Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by lutzflcat

Berry Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I typically don't like foods too sweet, but this was just a little too tart for me (that's certainly easy enough to fix) I liked using 3 different type berries in this sauce, and the change in texture they bring. Also liked that little bit of the pumpkin spice flavor peeking through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat

Apple-Cheese Tart

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
What a nice combination of flavors, and to think it starts with a can of cinnamon-y apple pie filling...how easy is that??? The cheddar is sharp, but it’s mellowed out by the ricotta resulting in a mild cheesy creamy filling that doesn't take anything away from the apple flavor. The only thing that I would do differently in the future is cut the salt in half. We enjoyed this both warm and cold. Nice change for a quick-and-easy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Caribbean Holiday Shrimp

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Fantastic!!! Used for a couple of parties and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe's ingredients don't need altered in any way. It's wonderful and easy. I baked them for 40 minutes, then let cool for 10 minutes with a towel over them, then uncovered for another 10. Cut with a very sharp non-serrated knife. No cracking or breaking. Baked for 12 more minutes. I think my Dad's going to like his Christmas gift!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Make prime rib this way every Christmas! Wonderful! And to the poster who said the recipe submitter should give credit where credit is due, saying this is from Paula Deen? Paula published this recipe in May 2007. The recipe was published here in December 2006. Wonder where Paula got it from, hmmm?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Tex'n Melt'm

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was easy to make and just the snack my husband wanted. I used less cheese and stirred everything together so it was evenly distributed. Then heated in the microwave. Fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mary's Christmas Shrimp Tree

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is always a hit. I get a star fruit for the top of the tree. Nature made this fruit solely for this purpose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAWKS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Liberty Township, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Iripina

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was my first attempt at making cheesecake. I had no idea I needed a springform pan, so I improvised by making them in muffin cups. Same temp for baking, but adjusted to 20 minutes only. They were a hit! Perfect portions and garnished with a raspberry and mint leaf. Will definitely make these again...no springform pan for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Sweet Marie Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was just OK for us . Seemed like it took a long time for the mixture to boil . It did set up nice , and the chips melted well . After it chilled , and let it warm up a bit , it was hard to cut , and very sticky . Hard to chew . SO nuked some for a bit , and said it was easier to eat . Don't think this will be a re-do. Thanks for posting something new for us to try .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetable Dill Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is one of my favorites! My mom made this, and I make it often. Beau Monde is definitely one of those spices that you don't use very often, but definitely makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle C McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I first tried this recipe two years ago at Christmas and again last year. It was so perfect! I plan to cook my roast again this year the same way. I use garlic salt instead of powder and freshly ground black pepper. I do have potatoes to roast, as well, and will put them in during the last roasting time for the beef. Please try it. I know you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevyAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Scottsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat

Orange Summer Cooler

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I had a little bit of peach-mango-passion sherbet left in the freezer, so I used it instead of the orange sherbet, otherwise, followed the directions. I had concerns that it would be too sweet with the 10xx sugar in it, but it provided the perfect amount of sweetness and did not overwhelm. Don’t just think “summer/hot weather” for this; at least in this house it’ll be served all year. The texture was spot on, and the serving amount just what we were looking for. Bright & fresh with a good pop of citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Sweet Potato Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is one excellent Sweet Potato Pie. Everyone who ate it loved it. This recipe is perfect the way it is, no tweaking needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
ive had better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

Rosemary Chicken Rub

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Really delicious. I used Yukon potatoes and a whole chicken. Took about 1 and 45 to cook and I took the potatoes out about fifteen minutes before that. Even my picky six year old told me how much he loved it. This will go into heavy rotation in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple-Cranberry Crisp

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
A-ma-zing, I loved this. I made it for Thanksgiving (tomorrow) but when I tried it tonight I HAD to have a bowl. I did mess up and put the brown sugar into the fruit part, but that just made it better. I also tripled the topping and I'm glad I did. I used craisins, too, instead of regular cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I make these on occasion, and they always go over well. A couple of tips: Make sure you buy a seedless jam. Seeds in the middle of your cookies are unappealing. All Fruit seedless preserves work well. Second, if you have a spherical measuring spoon without a lip, these work perfectly both for making an impression in the cookies and for getting the jam into the center neatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaMK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushrooms with a Soy Sauce Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These were so good. I could have made a meal from these. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Trishie's Cedar Plank Cod

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Didn't think this recipe had much flavor. Neither of us liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These were easy to make and we liked them pretty well. Next time I would like to try rosemary as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States