1/2-1 tsp instead of 1 tbs and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA

Tangy Tuna Black Bean Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
A real surprise, these were wonderful, except for the excessive salt. Cut the garlic salt down to 1/2-1 tsp instead of 1 tbs and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
What an easy & delicious recipe! Add a little wine with the broth & some saffron in the end with the basil & parmesan to kick it up a notch or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Fiber Mini Shells with Cherry Tomatoes, Basil and Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
We loved this recipe! I added minced garlic and fresh mozzarella cheese to it, and that was the perfect addition to the flavor! Nice easy recipe, perfect for a busy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Dailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Delicious. Didn't change anything other than used white rice (that's what I had). We are not vegetarians but I made this for a guest and we all enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Yes, I think it's a favorite! The chicken was moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I am not a fan of bouillon cubes. I subbed a small amount of no sodium broth mixed with maybe a tablespoon of packaged beef gravy for 2 medium thickness bone-in pork chops. I added a small onion and sliced garlic to the gravy. Simmered on LOW for the 45 minutes produced a tasty, moist chop. I also use a quality butcher meat- You get what you pay for when it comes to meat!! That's a fact jack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

Cabbage Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe!! The only adjustment I made was substituting Crushed Tomatos for Whole. I loved the dill flavor! Will definitely fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkinson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr.Mom

Honey Wheat Bread II

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Awesome bread and easy to make! Second loaf I ever made in my life and it was amazing, will never buy bread again! Would like a Kitchen-Aide Mixer for Christmas! But its fun making it by hand too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr.Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Hands down the best peach pie I've ever had. My boyfriend agreed! So quick and easy! There's a couple elements that you HAVE TO keep in mind in order for this to come out as amazing as it did for me. First, make sure you have ripe peaches that are in season. Second, find a flaky homemade pie crust recipe. PLEASE make your own pie crust and make a lattice design if you have time. I think that's essential for baking a pie more evenly. The pie crust I use is "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" here on Allrecipes. I didn't have to change a thing and it wasn't runny for me or too tangy. A lot of other users added more ingredients, but I don't feel that it needed any. If I have delicious ripe peaches I don't want to hide/mask their flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies III

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Both times I have tried it, it turned out great! I will definitely make this again! The only tweek I made was the vanilla. I added just a little more than 1 tablespoon. They did longer than a little bit to firm though. Overall this is a very good cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I make a banging red sauce and these meat balls are very much worthy of said sauce. I baked rather then pan fry. I roasted my spaghetti squash on the same baking sheet as the meatballs. Both were done in the same cooking time on 400 degrees, on the center rack. I use parchment paper on my baking sheet, no stick no fuss no muss. When the squash was tender the balls were cooked through. I turned the balls once during cooking. I didn't cook the onion and garlic before hand, I was being a lazy cook and just chopped them fine and added to the meat mixture, along with fresh dried basil, and sage, as well as fennel seed. Because we prefer larger meatballs I made mine just a bit bigger then golf balls. I got 10 meat balls, just perfect for us. My sauce and this meat ball recipe were meant to be together and I know have a killer use every time meat ball recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Brown Mustard Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a somewhat unique creamy potato salad with the addition of the dill and the tangy spicy brown mustard. This house enjoys potato salad, and this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States